We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Bang for your buck” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
1 review
“Bang for your buck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one day while visiting the Grand Canyon. I came from on a road trip from Maryland to San Fran and this is the best hotel I've stayed at thus far. After my stay I can say that there are only a few downsides. The hours on the workout room, and no microwave or fridge. This staff was amazing, hot tub relaxing, restaurant at the hotel has very good food and live entertainment, only 2 miles from the grand canyons south rim gate, and best of all the rooms are very clean and spacious. Even with the workout room closing at 10 it was a lot better than your average hotel workout room. The front desk even let me workout earlier than the gym opened because I was on a time schedule. This is a great place to stop.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dante H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    421
    274
    115
    78
See reviews for
548
525
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Highland, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Downstairs/lobby is very nice with a fireplace, old pictures, gift shop, saloon, and restaurant. The rooms are nice as well. Coffee was available on the front desk counter for those that needed to head out early. Stayed on a groupon deal that included the breakfast buffet which had a lot of choices. The only complaint was the internet. They were having problems all the days that I was there so we had to go to McDonalds to use their wi-fi. Glad we went in winter-summer rates are much higher.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank somrtravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Glacier Park
Level Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Room was excelletn, pet friendly, wife friendly. Staff was excellent for our stay. Tended to our every need.

Talk about food, it was the best in the Hotel dinning room. Buffalo was some of the best I ever had, the steak for the wife was as good. Desert some of the best as well.

The entertainment in dinning room a gent named Pauk Jaruisberger was tops as well.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RayMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sullivan, MO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here while visiting the Grand Canyon for the first time. I loved the fact they accept pets. The room was very clean, great toiletries in the shower were provided and room was very quiet. Restaurant was nice, good food & service. We had a Groupon deal & when I checked in, the lady at the desk knew exactly how to handle it which made it super easy for me. She immediately provided me with coupons for breakfast ( which was included in my deal), saving me from tracking all that down! Very pleased with the customer service. She was great!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotty085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel is situated no more than a 15 minute drive from the Canyon. It has a gorgeous rustic feel, and the downstairs bar does great lunch and dinner. The rooms are cosy, with a fridge and a microwave. Breakfast is not included but can be purchased for a fee. Perfect hotel for a stop over at the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyyy_Lee_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Had a very nice stay here. The location is good, right outside the entrance to the park. The restaurant is very good, had one of there steak dinners which was delicious and very filling, I couldn't finish it all. I thought it was a little pricey but ..... it was good. The atmosphere is nice like being in a mountain lodge and the staff was very nice. Didn't use the pool or spa, looked nice and clean. The rooms were comfy, looked like they had upgraded many of the things but not all which I thought was a little odd but nothing I would hold against the quality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duffy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel end of January of 2012. The hotel could use a bit of a face lift but the rooms were very clean and the service was great. We had dinner at the restaurant one night and were very pleased with the meal (it was very good). The service was something different. The waiter took too long to bring us drinks and and got our order wrong. We booked two rooms here (one for us and our kids and one for my parents). We were all very happy. It snowed while were where there and someone from the hotel was nice enough to scape our windows for us even though the gift shop was selling scrapers. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rabens_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
5.8 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,663 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bright Angel Lodge
Bright Angel Lodge
#1 of 1 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon

Property: The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Address: 149 State Highway 64, PO Box 3319, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of The Grand Hotel enjoy gateway access to Grand Canyon National Park, the entrance to the park is just one mile away, and a variety of recreational activities. The newly renovated lodge, built in 1998, features classic architecture and decor with rustic timber, western ironwork, and immense log beams. A central lobby with a towering stone fireplace invites good books, lively games of checkers, and inquisitive conversations with travelers from around the world. The nearby grand piano inspires guests to play their favorite tunes and sing along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tusayan
Grand Hotel Grand Canyon
Grand Hotel Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing