We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Sweet Waitress, Would Go Back”
Review of Plaza Bonita

Plaza Bonita
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Tusayan
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Lisbon
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Food, Sweet Waitress, Would Go Back”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Pros -
Super nice staff, they even let me use my horrible Spanish with them. They helped us with our two small children too.

Food - Fantastic food. Best Mexican food I have had in quite sometime. And honestly for it being right next to the grand canyon and all the tourist hordes that come through I am amazed that the food and service were so good.

Cons
Price - it is not too pricey and when I think about where it is the price is fine considering location.

Overall: Great food, sweet waitress, best you can do for where you are

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WoltersWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    684
    375
    119
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service, overpriced, bad drinks.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Mediocre food and terrible service for an overpriced evening. Waste of money and time, a terrible ending to what was a beautiful day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Riversend80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Terrible restaurant”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Horrible service, mediocre food. Waiter ignored for so long, people who arrived after we did, left before our food arrived. Seriously understaffed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Canuck6616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Understaffing leads to long waits”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We arrived for dinner around 7PM to a typical Mexican family atmosphere - lots of brightly colored walls ans tables. There was no Mexican music playing in the background that is usually typical of these places, in fact there was no music at all. We were seated promptly and the waiter showed up immediately, but we weren't ready to order drinks, so he left. Almost 15 minutes later, he finally returned and quickly took our whole order. While we waited, I noticed only 3 wait staff, one busser and the bartender doing triple duties. The drinks arrived another 15 minutes later. Finally, the food arrived another 10 minutes later and the order was not completely right.

My wife had the 2 item combo (taco and enchilada) and I had the Tres Amigos (chile verde and Colorado with a chile releno). Food was ok, not very spicy and chips were bland/stale, but typical for these places. Pluses were pretty good salsa and 4 tortillas with the platter.

Ultimately, don't go unless you have more than an hour and don't mind waiting for average Mexican food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excelent. Excelente!!!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We were a group of 11 and we ended up going twice on a 3 day hiking trip at the Grand Canyon. Everything was perfect. Congratulations!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angelislote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plaza Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing