We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The best Best Western I've ever stayed at! When I booked, I never anticipated that we would be upgraded to a king suite at no extra charge. ( It was my birthday). The service was excellent. The room was enormous, and extremely well-appointed. The hotel interior was quite beautiful. We did not spend much time in the hotel itself, but the breakfast served was wonderful. An abundance of fresh, nicely presented, and tasty choices. The fresh fruit was particularly good. This hotel is five minutes from the Canyon, and definitely well worth it. Tusayan is small. We enjoyed the take out pizza place down the road which had a very good salad bar, and some interesting pizza choices, at a reasonable cost, (great for families with kids) considering the location. For those needing a pleasant stay, within minutes of the canyon, this tiny hamlet offers some nice facilities. We would not hesitate to recommend this Best Western as our first choice of places to stay at while visiting the Grand Canyon.

Room Tip: Main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atigrevlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear atigrevlis:

We wanted to personally thank you for writing and posting this very nice review of our Best Western. We like nothing more than to hear we are the best!

We are always happy to upgrade quests whenever possible and to do it on your birthday, how special. We also appreciate you recognizing our staff and the awesome service we provide to everyone who walks through our doors. It’s funny you mention not spending much time at the hotel as we don’t really expect you to as the big show is just down the road and we want everyone to have a great Grand Canyon experience. Tusayan is small and “We Cook Pizza and Pasta” restaurant is excellent; I highly recommend it as well.

We are so please to know you would not hesitate to recommend or come back and visit again.

Thanks you so much. Sincerely, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,457 - 3,463 of 6,414 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

A spur of the moment trip to the Grand Canyon but could not book a room in the park. Ended up at the Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn in Tusayan. Good choice.

The hotel appears to have lots of rooms located in several different buildings. The room I had was in a small building with about 15 rooms. The room was furnished nicely and had historic pictures on the walls instead of the usual hotel art.

The hotel has lots of things to do, especially for kids. Also, several restaurants including a buffet along with a "fine dining" eatery as well.

The buffet breakfast included with the room was plentiful with lots of choices. Fresh fruit salad and a huge bowl of ripe strawberries that was replenished as needed. Hot food as well as cold cereals and pastries and cottage cheese and yogurt were available.

Although I was disappointed that I could not get reservations in the park (El Tovar) the Squire Inn made up for it.

As an added bonus, the Grand Canyon shuttle stop is right in front of the hotel. Made things easy!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HikingisHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Vikingsheaven:

Thank you very much for writing and posting this review of our property here at the Grand Canyon. Spur of the moment or not, we are a great alterative choice here in Tusayan to the park itself.

We hotel does have 250 rooms and four buildings. The three outer buildings are the original hotel that was built back in the early 1970s and the 4000 and 5000 wings built onto the main lobby building back in the 1990s. The historical black and white photographs are a popular item and a unique way to portrait the history of the canyon. The shuttle is great to and from the park. It truly helps keep the number of cars down in the park. We encourage people to use them.

El Tovar is a lovely hotel and maybe next trip you will be able to stay with them. Reserve your stay early especially if it’s after May 1 and before October 1. We hope you recommend us to friends and family. Moreover, if El Tovar is booked again on your next trip our doors are always open.

Sincerely, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

It's a motel-style Best Western so one's expectations should be limited by that; this is not the Bellagio. But the rooms are clean and provide a decent amount of comfort and breakfast and dinner are far above expectation for a Best Western.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pro42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Pro42:

Thank you very much for writing and posting this review of our property here in Tusayan.

Since the hotel was built back in the day (early 70s) in this very remote part of Northern Arizona, it does have a “motel-style” about it. The outer buildings that surround the outdoor seasonal pool were considered very charming back then. We are glad you enjoyed the dining experience here at the hotel and hope you Grand Canyon experience was amazing.

Thanks again, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

On a road trip to see things that I have wanted to see, I came across this hotel. As my wife and I make this trip we stay in far to many disappointing brand name hotels that think they do it right. Well this one got it right! Friendly, clean and the beds were perfect. Comfort at its best. The amenities will keep everyone happy.
The VERY long road to the south rim of the Grand Canyon brings you into a small town. Not knowing we're we would be staying that night I stopped here. Best choice I could have made. Thinking about a place to stay? Give this one your money. They work hard to make a difference.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Earnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Earnie B:

Thank you so much for writing and posting this very nice and kind review of our property.

We were very glad to learn you thought our staff was friendly, the accommodations were clean and comfortable and we enjoyed your Grand Canyon experience…most important. We do try to have amenities for everyone; from one to 91 we like to keep everyone happy.

I chuckle at your comment the “very” long road from…. I’m guessing you mean either Route 180 from Flagstaff or 64 from William, both a good hour or so from what we call civilization to our sleepy little town. Most people are very, very glad to finally get here and find out the South Rim is only 10 minutes away. We appreciate your recommendation and hope you yourself will come back and visit again whether the canyon is crossed off that bucket list or not :)

Sincerely, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I must admit that I was initially concerned about being in a Best Western after previous experiences, but I was proven wrong! This Best Western was a wonderful option for a Canyon visit! It was very close to the park entrance and was the nicest Best Western I have ever stayed in. Our room was small, but very nice and clean. Breakfast was included and they offered a decent buffet. There was also another restaurant in the lobby and a bar downstairs. The restaurant left much to be desired, did not have many options, and some obscure food choices. The bar did offer bar food that was ok. Given the lack of options in the small community, it was certainly doable for two dinners. A fun feature of the hotel was the game room. Across from the bar is a small bowling alley and arcade. Again, given the lack of options in the small town, this certainly provided some fun for the night! We did have to tolerate a few drunk patrons, but it was ok. Lastly, the concierge in the hotel was wonderful! She helped us book an amazing helicopter ride!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarpediemTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear KarpediemTraveler:

Thank you very much for posting this review of our property.

We are just delighted you were so pleasantly surprised and enjoyed your stay with us so much. We also appreciate you recognizing our wonderful and knowledgeable Concierge Michelle. She is a long time employee and always knows what to suggest you do depending on what you want to get out of your experience at the canyon. I have passed your nice comment onto her supervisor to share with her. We hope you will come back and visit again soon. And if anyone you know is traveling our way, you will recommend they stay with us as well.

Sincerely, Lynn Mendoza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Second trip to the Grand Canyon National Park and second stay at this property. Excellent service and amenities for everyone. Close to National Park entrance. Best discount coupons available for IMAX theater.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Kevin N:

Thank you very much Kevin for taking the time to write about your experience here at our hotel.

We just love a return visitor, as we know we must be doing something right. We appreciate you patronage and are very happy you enjoy the accommodations and amenities we offer.
We look forward to trip number three :)

Sincerely, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is really beautiful, lobby is large, going downstairs to bar area there is a lovely water feature. Beds were comfortable, room was spacious, clean, and well appointed. The drawback was closing door on neighboring rooms and directly overhead caused walls and floor to vibrate. Bathroom was large. Had a Kuerig coffee maker but a bit worn plus coffee was a less expensive brand. Having stayed in this area before it us truly the best of the lot. Went to restaurant for the full breakfast instead of the free continental one offered upstairs. Good solid breakfast and excellent service. It is very conveniently located to the South entrance to the Grand Canyon.

Room Tip: Not sure how to address that issue as it appears to be a structural one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr8DishDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Gr8DishDiva
We all here at the Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn thanks you for writing and posting this review on tripadvisor.com

We are always happy to hear that our guests thought the hotel was beautiful and they were comfortable in their accommodations. We do apologize for the sound from the doors closing in from other rooms. Unfortunately, some guests don’t realize how loud the door closing is behind them is. We are working on putting better pressure stoppers on them but haven’t gotten to all the rooms yet.

We hope if you visit this area again you will stay with us. Thanks, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
5.9 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,583 reviews
6.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Address: 100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range: $93 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, we're proud to be the finest property at The Grand Canyon in Tusayan, Arizona. Moments away from the South Rim entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, our property offers all the amenities you expect and deserve from a fine hotel. We are pleased to provide you with the ultimate Grand Canyon hotel experience. Allow us to anticipate your every need here at the South Rim, the heart of Grand Canyon's National Park. By day, let your senses come alive in the unique ecosystem of the Grand Canyon and the high desert of the Coconino Plateau. By night, come home to the genteel oasis of the Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn. Whether your trip to the canyon is a once-in-a-lifetime adventure or a much needed escape to nature, make us your first and only choice for lodging. Our warm, relaxed ambiance is the perfect end to a day in the magnificent American Southwest. With a variety of dining and entertainment choices on our expansive grounds, we're sure to please guests of all ages. Our array of guest services, magnificent art collection, fireside lounge and Family Fun Center will make us your favorite place to unwind. Our beautifully appointed rooms were designed with your complete comfort in mind. At our Grand Canyon hotel, you can experience an exquisite sunset, relax under the stars and wake up to a spectacular sunrise when lodging with us. The Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn offers an unexpected grandeur, uniquely suited to a Grand Canyon South Rim hotel. We promise you a remarkable, memorable experience at the Grand Canyon, one of the premier world heritage sites. Electric car chargers available. We have a limited number of pet-friendly rooms available. A pet-friendly room reservation is required. The pet friendly rate is $20.00 per day. A refundable cleaning and damage deposit of $50.00 is required upon check-in. If damage occurs or excessive cleaning is needed, the deposit can become non-refundable and the hotel may charge additionally to cover the costs of repair or cleaning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Hotel Tusayan
Best Western Tusayan
Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Tusayan Best Western
Best Western Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing