We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option in Tusayan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Good option in Tusayan”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

When visiting the Grand Canyon south rim, staying in Tusayan just outside the national park is a good option. It is less expensive than the hotel and lodges on the rim inside the park and at the same time very comfortable and still only a fifteen minutes drive from the Grand Canyon village. In Tusayan the Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn is a good choice. The hotel is relatively new, has spacious rooms and a very good and quite expensive evening restaurant, the Coronado Room. Tusayan is just a one street tourist town with hotels, shops and restaurants lining the main street - but it is clean and quiet and has everything you need after a day in the park including a general store and several good alternatives when you are looking for food or drinks. The breakfast menu at the Best Western is okay and not more. A table outside in the fresh and warm morning air is not an option. Breakfast is served in an air conditioned, dark and chilly room on the third floor of the main building - so you are not tempted to linger over breakfast any longer than it takes to finish your meal. The hotel has a pool in the park area between the buildings - but the pool is much too small for such a hotel this size and gives the impression therefore of being crowded and noisy when visited by just a handful of kids. Not that it matters much, really. You are here to see the great canyon and basically only need the hotel as your place to sleep during the visit. The Best Western in Tusayan is a good and useful option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niels-j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Niels-J:

Thank you for writing and posting this review of our hotel.

Tusayan like many gateway towns to national treasures like the Grand Canyon do tend to be small and only have one main road. It does offer many fine and family orientated restaurants, an IMAX theatre, tour companies like Pink Jeep, ScenicAir as well as many souvenir and gift shops including a good general and a small grogery storeas you have pointed out. It does have everything one would really need.

We’re glad you had a nice stay and truly enjoyed the canyon. We hope you will return soon and stay with us again. Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,040
    2,237
    987
    338
    177
See reviews for
2,182
2,424
103
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in July 2013. The rooms are large and the location excellent. The breakfast buffet was very good but crowded. Staff helpfulness varied in my opinion and several were quite loud for the hour of the day. Our room was musty-smelling and had only one towel-had to ask for more. Cleanliness below average for our room. We second the crowded parking and really it was not a good value for the price. Spa tiny, exercise room tiny and pool average. However, this area was thoroughly booked early this spring and the options limited. Red Feather & Holiday Inn Express all booked. It wasn't awful but there was definite room for improvement.

Room Tip: Rooms at end of hall would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YogaDoc601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear YogaDoc601:

Thank you for writing and posting this review of our hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations. However sorry you felt you did not get the best value for the rate you paid. We try hard to please everyone and I’m sorry we fell short for your family. We do appreciate you staying with us and hope you’ll return some day and see our new improvements including an indoor new pool/spa facility that will be up and running hopefully by next summer as well as an extension to the dining room the buffet is in so to help with that crowded and dark feeling.

Thank you, Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mabank, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hotel rooms in Europe are considerably are smaller than in the U.S. That being said being in a foreign country 16 hrs. out of 24 were spent sightseeing. room size didn't matter. the Hotel was centrally located;thereforee very convienent. breakfast buffet(free) was fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Marthalyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Marthalyn C:

Thank you so very much for posting this review of our property here at the Grand Canyon.

We are happy you enjoyed your accommodations with us here in Tuscany and welcome to America. We are glad you were able to get some rest after that long 16-hours of sight seeing. There is so much to see isn’t there? The breakfast buffet is a popular and well-liked amenity all our guests and visitors enjoy. We hope to welcome you back to America and the Grand Canyon again soon.

Thanks, Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have spent two nights in the hotel, taking benefit of the proximity to the Grand Canyon National Park.

The good :
1. location - just few miles away from the park entrance, easy to get to park either by car or free shuttle. Few shops and restaurants in the walking distance.
2. Hotel was clean, well maintained with spacious room, big and clean bathroom. Breakfasts at the hotel server as a buffet, with limited choice of food, and the breakfast rooms tends to be very crowded. Small swimming pool available if you want to cool down.
3. Staff was very friendly, polite and ready to help immediately.
4. Standard, but important - fridge and microwave were available in the room, clean and working, and there is an ice machine available for all the guests which you will find useful to fill your cooler or ice box.

Not so good :
1. WiFi coverage - in our room signal was very weak, and the network is not designed to handle high demand in the evenings, when everyone gets back and goes online.
2. crowded parking - the hotel is rather big and if you get back late, you will have to look for a parking space way at the back of the hotel, which might mean rather long walk back to the room.
3. price - taking benefit of the location obviously, but in my opinion - a bit too expensive. You get similar prices in luxury hotels in Vegas.

Still, it is a good hotel to spend a night or two in while visiting Grand Canyon NP and you will be happy with it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gorcio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Gorcio:

Thank you so very much for posting this review of our property here at the Grand Canyon.

We do enjoy a very close proximity to the park’s entrance here in Tusayan. We are happy you enjoyed your accommodations and the amenities the hotel had to offer you. We also truly appreciate you recognizing our wonderful and helpful staffs who try very hard to insure everyone’s Grand Canyon experience is grand.

We finally got Internet access in Tusayan and in hotel in 2010 and upgrade the amount of bandwidth just last year. However, it is an expensive upgrading process and as much as we are working with our carrier to get it improved, the remedy is slow going as well. With the high volume of visitors, it does become slow and sometimes impossible to get on. We are sorry you felt you did not get a good value for the rate you received. Many visitors and guests forget we are in a very rural, rusty part of Northern Arizona in a National Forest that is 100+ miles from a populated area and not only having poor Internet access affects us because of this but so does the cost of doing busy.

Thanks again for the post. Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great location, beautiful grounds wonderful staff, and large rooms. Having 2 separate sink vanity areas made it easy for everyone to get ready before heading down to one of the best breakfast buffets I've ever had. Lots to do in the activity areas downstairs. Don't forget to get your park pass at the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Judy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Judy U:

We appreciate you taking the time to write and post this review of our property here at the Grand Canyon.

Thank you for recognizing our wonderful, hard working staff. We all try our best to insure everyone has a grand Grand Canyon experience from the time they enter our door to the time they leave. The two-sink vanity is a very popular amenity visitors enjoy especially when traveling with children.

Thanks for mentioning the park pass that you can get at the front desk. It is a time saver for sure and if you take the Tusayan Shuttle, you will need to have that in hand to get on.

We hope you'll come again soon and stay with us, Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
214 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were impressed with the lobby when we went to check in.After that everything went downhill.We had a $50 voucher that the girl at the desk didn't know what to do with it.We are platinum members of Best Western and thought we would get a good room. Instead we were put in one of the outer buildings and the elevator was located at the other end of the building. The hallways were dinghy and needed to be cleaned. There was dirt behind furniture in the rooms. When we came back from eating, the only place to park was behind the building.There was no lighting in the parking lot and it was so dark.

The continental breakfast was good.It is located in the main building,They have sausage patties,scrambled eggs, potatoes,fresh fruits,breads, yogurt, etc.We enjoyed talking to other tourists from Illinois and Germany who sat at our table.

When I called to complain about things, the person in charge did offer to move us to the main building or give us extra points.We ended up getting the points because we had too much to move.Even the manager didn't know how to use the $50 voucher at first.The hotel is in a good location near the Grand Canyon.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Default33009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Defaultborah S:

Thank you very much for writing and posting this review of our hotel here at the Grand Canyon.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements and use as a training tool to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely, Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We arrived late in the evening to a very nice lobby with great customer service. Our room was in the building next door, which had me worried since it looked like an older motel. We found it was a great, clean room. The bed was comfy and it had all we needed. The best thing was the wonderful breakfast the next morning. It was a large Buffett with lots of choices served in a banquet hall. We filled up and headed a couple miles down the road to the amazing Grand Canyon! We would stay here again. We only stayed one night, so didn't use any of the amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tg_teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear TG_Teacher:

Thank you for posting this review of our hotel here at the Grand Canyon.

We truly appreciate you acknowledging our wonderful and friendly staff who tries to give nothing but great customer service. The building you stayed in is part of the original hotel and is older. However, through the years, we have upgraded, replaced, and redecorated almost everything. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that your accommodations were comfortable.

We hope on your next trip here you will maybe stay a bit longer and enjoy not only the amazing Grand Canyon but also some of the wonderful amenities we offer that families like yours can enjoy!

Thanks again, Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
5.9 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
6.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Property: Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Address: 100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, we're proud to be the finest property at The Grand Canyon in Tusayan, Arizona. Moments away from the South Rim entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, our property offers all the amenities you expect and deserve from a fine hotel. We are pleased to provide you with the ultimate Grand Canyon hotel experience. Allow us to anticipate your every need here at the South Rim, the heart of Grand Canyon's National Park. By day, let your senses come alive in the unique ecosystem of the Grand Canyon and the high desert of the Coconino Plateau. By night, come home to the genteel oasis of the Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn. Whether your trip to the canyon is a once-in-a-lifetime adventure or a much needed escape to nature, make us your first and only choice for lodging. Our warm, relaxed ambiance is the perfect end to a day in the magnificent American Southwest. With a variety of dining and entertainment choices on our expansive grounds, we're sure to please guests of all ages. Our array of guest services, magnificent art collection, fireside lounge and Family Fun Center will make us your favorite place to unwind. Our beautifully appointed rooms were designed with your complete comfort in mind. At our Grand Canyon hotel, you can experience an exquisite sunset, relax under the stars and wake up to a spectacular sunrise when lodging with us. The Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn offers an unexpected grandeur, uniquely suited to a Grand Canyon South Rim hotel. We promise you a remarkable, memorable experience at the Grand Canyon, one of the premier world heritage sites. Electric car chargers available. We have a limited number of pet-friendly rooms available. A pet-friendly room reservation is required. The pet friendly rate is $20.00 per day. A refundable cleaning and damage deposit of $50.00 is required upon check-in. If damage occurs or excessive cleaning is needed, the deposit can become non-refundable and the hotel may charge additionally to cover the costs of repair or cleaning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Hotel Tusayan
Best Western Tusayan
Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Tusayan Best Western
Best Western Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing