We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, well managed, but not a good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Tusayan is a small town about 15 min by car south of the Grand Canyon South Rim entrance. The hotels here appear to be substantially nicer and more available than the accommodations inside the National Park. We stayed at the Best Western Premier because of the hotels in Tusayan it had the best reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel appeared to be well managed. The front desk staff were average in terms of helpfulness. There was a concierge who we spoke with about accessing the park and he was very friendly, knowledgable and helpful. The rooms were clean, neat and reasonably quiet. The price of almost $200/night seemed about $100/night over-priced for rather average accommodations. Perhaps with limited options in this area, they can successfully charge this amount? The breakfast buffet included fresh fruits such as mellon, watermelon, grapes, cantaloupe, yogurt. There were very inexpensive pastries such as muffins, and small, tasteless bagels. There was oatmeal, 2-3 kid's cereals, bananas, sausage patties, powdered eggs (this was a missed opportunity to provide some real, tasty food) miniature waffles, juices, coffee, milk. Reminded us of the cheapest version of each item. The hotel includes 2 attached restaurants. We ate dinner in the "Coronado" dinning room which has an attached bar. The selection and meals were very good and the prices reasonable for food. The fitness room included two treadmills, and an exercise machine. Quite poor for such an expensive hotel. There is a kids arcade with video games and a bowling alley, something we haven't seen before in a family oriented hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurettaYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear LaurettaYoung
We appreciate you taking the time to write and post this review of our Best Western here on tripadvisor.com.

We appreciate you acknowledging that our property is well managed and for pointing out our Concierge.

We are very happy you found your accommodations clean and comfortable. However, we are sorry you felt you did not get a good value for the booking rate you got. We are in a remote part of Northern Arizona and doing business here is not like doing business in a large populated city. The cost is much higher due to transportation and delivery costs, travel time, etc. We try to be competitive and comparable to all the other properties in the area.

We are pleased you enjoyed the breakfast buffet . . . but if I could point out that our eggs are not powered, they are made fresh with every tray from real eggs.

I have the good fortune to tell you in the fall we are breaking ground as one of our winter projects on an indoor pool/spa facility that will include a more modern gym and equipment.

We hope you’ll come again to experience not only the canyon but our new spa and gym, and those delicious real eggs.

Thanks, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,443 - 3,449 of 6,414 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a first class hotel. Beautiful, large room with pencil amenities. Especially enjoyed the separate area with sink and mirror. Lots of facilities available. Special thanks to Joaquin for some good advice on the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacksonMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear JacksonMarie:

Thank you so very much for this very kind review of our hotel.

We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with your accommodations. Many guests love the notion of the extra sink and mirror in the vanity area.

I know Joaquin appreciates being singled out and have shared your thoughtful comment with him.

We hope you’ll return someday. Thanks again, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were not expecting much walking into the Best Western just outside the Grand Canyon National Park...but were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and not at all tired and worn, considering this place hosts millions of tourists every year. The staff were super accomodating. The free breakfast was a perfect start to the day (food was just ok, but good enough for free!) Can't beat the location. If you are looking for a hotel with a pool, just know that is has an outdoor pool that does not open until the end of may (it's still quite chily at night until mid-June due to the elevation). But they have a great hot tub inside that is perfect for soaking those tired muscles.

Room Tip: Our room was right by the entrance, but it was still quiet - no bad rooms to be found on this proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinK20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear ErinK20:

We very much appreciate you taking the time to compose and post this review of our Best Western here at the Grand Canyon.

We just are delighted we were able to pleasantly surprise you with comfortable accommodations and great customer service. We try very hard to make sure everyone’s Grand Canyon experience is one they will always remember. We start you off with a good breakfast, send you off to the amazing, majestic canyon, only to return to soak in our huge luxury bathtubs.

The pool is seasonal and is open now. It does still get chilly at night as the average temperature at the canyon is 84 degrees in the summer months, so it doesn’t get smokin’ hot like Phoenix ever.

Thanks again for your kind words. We hope you’ll return or recommend our hotel to anyone coming to Northern Arizona. Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Louisianan_at_Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here when we were visiting the Grand Canyon and we had a blast. I love Best Westerns anyways. I always have preferred them because so many are just unique and charming. This one is an older establishment - so what? That's not what travel is all about - than to worry about minuscule things like that. It's clean and comfortable, and has everything a traveler needs for comfort. Great beds, a coffee maker, bathrooms, a tv, air conditioning, heat and food. The rooms are excellent. It's about the overall experience and what you get out of it. I loved it! And I would definitely go back. At night when usually there's nothing to do but watch tv this place has a bowling alley which we went to and had a blast!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skyscape049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Skyscrape049:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and post this review of our property here at the Grand Canyon.

We are so delighted you and your daughter had a blast. We feel as you do that we are a unique and charming property. It is so refreshing to have someone say, “It’s an older property but so what?” It truly still has that resort 1970s family-rustic vacation feel. Being in such a remote location, I often wonder why some guests do not see or feel that.

We are so happy you enjoyed your accommodations and were comfortable. That’s our number one concern. Moreover, we love to hear a guest will return happily.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

When we stayed here we had booked 2 rooms. A room for my wife and I and our brother and sister- in- law. While their room was roomy and large, ours was tiny even though they were right next to each other. Our room was so small they had to place the table in the space between the bathroom door and the closet. The chairs blocked the closet and you had to move the chair to enter the bathroom. There was about 2 feet of walking space around the bed. It was nice to have a Keurig Coffee maker but it was on the table with nowhere to plug it in. The cord was wrapped around it. There was only one outlet that was being used by alarm clock and lamps, the only open outlet (except bathroom) was being used for our laptop. So no coffee! I received an e-mail asking for our opinion of the room, so I told them. This is the response I received "Unfortunately if you choose to book on-line and take the more affordable, "cozy" room, those rooms tend to be smaller and in the outer original building.". This from Heather Vaughan. I have no idea what this lady is talking about. I'm pretty sure we booked it over the phone. I was never given a "cozy" room option! The hotel has a very dated, Grand Canyon themed 70's decor, needs updated.

Room Tip: Be sure not to select a "cozy" room. lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r1wigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear R1Wigs:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and post this review of our property.

We are sorry to learn you thought your accommodations were on the small side and felt you had to move furniture to get in the closet or bathroom. I am not sure which building you were in but some of the rooms are considered “cozy or traditional” as Heather (our Rooms Director) explained to you. These rooms if booked not directly through our hotel reservations line but through a service like booking.com or expedia.com, they do not know they are booking you into a smaller room, just that the price is more affordable. I apologize that you were unaware of the type of room you booked.

We are working on the issue of the number of outlets in the rooms the one outer building. Back in the early 70s when the hotel was built, people did not travel with so many things that needed to be plugged in (cell phones, laptops, notebooks, gaming devices, DVD players, etc.).

If you should visit the Grand Canyon again, would you please write to me at adminasst@grandcanyonsquire.com and I would like to do something special for you and your family, and make your reservations in a room more your style.

Thank you again, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I'm not sure when this hotel was last decorated, but I think it's definitely time for a refurb! Sadly a little tired and musty, but a great location for access to the Grand Canyon. Old furniture in rooms and not the cleanest.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Where_Magic_Happens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Where_Magic_H:

We would all like to thank you for posting this review of our Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn.

For your information the original hotel which are the outer buildings and just the lobby area were built in the early 70s. It still does have that 70s charming remote location resort feel. The building that had just the lobby and restaurant added the two wings on in the mid 90s. The hotel does redecorating periodically and do yearly upgrading projects . . . this past winter we changed the carpet in all the rooms and hallways, installed elevators in the two buildings that did not have them and a number of other Best Western “standards and/or requirements” that we must adhered to as not only a Best Western but to have the “premier” status.

We hope you will come again and see all the improvements we will have made this summer.

Thanks again, Lynn Hazlewood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
5.9 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,583 reviews
6.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Address: 100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range: $93 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, we're proud to be the finest property at The Grand Canyon in Tusayan, Arizona. Moments away from the South Rim entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, our property offers all the amenities you expect and deserve from a fine hotel. We are pleased to provide you with the ultimate Grand Canyon hotel experience. Allow us to anticipate your every need here at the South Rim, the heart of Grand Canyon's National Park. By day, let your senses come alive in the unique ecosystem of the Grand Canyon and the high desert of the Coconino Plateau. By night, come home to the genteel oasis of the Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn. Whether your trip to the canyon is a once-in-a-lifetime adventure or a much needed escape to nature, make us your first and only choice for lodging. Our warm, relaxed ambiance is the perfect end to a day in the magnificent American Southwest. With a variety of dining and entertainment choices on our expansive grounds, we're sure to please guests of all ages. Our array of guest services, magnificent art collection, fireside lounge and Family Fun Center will make us your favorite place to unwind. Our beautifully appointed rooms were designed with your complete comfort in mind. At our Grand Canyon hotel, you can experience an exquisite sunset, relax under the stars and wake up to a spectacular sunrise when lodging with us. The Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn offers an unexpected grandeur, uniquely suited to a Grand Canyon South Rim hotel. We promise you a remarkable, memorable experience at the Grand Canyon, one of the premier world heritage sites. Electric car chargers available. We have a limited number of pet-friendly rooms available. A pet-friendly room reservation is required. The pet friendly rate is $20.00 per day. A refundable cleaning and damage deposit of $50.00 is required upon check-in. If damage occurs or excessive cleaning is needed, the deposit can become non-refundable and the hotel may charge additionally to cover the costs of repair or cleaning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Hotel Tusayan
Best Western Tusayan
Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Tusayan Best Western
Best Western Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing