We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Near Canyon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Location was great for our visit to the Grand Canyon. The staff for check-in was very friendly and helpful. Our room and bathroom were spacious. Some comments mention the rooms being older, and they were, but ours was clean and met our needs. Little pricey, but that was expected.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shabubs-TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,243 - 1,249 of 1,660 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel is located just outside the park, reservations were easy to make online and it was a good fit, as the park had no availability. Rooms were average, clean and comfortable but it’s more of a standard hotel vs. a luxury hotel. Front desk staff were nice and courteous as were the gift shop employees. There are two places to eat inside the hotel, the restaurant and the pub. We arrived in the evening and chose the pub since were planned to get up early to see the canyon the next morning. Disappointing service at the pub we waited 15 minutes until I had to get up and ask for menus then another 10 minutes before our orders were taken. Food was average but good and after we received food the service improved somewhat but if we stayed here again we would chose the restaurant option. Check out was quick and easy the next morning. If you can’t get a room inside the park this is a good option but don’t expect a 5 star experience. It’s a good place to stay if you just need a place to sleep while seeing the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Grand Canyon itself is an amazing wonder. However, amenities around the natural wonder are quite disappointing. This hotel was dirty, without a personality and quite disappointing. My advise to any traveler would be Sedona is only 1 1/2 hours away with great hotels and restaurants to choose from. Stay in Sedona, visit the Grand Canton, and return to Sedona for a much better night time experience.

Room Tip: Stay in Sedona and road trip to the Grand Canyon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ppiatak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were initally disappointed not to find lodging vacancies in the National Park. Upon checking in to Grand Hotel we quickly learned that Grand Hotel will be our first preference for any return visits to Grand Canyon NP.

Room Tip: Access to first floor was most convenient. Close to the pool presented no noise problem whatsoever a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeReagan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 16, 2017

It was wonderful to have you as a guest and we appreciate your comments about The Grand Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were quite happy with this hotel. It is quite large and we had a very big room with two queen size beds. The hotel did seem somewhat worn - broken tiles on bathroom floor and not a lot of amenities in the bathroom - short on cups, not great towels, etc. but we were very comfortable there and would certainly stay again. Staff at desk very friendly and helpful. They helped us plan a different route to Page, AZ as part of the road collapsed on the way there back in Feb. 2013. The restaurant in the hotel was very good and we enjoyed our dinner there. There was also a gentleman playing guitar while we ate and he was delightful. You are only minutes from the park entrance and near some other inexpensive restaurants, a general store and a service station. The outside of the hotel is attractive and very fitting to the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewOrleansfirstgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed 2 night after a ride from Las Vegas, I read the reviews but we needed a place to stay outside the park. Upon checking in we found out the King room we reserved months ago through internet. Very well located with the shuttles to the Canyon stop in front of hotel.
The restaurant is average

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alber3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were greeted by exceptionally friendly front desk staff who also informed us of the blocked off section of the road to Page. This was important to us as we were travelling there after our two night stay at The Grand.

The room was large and clean. Previous reviews on this site had given us a negative impression so we were pleasantly surprised to find it was more than adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fortunate60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,061 reviews
5.9 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon

Address: 149 State Highway 64, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range: $71 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of The Grand Hotel enjoy gateway access to Grand Canyon National Park, the entrance to the park is just one mile away, and a variety of recreational activities. The newly renovated lodge, built in 1998, features classic architecture and decor with rustic timber, western ironwork, and immense log beams. A central lobby with a towering stone fireplace invites good books, lively games of checkers, and inquisitive conversations with travelers from around the world. The nearby grand piano inspires guests to play their favorite tunes and sing along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tusayan
Grand Hotel Grand Canyon
Grand Hotel Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing