We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plaza Bonita Tusayan”
Review of Plaza Bonita

Plaza Bonita
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Tusayan
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Nootdorp
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Plaza Bonita Tusayan”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Atmosphere was good, the restaurant was quite busy and it was nice and warm when it was cold outside :-)
Food was okay, good portion size. Waiting staff was nice as well.
Overall good experience, no real highlights but just decent food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tijnvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    658
    357
    117
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
342 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Reminds us of Alaska”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I know that sounds strange, but it was pretty chilly that night, and the decor was a lot like the little Mexican restaurant that we enjoyed in Homer, Alaska. They served a very good American breakfast – eggs, pancakes, etc. the only thing a bit different was that if you ordered sausage it was Chorizo-- Mexican sausage – and not Jimmy Dean.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank snochasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
136 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wow - huge portions”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a great meal here. Not only were the portions huge it was good too. We could only eat about half of our meal because it was so huge...so... we ate it for lunch the next day - still good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank therealsherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average Mexican Food”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We (family of 4) ate here one night for dinner. We had pretty much standard things nothing extravagant. My wife had a combo plate Tamales and a Burrito, I had a Burrito Plate , and the kids had tacos, chicken I think. The portions were large for sure but the food did not taste like it was fresh or made with fresh ingredients. Even the salsa that they served with chips was pretty uninspired. The kids liked the tacos but they pretty much like anything. Both my wife and I had the same response when we started eating our food...Dull! If you are looking for authentic Mexican food this place is not the place for you. Frankly the prices were not so cheap considering it tastes like they serve salsa that you can buy at the supermarket. The waitress was very friendly and pleasant. I do remember that there was one guy whose job it was to refill our water and replenish the chips I think but he was so efficient that he started to become annoying.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
111 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, convenient location”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We liked the location of this restaurant right in front of the Canyon Plaza Resort Hotel. The wait staff were very friendly and the service was good. They brought out chips and salsa to our table as we looked at the menu. Its not a cheap place to eat, but neither is any other restaurant in Tuscayan. Even the McDonalds across the street has high prices compared to back home.

The food was good and the horchata drinks were good too. I would recommend eating here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachbum40w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Bonita also viewed

 

Been to Plaza Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing