We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Well run hotel”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our room was very nice and the staff very friendly. If you can't stay in the Park, this is well located and clean. The breakfast was nothing to write home about. Maybe because we were there over Spring break-there was not enough coffee, cups, the eggs were cold. We had just come from the Best Western in Sedona where the breakfast was much more plentiful but a much smaller place. My husband loved the old pictures of the Canyon throughout the hotel and in our room. Overall, we were glad to have chosen the Grand Canyon Squire Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyS89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear AudreyS89:

Thank you very much Audrey for posting this review of our property here at the Grand Canyon.

We appreciate you recognizing our staff as friendly and helpful and that your accommodations were suitable for your needs. The black and white photographics that line the hall and ornate the rooms are a wonderful and different way to tell the Grand Canyon story. Many people comment how much they enjoy them.

We are thankful that you were glad to have chosen our Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn. We hope you will come and stay again.

Sincerely, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,083
    2,269
    995
    339
    180
See reviews for
2,221
2,461
105
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
457 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel has improved over the years. This stay was in one of the outlying buildings. The room was large and excellently appointed. The beds were very comfortable. The heat could have worked better but was adequate. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was good. The buffet breakfast was quite good. We stopped in some of the lodges inside the G/C park and expect for the location of the rim lodges, we were happy to be where we were. It is only a short drive into the park and this wasn't a problem. The hotel does sell the admission to the park. On the whole, we definitely would stay again at this facility.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chingachgook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Chingachgook:

We appreciate and thank you for composing and posting this review of our hotel here at the Grand Canyon.

We are grateful for you noticing we have made many improvements throughout the years. One is in the building you stayed in as we have installed elevators. Our guests commented about there not being any so in they went.
We are happy you enjoyed your accommodations and all the amenities including our wonderful proximity to the park. We do have good food and something for everyone from fast food to family style buffets, to bar & grill cuisine to fine dining fare.

Our staff is incredible and we are please you pointed this out. We all try to make everyone’s experience here amazing as if it’s a once in a lifetime event . . . because nine times out of ten it is.

Thanks again, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked a 1 night stay for a day trip to the canyon. Rooms were nice, old but newly upgraded. The hotel does not have a movie provider so now pay per view movies, but they do offer HBO. Room also included fridge, micowave and a safe. The hotel had a great breakfast buffet upstairs, which was a great way to start your morning before heading to the canyon. There is also a bowling alley, lounge and hot tub on site, unfortunetly all of these close at 10pm, much like the rest of the town. The hot tub was also kind of green but it may have just been the lighting. We did go to the lounge for 2 drinks and an app. before it closed. The menu was a little lacking, we settled for the sampler, the Rattlesnake Eggs were awesome definitely would get them again. All in all this was a decent hotel and I would recommend it to friends. Thanks again to Michael the F&B manager for assisting us in switching a bottle of champagne that came with our pkg. for a bottle of wine, great service and hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Emoker:

We all thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of our hotel.

We were happy to learn you enjoyed your accommodations. Unfortunately, as for a movie provider, we are in a remote location and not all carriers provide this service up here in Northern Arizona. We are a small town and we do close down early, as there is not much to do when the show at the canyon ends with the sun going down.

We are grateful for this recommendation and thank you for recognizing Michael’s wonderful service. He is an amazing manager and always has customer satisfaction on his mind.

Thanks again and hope to see you again soon yourself! Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hmmmm where do I start? I booked a 2 Queen standard room. After checking in, we went to look for our room. As soon as we opened the door, I wanted to close it right back and leave. Our room wreaked of mildew. The carpet was beyond filthy. I was not comfortable taking off my shoes, socks or slippers during our stay. If you're wearing socks, you can be sure the bottom will get dirty. The bathroom is very outdated and had a smell that gave me headaches every time I'm there. I was so uncomfortable with our 3 day stay.

However, there are two things that made our stay decent. The beds were comfortable to lay in and the breakfast buffet not only did they have a nice variety but also good. This is included with your room charge.

There are not many places to stay around the Grand Canyon so I don't know if the other hotels would be any better. The hotel was very convenient to the park so that's another plus. With the dirty room, it wasn't worth the price we were charged though. Thought with it being a Premier it would be a little better than the standard. Will not stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NS_Vy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear NsVy:

We appreciate you taking time to write and then post this review of our Best Western here at the Grand Canyon.

We are sorry to learn you were not as happy with your accommodations as we would like to hear. And very sorry you thought your room had an odor like mildew. I forwarded your comment to both the housekeeping manager and the maintenance department to address. Sadly, we have replaced all the carpet this spring in the hotel and sorry that your room’s carpet had not at the time been replaced yet.

We are happy to learn that you thought the beds were comfortable and you got a good night’s sleep. And enjoyed the breakfast buffet, a popular amenity.

Again we are sorry you were a bit unhappy with your stay and hope these issues you brought to our attention concerning your room did not affect your Grand Canyon experience in a negative way.

Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I guess if you travel to Grand Canyon you have to sleep somewhere. Grand Canyon is definetly not a place with abandance of hotel choices. It is either poor or bad hotel choice here. Nothing is extremely bad about the Grand Canyon Squire Inn. This is an old hotel which deserves maximum 2 stars. It is relatively clean, serves so-so breakfast and has so-so location. I dont understand why it is a Best Western PREMIER.
Still it will charge you 250 and more dollars per night however considering the shortage of hotels in the area this Best Western is the hotel of choice for many travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Malberta

We appreciate you taking time to write and then post this review of our Best Western here at the Grand Canyon.

Yes, you do have to sleep somewhere. There are more hotels here at the Grand Canyon than you think. People are always surprised when I tell them there are 18 hotels (not including camping and/or trailer parks) and over 25 restaurants in the Tusayan and Grand Canyon Village area. We do try to be the hotel of choice in the area and our rates are competitive and comparable to all the properties. We do have many different size rooms and different rates that you might consider to be more affordable than what you’ve mentioned.

We do hope if you come visit the canyon again you’ll stay with us because as you said, you gotta sleep somewhere . . . it might as well be with us. Thanks again very much, Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

They charged us $200 per room for a room that was about $119 quality. It was clean, granted. Bed OK. The pool not open. There is a cheesy kids bowling area. The pizza is $20 per pizza and there is no way to get anything cheaper. So, basically, if I go back I will book a cheaper hotel, and I will bring sandwich makings and come prepared as the village they tout is nothing but an average place that overcharges. Also, TV didn't work well. There is a lot for a couple to do, bars, etc. And, they have a lovely breakfast buffet, but it still didn't warrant the $200 price tag. I guess this hotel is just not the best for a family trying to travel with a budget, otherwise, it was OK. I will give them credit for the breakfast though, that made the stay worth it.

Room Tip: all rooms are the same, no views as it is about 6 miles from canyon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Susan H.:

Thank you very much for writing and posting this review of our hotel.

We are sorry you felt you didn’t get good value for accommodations and amenities we offer here at our Best Western. We are happy you were comfortable though in your room.
Our pool is seasonal and we do try to make sure people know that. Although we are in Arizona, it is not warm up here in the mountains at 7000 ft. There are mornings the temperatures dip well under zero degrees. And unfortunately, it is expense to do business in such a remote location. However, we are competitive and comparable in our rates with all the hotels in the Tusayan and Grand Canyon Village. We hope what you have commented on didn’t affect your Grand Canyon experience.

Thanks so much again. Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Huachuca, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

10 minutes from the southern rim of the Grand Canyon, free hot breakfast buffet, Keurigs in the room, comfy beds, good wifi.

We had this hotel picked for us by Priceline's mystery hotel and paid 76$ a night.

Incredible value, especially in such a hot tourist spot!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear EffB:

Thank you very much for posting this review of our property. Yes, we are just 10 minutes from the South Rim of the canyon, which brings an end to endless traveling to get up here. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the Keurigs coffee maker in your room.

We are also glad you felt you got good value for the price you paid through Priceline's mystery hotel. We hope you'll come again and be our guest.

Thank you, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
0.3 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,670 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tusayan
2,370 reviews
6.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Property: Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Address: 100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, we're proud to be the finest property at The Grand Canyon in Tusayan, Arizona. Moments away from the South Rim entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, our property offers all the amenities you expect and deserve from a fine hotel. We are pleased to provide you with the ultimate Grand Canyon hotel experience. Allow us to anticipate your every need here at the South Rim, the heart of Grand Canyon's National Park. By day, let your senses come alive in the unique ecosystem of the Grand Canyon and the high desert of the Coconino Plateau. By night, come home to the genteel oasis of the Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn. Whether your trip to the canyon is a once-in-a-lifetime adventure or a much needed escape to nature, make us your first and only choice for lodging. Our warm, relaxed ambiance is the perfect end to a day in the magnificent American Southwest. With a variety of dining and entertainment choices on our expansive grounds, we're sure to please guests of all ages. Our array of guest services, magnificent art collection, fireside lounge and Family Fun Center will make us your favorite place to unwind. Our beautifully appointed rooms were designed with your complete comfort in mind. At our Grand Canyon hotel, you can experience an exquisite sunset, relax under the stars and wake up to a spectacular sunrise when lodging with us. The Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn offers an unexpected grandeur, uniquely suited to a Grand Canyon South Rim hotel. We promise you a remarkable, memorable experience at the Grand Canyon, one of the premier world heritage sites. Electric car chargers available. We have a limited number of pet-friendly rooms available. A pet-friendly room reservation is required. The pet friendly rate is $20.00 per day. A refundable cleaning and damage deposit of $50.00 is required upon check-in. If damage occurs or excessive cleaning is needed, the deposit can become non-refundable and the hotel may charge additionally to cover the costs of repair or cleaning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Hotel Tusayan
Best Western Tusayan
Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Tusayan Best Western
Best Western Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing