We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option near the Grand Canyon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great option near the Grand Canyon”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

After doing a lot of research, I found the Best Western Grand Canyon Squire. It is in the town of Tusayan, 5 minutes from the Grand Canyon entrance. My group had 4 rooms and all of us were impressed with the quality of this hotel. The rooms were in great condition and spotless. There was a ton of extra floor space. The bathroom was also very big with a huge tub! The lighting was bright and there was a lot of counter space in the bathroom. We were also pleased with the breakfast in the morning. It had an extensive spread and there was something for everyone. It was very good and it provided a great start to our days. The reason I gave this hotel 4 stars instead of 5 was due to the pool. It was very tiny and there weren't enough chairs for all of the people there. Overall, a great experience.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lovethesun920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Lovethesun920:

It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I am grateful you took the time to let us know of your satisfaction.

We are happy you liked you accommodations, were comfortable and I’m sure having that the extra sink in the vanity area helped get ready for a day out at the canyon with four individuals staying together in one room. I can also tell you how much everyone likes the large soaking tub. Those muscles can get sore hiking around all day that is for sure.

We appreciate your patronage and thank you very much for the recommendation and we look forward to your next exploration of the Grand Canyon.

Sincerely, Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,169
    2,340
    1,026
    352
    183
See reviews for
2,352
2,508
105
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Less than 5 minutes from the south rim of the Grand Canyon, I guess I can't complain about the price.

Breakfast was great, the room was fine, everything clean and fresh and despite being full, it was fairly quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmcintosh24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Dmcintosh24,

Thank you so much for writing and posting this review regarding your recent accommodations at our property.
We are located less than 5 minutes (or seven miles) to the edge of the South Rim of the Grand Canyon and although it’s seems the price is high because of the location . . . the location itself of the Grand Canyon is the reason the price is on the high side. Our guests and visitors should remember we are in an extremely remote, rural part of Northern Arizona located in a National Forest, at almost 7000 ft. and 150+ miles away from any major populated area. Doing business is expensive here and getting good produce and supplies is costly. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast buffet, as it is one of our most popular amenities our guests enjoy before a long day of hiking and exploring the canyon. We surely hope you will visit again soon.

Thanks again, Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was an OK place to go - the pool was small and the rooms need to be upgraded. One room had an odor in it like there had been a dog kept in the room. The rooms were not adjoining even though we requested two adjoining rooms - they were next door to one another which was fine. The kids liked the food in the restaurant and the taco salad was fresh - but the rest of the food was not anything special. This hotel was convenient to the Grand Canyon and the shuttle. With some improvements this could get a higher rating. The pool was very, very small and was not maintained as good as it should have been. The bowling we didn't really take advantage of because the hours of operation were just evenings and there was a sign up list.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Trish P,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the food selection.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the pool size and the room smell. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

In June 2013, my fiancé and I (in our late twenties) stayed at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn in Tusayan for two nights. We enjoyed our stay very much. Our room (4103) was spacious and clean with two sitting areas (a round table with chairs as well as a sofa). The bathroom was spacious, too, with a big bathtub. The design of the room was nice and the only negative thing about the room was the fact that it was located on the ground floor which made it quite dark.

The hotel is located in Tusayan, not far from the South entrance to Grand Canyon. A shuttle bus is leaving from the hotel; however, we decided to take the car to Grand Canyon which takes about 15 minutes. We didn’t have any problems to find parking at Grand Canyon.

Breakfast is included in the room rate and we were quite surprised about the variety. We especially liked the fact that there was lots of fresh fruit. The breakfast room reminded us more of a conference room though, with big round tables and a dark design. The hotel also has lots of entertainment opportunities (arcade, bowling alley, etc.) as well as several dining options (restaurant, sports bar, etc.). We had dinner at the sports bar one night and the food was good. There is free parking and wifi and the staff is friendly.

We paid about 165 € per night for Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn. Considering this relatively high price, we choose to give the hotel 4/5 stars. We would recommend the hotel and if we returned to Grand Canyon, we would definitely consider staying at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just_us_worldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Just_us_worldwide:

We all thank you for taking the time to write this review and post it on tripadvisor.com.

First congratulations on your marriage, best of luck and happiness.
We are just delighted you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities in the room including that fabulous bathtub. Everyone loves soaking in them after a long day of hiking and exploring the canyon. We are sorry you felt the ground floor was dark as all the floors hallways are the same. I have passed this comment to maintenance to see if there is some way to brighten it up. I wonder if you remember which building you were in or what room you stayed in so I can identify the hallway? We are pleased to hear you thought the staff was helpful and friendly as we all try to make sure everyone has an awesome Grand Canyon experience.

We thank you again and we appreciate the recommendation and that you would consider staying with us again. We look forward to that!

Sincerely, Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here early July. We picked the cheapest room and I was a bit worried what we would get. However it was fine for us. Yes, the bathroom was on the small size, but I didn't come to the Grand Canyon to spend my days in the shower! The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast good- but a bit school canteen like and the bed comfy. We ate in the restaurant one night for 15 dollars for a 2 course dinner which was v good value and tasty. The one bad point about this hotel was the price, but I guess they have you over a barrel there!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lesley999Walsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Lesley999Walsall:

Thank you so very much for posting this review of the Squire Inn here at the Grand Canyon.

We are happy you were able to find a very affordable room with us and were not disappointed. Being in the mountains of Northern Arizona, in a very rusty and rural part of Kaibab National Forest at 6700+ feet, it is true our guests come for only one reason and of course, it is the amazing Grand Canyon. I had to chuckle when I read your comment about the size of your bathroom . . . that you did not come to the Grand Canyon to spend the day in the shower. How true! We are delighted you were comfortable and enjoyed some of the amenities the hotel has to offer.

We are sorry even though you did pick one of the more affordable rates that you still mention the price was high. We are comparable and competitive not only with the other properties here in Tusayan or the Park but with other national treasure destinations like Yellowstone Park or Niagara Falls. Many of these travel or vacation destinations are in very remote areas and not near any real populated area which unfortunately makes doing business a bit more expensive.

We are glad you enjoy your trip and hope you will come back someday.

Thanks again, Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

From other reviews I expected much better. This was old, worn down, and like a dormitory. They handle masses of people going to the canyon . The shower was broken and the staff really didn't care. The breakfast room was massive. It actually had a decent selection but was served in the style of a military mess hall. The breakfast room was dreary.
Would not recommend this place to anyone. It was very expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JH2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear John 2312:

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our Best Western here at the Grand Canyon.

Obliviously we have many visitors that pass through our doors and try to handle everyone’s needs coming to see this amazing creation of Mother Nature, the Grand Canyon. When serving over 700+ guests’ breakfast in the morning, we have found the buffet is the easiest and fastest way to get people to the canyon in the morning without holding them up waiting to be served. With that said, the breakfast room is slated for a renovation, which will start this fall. We are moving the room out 28 feet, adding more lighting and modernizing the whole process.

We appreciate your patronage and hope made you will reconsider staying with us again and seeing all the new additions we will be adding this fall/winter . . . another is a new pool/spa facility.

Sincerely, Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Excellent facility with easy access and convenient location to GCNP entrance (1 mile). Room was spacious enough for 2 adults and 2 teenage boys. Arcade, bowling in lower level, nice gift shop, friendly staff and awesome breakfast. Tusayan is very laid back after crowds of south rim.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear MikeN:

We appreciate you taking the time to post this review of BWPGC Squire Inn.

We are so happy to learn you found our property to be excellent with easy access and a convenient location to the park's entrance. We are also delighted you were comfortable in your accommodations. The arcade/bowling center and breakfast buffet are both very popular amenities we offer and glad you were able to enjoy them as well.

Moreover, saying Tusayan is very laid back after crowds of south rim is about the truest statement I've read today, LOL.

Thanks again and come again. Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
0.3 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,440 reviews
6.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,960 reviews
21.9 mi away
Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
#22 of 30 in Williams
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Property: Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Address: 100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, we're proud to be the finest property at The Grand Canyon in Tusayan, Arizona. Moments away from the South Rim entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, our property offers all the amenities you expect and deserve from a fine hotel. We are pleased to provide you with the ultimate Grand Canyon hotel experience. Allow us to anticipate your every need here at the South Rim, the heart of Grand Canyon's National Park. By day, let your senses come alive in the unique ecosystem of the Grand Canyon and the high desert of the Coconino Plateau. By night, come home to the genteel oasis of the Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn. Whether your trip to the canyon is a once-in-a-lifetime adventure or a much needed escape to nature, make us your first and only choice for lodging. Our warm, relaxed ambiance is the perfect end to a day in the magnificent American Southwest. With a variety of dining and entertainment choices on our expansive grounds, we're sure to please guests of all ages. Our array of guest services, magnificent art collection, fireside lounge and Family Fun Center will make us your favorite place to unwind. Our beautifully appointed rooms were designed with your complete comfort in mind. At our Grand Canyon hotel, you can experience an exquisite sunset, relax under the stars and wake up to a spectacular sunrise when lodging with us. The Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn offers an unexpected grandeur, uniquely suited to a Grand Canyon South Rim hotel. We promise you a remarkable, memorable experience at the Grand Canyon, one of the premier world heritage sites. Electric car chargers available. We have a limited number of pet-friendly rooms available. A pet-friendly room reservation is required. The pet friendly rate is $20.00 per day. A refundable cleaning and damage deposit of $50.00 is required upon check-in. If damage occurs or excessive cleaning is needed, the deposit can become non-refundable and the hotel may charge additionally to cover the costs of repair or cleaning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Hotel Tusayan
Best Western Tusayan
Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Tusayan Best Western
Best Western Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing