We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night while visiting the Grand Canyon which is 5 minutes up the road. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. Great Pool area, the water was warm and the whole area was very clean. The attached restaurant was very reasonably priced and the portions were excellent.

Room Tip: If traveling with family the double queen rooms were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    499
    320
    126
    91
See reviews for
648
597
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I called from Kingman at 10:30pm and asked for a room the next day.. Even requested an early check in if possible. When I arrived the next morning, I was told I had booked the room the day before and my card had already been billed. The front staff understood what happened but the manager and owner refused to refund my monies or give me credit.. I've never been blatantly RIPPED OFF like this in the US. The hotel was NOT fully booked this was just FRAUD..

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Seriousbadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Got here straight from the great Bellagio in Vegas. This is a different world. In a nice way. Great staff, nice restaurant, a bit unstable wi-fi, clean, but a bit faded rooms - and the Grand Canyon in the backyard...not bad, you can do lot worse....

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Jens D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

They allowed us to have our dogs ($50 per night - a little pricey after staying in La Quinta Inns with no fees). Also the rooms designated for pets are nice being by the back door to the dog area, but it is also by then laundry room and employee area and therefore was super noisy when we were sleeping. We couldn't open our curtains in the morning cause ther were construction and maintenance workers right out the window. For paying an addiotnal $100 for the pet room, I was pretty disappointed.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakehurst, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Beautifully decorated like a country lodge with a large stone fireplace and comfy chairs in the lobby. The room was lovely and very comfortable, my only complaint being the pillows were too large and firm for me.

There is a restaurant and saloon complete with saddle bar stools. I wanted a light meal so chose to eat at the bar and asked if the black bean soup was spicy. The waitress said that the soups were all spicy and so I ordered a salad. The salad was the best I've ever eaten, with an abundance of mixed greens, fresh berries and candied nuts .... Yum. The waitress also brought me a small bowl of the soup to try, on her, which turned out to be wonderful.

Room Tip: I was at the front on the main floor facing the parking lot, so it was convenient, but no view. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morden, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stopped by during a visit to the Grand Canyon and found a truly grand hotel. Beautiful decor in the lobby and public areas. Very comfortable rooms and beds, nice showers.Staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryAnn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon, responded to this review, June 16, 2017
We greatly appreciate your business and staying with us during your Grand Canyon trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I wanted to give this hotel a "Poor" rating, but it's clean and convenient, and that counts for something. However, it is horribly overpriced, a feature common to most of the hotels we researched in this area. It's a classic example of supply and demand. I paid less than half to stay in an incredible 5 star, luxury hotel in Vegas before flying home.

Moreover, it's unbearably cheesy. This place has nothing on Velveeta. The whole Western thing reminds me of a bad 1950s sitcom. We endured a mediocre dinner listening to an average guitarist. I felt so bad for the wide-eyed busload of Japanese tourists that poured into the "mess hall" 10 minutes after we arrived. I half expected a lasso demonstration or ventriloquist with his doll. Has anyone ever seen Best In Show?

Thankfully, you forget it all when you stand on the ledge of the Grand Canyon and marvel at all the glorious colors so poorly imitated in the bed covers and paint scheme at The Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
0.2 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,927 reviews
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon

Property: The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Address: 149 State Highway 64, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of The Grand Hotel enjoy gateway access to Grand Canyon National Park, the entrance to the park is just one mile away, and a variety of recreational activities. The newly renovated lodge, built in 1998, features classic architecture and decor with rustic timber, western ironwork, and immense log beams. A central lobby with a towering stone fireplace invites good books, lively games of checkers, and inquisitive conversations with travelers from around the world. The nearby grand piano inspires guests to play their favorite tunes and sing along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tusayan
Grand Hotel Grand Canyon
Grand Hotel Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing