We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

we were pleasantly surprised by how nice this hotel was. the staff was excellent and the rooms were spacious and clean. the breakfast was the same everyday but the buffet selection was good. there is even an arcade and a bowling alley inside the hotel. the grand canyon was just a short few minutes drive, and it was near lots of restaurants. i would highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: stay in the main building- that's where the breakfasts, and activities are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamme5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,129 - 3,135 of 6,417 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed for 1 night while exploring the Grand Canyon. We had a king premier room that was spacious and very clean. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast buffet was average - the hotel was full and very busy and the buffet was made to cater to that. We had dinner in the Coronado Room. We had a bit of wait and enjoyed the fireplace at the bar - fantastic drinks! For dinner we had the elk and it was superb. We were located outside the main building and it was quiet. Check-in was easy. We arrived at a very busy time and there was a queue but the clerks were very efficient. While waiting the friendly bellhop offered water to all those waiting - a nice touch after a long drive. Location was perfect - very close to the park entrance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hotel overall is average but not worth the kind of money i paid for it. I had called the hotel couple of times ahead to make sure i have a king bed room but upon checkin was told that they have a 2 queen bed room. Had to pay additional 30$/night for a king size in the main building.

Now onto room, the first room we checked in had the shower drain almost completely blocked, since it was late night we were told it will be fixed tomorrow.
When we went to bed we realized that the mattress completely sags on one side of the bed so its like sleeping in a tub. Needless to say i had a terrible night of sleep (wife felt ok on the other side of the bed).

Anyways, next day after being out whole day we came back to the room and found the shower drain was still now fixed, so we asked to talk to the Manager, only to be told that they dont have any manager on site today (what? ). The head supervisor was a nice polite lady (Beth..i think) who had us moved to a different room which was much better.

On the plus side the rooms are decent sized and clean for most part, we did find couple of old advil capsules lying on the floor in our first room. Also the hotel is couple of miles from the canyon entrance so its convenient that way.
Next time if i have to spend this kind of money i will try to get a lodge inside the canyon.

Room Tip: stay on the top floor, the rooms have no sound insulation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel at the beginning of our road trip. We wanted something close to the Grand Canyon that was relatively inexpensive but would be a great value. This hotel proved to be just that. We checked in with no issues and were pleased with the size and appearance of our room. We had the complementary breakfast the first morning which was enough to fill us up and get us going. The boxed lunches available at the hotel are a great deal! We got a sandwich, granola bar, carrots, celery, apple, chips and water all for less than what we saw people buying lunch at the visitors center for $9-10 and that was just a sandwich! We had more than enough food to keep us going through the day and we were able to stop on one of the trails and enjoy our lunch with the most AMAZING view. Our first night we went down to the sports bar for a bite and it satisfied our hunger, we also had the sunset dinner special at the restaurant which was also good and more than enough food for the $15. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay near the Grand Canyon. We will definitely be using this hotel on future trips.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Analie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This place is good in parts. The service was consistently friendly and attentive and the room comfortable and spacious. The location for visiting the Grand Canyon is really very good indeed.
The room rate reflects the location which is fair enough. The breakfast buffet was not a thing of beauty and the dining experience was canteen like and designed to cater for a full house. The food was OK but we would have preferred a table service option in the main restaurant, especially at this price point. However if you want a quick hearty breakfast it is fine.
The Sports Bar was let down by a party of local youngsters over enjoying themselves in a loud and raucous fashion to which the bartender seemed oblivious. This forced us to eat upstairs in the main restaurant, which was OK but I would not eat there out of choice, but my wife loved it! Overall the Squire Inn was very good and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PasdeCalaisJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed in the rooms of building which was separate from Main Hotel block.Even mid Nov. by evening this hotel was booked out.This is a large hotel. Being detached, is awkward.
The accommodation was spotless, and comfortable with helpful staff,especially the Manager,who suggested we visit Sedona, en route to Phoenix.A marvellous and helpful gem of a detour; we loved Sedona .Include it in your itinerary,if possible.
They have a hot tub at the BW, and we gladly soaked our weary bones in it, before retiring.The sound of helicopters in the next field awoke us the following morning.As breakfast was not included,in our booking, we departed early;yet the car park was empty, all patrons anxious to get to G. Canyon for full day's sightseeing.

Room Tip: Their outdoor pool is closed for the 'off' season,so the tub, accommodated about 6 persons i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We had an excellent time staying at the Best Western, good breakfast, clean rooms and Very comfortable beds. Would stay there in the future. The resturants in the town leave a lot to be desired but the hotels food was very good. Be sure to see the National Geographic film on the Grand Canyon before you go to the canyon as it's very informative. Also be sure to take the RED line shuttle in the park.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
5.9 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,583 reviews
6.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Address: 100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range: $93 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, we're proud to be the finest property at The Grand Canyon in Tusayan, Arizona. Moments away from the South Rim entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, our property offers all the amenities you expect and deserve from a fine hotel. We are pleased to provide you with the ultimate Grand Canyon hotel experience. Allow us to anticipate your every need here at the South Rim, the heart of Grand Canyon's National Park. By day, let your senses come alive in the unique ecosystem of the Grand Canyon and the high desert of the Coconino Plateau. By night, come home to the genteel oasis of the Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn. Whether your trip to the canyon is a once-in-a-lifetime adventure or a much needed escape to nature, make us your first and only choice for lodging. Our warm, relaxed ambiance is the perfect end to a day in the magnificent American Southwest. With a variety of dining and entertainment choices on our expansive grounds, we're sure to please guests of all ages. Our array of guest services, magnificent art collection, fireside lounge and Family Fun Center will make us your favorite place to unwind. Our beautifully appointed rooms were designed with your complete comfort in mind. At our Grand Canyon hotel, you can experience an exquisite sunset, relax under the stars and wake up to a spectacular sunrise when lodging with us. The Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn offers an unexpected grandeur, uniquely suited to a Grand Canyon South Rim hotel. We promise you a remarkable, memorable experience at the Grand Canyon, one of the premier world heritage sites. Electric car chargers available. We have a limited number of pet-friendly rooms available. A pet-friendly room reservation is required. The pet friendly rate is $20.00 per day. A refundable cleaning and damage deposit of $50.00 is required upon check-in. If damage occurs or excessive cleaning is needed, the deposit can become non-refundable and the hotel may charge additionally to cover the costs of repair or cleaning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Hotel Tusayan
Best Western Tusayan
Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Tusayan Best Western
Best Western Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing