We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Not in the Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed two nights in a King Sized Room. It was large and was nicely furnished. This is a very big hotel with lots of tourists. Service was spotty in the Lounge/restaurant and we did have some problem with housecleaning - apparently someone used our room phone to make a series of LD calls which clearly were not ours. The hotel was good about dealing with it - no arguments and they gave us a 20% discount on one night but it did take an extra 15 minutes to fix it all. We had an issue with the lounge service one of the nights. The first night we ate there and there was good service and good food. The next night they apparently did not have table service for some reason and after 20 minutes of waiting we left and found the food and beverage manager to complain. It seemed she could have cared less. A stark contrast to the response we got from management at check out. We ended up leaving the hotel to find food elsewhere. The pool is a nice feature after a day of hiking. The breakfast selections were great. But be prepared for lots of people. I would recommend the hotel in spite of the minor issues.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Pin_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear travelpinman:

We would like to thank you for writing and posting a review of our hotel here at the Grand Canyon.

We are happy you enjoyed your accommodations and the amenities of the hotel including the refreshing pool. We certianly do apologize again for the indiscretion of one of your housekeeping employees. They were spoken to and did in fact pay for those calls themselves. We have many exchange students working here in the high season and apparently they were unaware long distance calls from a room are charged to our guest’s invoice. We are happy the front desk was able to amend this situation for you quickly and hopefully painlessly.

Thanks again, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,291 - 3,297 of 6,259 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night and the room was nothing special but that was okay with us. The young woman at check-in was friendly but did not give us accurate important information. She knew we were first-time Grand Canyon visitors and when we asked where the bus to the Grand Canyon stops she said 'the bus comes right here" and pointed to the front door giving us the impression it came right up to the hotel. As we waited by the front door we saw the bus stop along the road so we ran for it (and missed it). She also did not tell us we needed to buy a park pass in order to board the bus so that further delayed us when we were turned away from the next bus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigpenny34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Bigpenny34:

Thank you so very much for writing and posting this review of our hotel here at the canyon.

We are glad to hear you had a nice stay with us but saddened to learn you had an issue with inaccurate directions of where Tusayan Shuttle actually stops near our hotel and that you needed a park pass to get on it. Many of the front desk associates are young foreign exchange students from all over the world and unfortunately although in their mind right outside the door seemed to be the correct information it was not at all. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this might of cause you during your stay and we have addressed this with all of the front desk staff to insure this will not happen again. We use comments like yours for training purposes and we are very happy you brought it to our attention. I surely hope this did not interfere totally with your Grand Canyon experience.

Again, we sincerely apologize.
Thanks, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked in here for one night while visiting GC. We were very impressed. Lovely foyer, lovely staff at check-in and we really liked our room.

We didn't eat here. When we went down to bar, we noticed the food was being served on picnic-type plates and we really didn't want that!

We did have breakfast in the morning and it was fine. Big canteen-like room, but food was fine - even if on those plates!!

Nice easy check-out and we were on our way.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear CorkCouple:

We would like to thank you for posting this review of our property here at the Grand Canyon on tripadvisor.com.

We are very glad to know you enjoyed all the hotel’s amenities and your accommodations. We are sorry you did not dine with us as we do have fine dining in the Coronado Room right off the lobby. Maybe next time. They do not use the festive colored plants like at the breakfast buffet. We serve over 600 individuals breakfast a day and those plates might not be fine China but they hold up well for quick washing/drying (and unbreakable) to get them back out for the next round of guests.

Thanks again and we hope you will recommend us to friends and family! Moreover, course hope you will return.

Thanks again, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed for three nights this week. Very handy location for the canyon. Not much in Tusayan, but thats no problem as certain other things to see! Room was fairly basic but in generally good condition. But I didn't like the fact that the cleaners left spare put-you-up beds and large dirty laundary tubs at the top of the stairs. Didn't look good and a potential fire hazard I would guess. I also thought the corridors/carpets were looking somewhat tired.
All staff we came across were friendly, especially the lady in the bar of the coronado restaurant. We ate twice there and although a little expensive, the food was top quality. Cannot say the same for breakfast though. The breakfast room was always crowded with people waiting for tables with trays of food. The food itself was poor. Yes there was fruit/pastries/toast etc but I didnt think the pastries were good quality and the hot food, which was a burger shaped sausage, fried potatoes and scrambled eggs were cold each morning. As the breakfast was 'complimentary', I just accepted it. But I wonder how complimentary it actually is given the room rate, which was increased after we had booked the room with our travel agent.
Very good concierge. Can recommend the fly/river rafting trip. Awsome! Would stay here again if we ever returned to the area.
Had to mark it as 'average' because it didn't quite come up to the 'very good' level. For what we paid, I would generally had hoped for better although as I have already stated, I would stay here again, so that must say something!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAgent1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Travelagent1066:

We appreciate you taking the time to write and post this review of our property here at the Grand Canyon.

Three nights is a wonderful amount of time to really see and get to know the canyon. It has just so much to offer everyone. We appreciate you recognizing our staff however, I do apologize for the unfriendly attitude of our bartender the nights you had dined with us. I have asked the Food & Beverage Manager to address this issue with that particular employee.

We thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to your return visit. See you soon.

Sincerely, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

It's a nice size room. The carpet is very dirty though. Bed is comfortable. The door has a gap so bugs could come in. Maybe best to ask for a room in the main building. The service is quite good though. Friendly staff. The breakfast is free with scramble eggs, sausages, fruits, bread, bad donuts. Coffee is good. All in all I think the room rate is worth it.
The free shuttle to the park stops right in front. That's convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronicaindonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

• Dear veronicaindonesia
We all thank you very much for composing and posting this review of our property here at the Grand Canyon.

We are delighted you enjoyed your accommodations though I apologize you felt the carpet was dirty. The carpet in all the rooms was changed out this spring/early summer . . . I am sorry the room you stayed in might have been one of the last to be done in order for you to enjoy.

We are happy you enjoyed the breakfast buffet, which is a very popular amenity. We also appreciate you recognizing our hard working, caring staff and that you got a good value for our services.

We encourage guests to use the Tusayan Shuttle and appreciate you pointing it out. As you mention there is a stop right in front of our property as you mentioned. FYI, the Tusayan Shuttle now is also running a Sunrise Shuttle so anyone who would like to get up and see the sunrise over the canyon can easily.

Thanks again, and we surely hope you return and visit.

Sincerely, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Because it is a BW hotel and it has quite an old-school motel feel to it.

It's surely expensive for what it is. You are paying for the location, perfect to visit the canyon, unless you manage to stay in the park.

There is a restaurant in there which was like out of the 70s. Not bad, but old school.

Safe bet!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelCQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear TravelCQ:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and post this review of our hotel.

We do have what you have call "an old-school" like feel to our property and that is because the majority of it was built back in the 60s when motel/hotels in remote, rural areas had rooms in separate buildings with a pool in the middle of them. Coming to the Grand Canyon was a lot different back then and although we have built onto the main building which was only the lobby, it remains to have that rural or rusty feel to it as it should considering where we are.

We are sorry you thought it was expensive for the accommodations and amenities we offered. You say, “you are paying for the location” which is perfect to visit the canyon yes, but you forget it is also expensive to do business in the kind of location we are in . . . a remote part of Northern Arizona, in the mountains, in a National Forest and over an hour an half away from a real populated area. You can only imagine how expensive it is to live here year round and that has nothing to do with the Grand Canyon, it has to do with the location.

Thanks again, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner.
We had a twin queen room.
Welcomed to the hotel - very friendly staff. (Beth especially)
Great location. Minutes from the canyon.
Quite rooms. Good value for money, breakfast was excellent in the morning. Lots of choice of food, fresh and tasty.
Restaurant we found to be a little expensive.
But overall would go back again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikki1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear nikki1b:

We would all like to thank you for writing and posting this review of our property here at the Grand Canyon.

We are delighted you enjoyed the accommodations and the all the amenities we offer. We also appreciate you recognizing our wonderful, considerate staff. We all try hard to make sure everyone’s Grand Canyon experience is special.

We are sorry to learn you did not realize how cold it does get here in Northern Arizona. You are not alone in not preparing, as so many people do not recognize that although we are in Arizona, it is not warm all year round by any means. In addition, we had an unusually cold winter this year. Some mornings leaving for work it was -12 degrees. With that said, it is nice to come when it is cold and snowy as it gives you a much different perspective of the canyon.

We thank you again and hope you’ll return when it is much warmer.

Sincerely, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.9 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,541 reviews
6.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Address: 100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range: $95 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, we're proud to be the finest property at The Grand Canyon in Tusayan, Arizona. Moments away from the South Rim entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, our property offers all the amenities you expect and deserve from a fine hotel. We are pleased to provide you with the ultimate Grand Canyon hotel experience. Allow us to anticipate your every need here at the South Rim, the heart of Grand Canyon's National Park. By day, let your senses come alive in the unique ecosystem of the Grand Canyon and the high desert of the Coconino Plateau. By night, come home to the genteel oasis of the Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn. Whether your trip to the canyon is a once-in-a-lifetime adventure or a much needed escape to nature, make us your first and only choice for lodging. Our warm, relaxed ambiance is the perfect end to a day in the magnificent American Southwest. With a variety of dining and entertainment choices on our expansive grounds, we're sure to please guests of all ages. Our array of guest services, magnificent art collection, fireside lounge and Family Fun Center will make us your favorite place to unwind. Our beautifully appointed rooms were designed with your complete comfort in mind. At our Grand Canyon hotel, you can experience an exquisite sunset, relax under the stars and wake up to a spectacular sunrise when lodging with us. The Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn offers an unexpected grandeur, uniquely suited to a Grand Canyon South Rim hotel. We promise you a remarkable, memorable experience at the Grand Canyon, one of the premier world heritage sites. Electric car chargers available. We have a limited number of pet-friendly rooms available. A pet-friendly room reservation is required. The pet friendly rate is $20.00 per day. A refundable cleaning and damage deposit of $50.00 is required upon check-in. If damage occurs or excessive cleaning is needed, the deposit can become non-refundable and the hotel may charge additionally to cover the costs of repair or cleaning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Hotel Tusayan
Best Western Tusayan
Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Tusayan Best Western
Best Western Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing