We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Grand Hotel was incredibly close to the Grand Canyon entrance - big bonus for us as we went into the park a few times. The lobby was beautiful in terms of fitting in with the environment without being cheesy. Check-in was seamless and no problems with our rate. Front desk was friendly. The rooms were a nice size for us (2 adults, 1 child) and the beds were surprisingly comfortable. The AC/Heat is a wall unit & since it was in mid-40's during our visit, we only used the heater - it was quiet and didn't disturb TV viewing or sleeping at all. We were facing the street but didn't notice excessive noise. The showers have wall attachments with shampoo, conditioner and body wash. They product wasn't easy to access in terms of opening them (not use) so that made me feel safe to use the product. Some I've seen can be easily opened and it grosses me out thinking someone can mess with the product. A couple items weren't working in our room, but it wasn't an inconvenience so we never reported it until check out. When the front desk found out, they were very apologetic.

We grabbed a quick bite to eat in the saloon - happy hour food was delicious and the portions were a decent size. We returned later that night for a drink and were shocked at how inexpensive the drinks were! From the front desk to saloon to housekeeping, everyone was friendly.

Regarding the rate, I had booked through their website 6 mos before our visit - the mid week rate was insanely low. Be sure to ask them for specials.

Overall, it was a very pleasant visit and we'd return again for sure.

Room Tip: If you're going in the high season, I'd ask for a room not facing the street. It was pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 16, 2017

We greatly appreciate your business and staying with us during your Grand Canyon trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,255 - 1,261 of 1,632 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you have been to Tusayan, you know this town is the gateway to the South Entrance of the Grand Canyon - and that's about it! But it is a convenient stop when you've driven up from Phoenix and entered the park through the east entrance. We stayed at the Grand Hotel and then did the western side of GCNP the following day. There are several new hotels in Tusayan now as the town attempts to regenerate itself. The Grand however is run by Xanterra who runs various national park accommodations across the country. If you have ever stayed in a Xanterra property - you will find this one along the same standard they offer in other places.

It was clean and a decent family hotel - nothing fancy but middle of the road accommodations that met the purpose of our group. We ate at the Canyon Star restaurant - a decent meal with a good variety for dinner, rather limited for breakfast. However, the saloon has a great happy hour from 2 - 6 daily with select draft beers, wines, well drinks and some appetizers on good happy hour prices - a good way to end the day if you are back from the Canyon early. Although they advertise wi-fi, no one in our party of eight was ever able to connect. So be sure you have 3 or 4G if you want to stay connected.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WYWoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is about a 10 -15 minute drive to the Grand Canyon and a 5 minute drive to the Imax Theatre. There are some restaurants and shops in the area but be prepared that the choice is very limited.
We ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel restaurant. Breakfast was the ususal and dinner was okay but nothing out of the ordinary. There was a (amateur) guy singing and playing the guitar one night. The consensus among the four of us is that we would have preferred to eat in silence. One great amenity is the hotel concierge, John Sagos. He sent a lengthy email confirming our reservations and also included a long list of various tours that can be booked in advance(strongly recommended) that involve pick up at the hotel. John made the arrangements for our Grand Canyon and Indian Reservation tour. He also assisted with making a change to our reservations. He responded quickly, even calling me to ensure all of my questions were answered to my satisfaction.

Room Tip: If you're planning on doing any tours, contact the hotel concierge, John Sagos, and ask him for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 16, 2017

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will visit us soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Nice hotel and quiet. Pet friendly. Aren't many pet friendly hotels around so we picked this one. One time fee. Clean but nothing special. Close to Grand Canyon south entrance so very convenient to come and go.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gec111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you read the reviews, you'll be able to set the appropriate expectations for the Grand Hotel.

The bad:
It is a very large, very old school hotel with no wifi and somewhat surly service. The individual heater/ac unit is a bit noisy, luckily we prefer to sleep with some background noise. We didn't bother eating at the connected restaurant, but went to the bar a few times. There is was no awesome mustached cowboy guy working there, despite the pictures, just some very stressed out bar tenders who like to close very very early (8pm?).

The good:
The king bed is huge and unbelievably comfortable. The place is very quiet, we didn't hear the neighboring rooms at all. The lobby is insanely huge, with great taxidermy. The restaurant is quite something to look at too and even had live banjo on a Tuesday night! The best restaurant in town is located conveniently across the street at the best western. The drive to the park takes 10 minutes, you'll be standing at the rim of the Grand Canyon in 15. The laundry on the first floor is very convenient and not very expensive. We had an issue with the bathtub draining and they fixed it right away. Everything was acceptably clean.

I would actually highly recommend staying at the Grand Hotel if you want the more novel experience (we did). If you want modern amenities go to the best western. If you don't care about your room at all (or the prices) then stay in the Grand Canyon Village.

Room Tip: I recommend the 3rd floor, I was told it is quieter and that definitely was the case for our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankN624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was surprised to read so many negative reviews of this hotel. I thought it was pretty decent. It's run by the same group that operates the Yavapai Lodge, where we stayed our first night in Grand Canyon. We couldn't get rooms in the Park the second night so we went to Tusayon. Fortunately we were on the way out, not to return, when we headed south because the lines to get into the Park were hours long as we departed. Tusayon is kind of a dumpy town, but we had good Mexican food at Sophie's Mexican Kitchen and enjoyed the cheesy and pricey IMAX theater. The hotel was western themed with too many dead animals in the lobby and they had noisy construction behind the poor front desk people, but the room was quiet, temperature control good, shower hot and powerful, and other services good. Fitness room, pool and hot tub were all decent. They had a good deal for happy hour and a grand piano available to guests to play as they wish off to the side of the large lobby. Our first choice? No, but still very good.

Room Tip: The second floor was good for us because we could go up and down on a pretty nice curved staircase f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is anything but grand. We were taken by this hotel. There were really no other choices for us, so we had to pay over $300 for one night. It was highway robbery. And they still charged for an extra bed we needed in the room and the pet fee was high. The room was just ok, but it didn't feel clean. The shower and sink didn't drain properly which was very disgusting. There were stains on the comforter. I could go on. We didn't want to walk barefooted in the room. For the amount of money it cost, we expected more. Given the quality of the room, we decided to eat elsewhere since it didn't even include a continental breakfast. Will never stay here again. Fortunately, there was a cancellation at the Maswik Lodge so we were able to limit our losses and grief.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COFamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,047 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,750 reviews
5.9 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon

Address: 149 State Highway 64, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range: $104 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of The Grand Hotel enjoy gateway access to Grand Canyon National Park, the entrance to the park is just one mile away, and a variety of recreational activities. The newly renovated lodge, built in 1998, features classic architecture and decor with rustic timber, western ironwork, and immense log beams. A central lobby with a towering stone fireplace invites good books, lively games of checkers, and inquisitive conversations with travelers from around the world. The nearby grand piano inspires guests to play their favorite tunes and sing along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tusayan
Grand Hotel Grand Canyon
Grand Hotel Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing