We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Certificate of Excellence
Placerville, California, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than expected!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel is very nice, with a actual bowling alley and recreation room for kids, excellent idea! Room was nice, comfortable beds! Amenities were nice. The breakfast buffet was the BEST part of the deal! We had a problem regarding the deposit, which was handled quickly and professionally. Very much appreciated!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank KayL370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear KayL370:

We would like to thank you for writing and posting this review of our property here at the canyon.

Dear EffB:

Thank you kindly for writing and posting this review of our property here at the Grand Canyon.

We are happy to learn you enjoyed the hotel and all its amenities including our bowling alley and arcade . . . and of course the all-popular breakfast buffet. We were sorry to learn you had an issue with your deposit but always relieved to hear it was handled quickly, professional and was solved.

We hope you’ll visit us again very soon and stay well. Sincerely, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,169
    2,340
    1,026
    352
    183
See reviews for
2,352
2,508
105
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

If properties in Grand Canyon National park are booked, the problem I came across, this has got to be one of better places, although I haven't stayed at any others. Beds were very comfortable. Our room was clean. There were photos on the walls of various early adventures people had with the Grand Canyon: circa 1920s. Staff was very friendly and willing to offer suggestions based on what we were looking for as far as the canyon itself to where to find a gas station that wasn't a rip off. Breakfast buffet was included and had fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, muffins, donuts, eggs, biscuits n gravy, oatmeal, potatoes,sausage....it was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaJean11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Annjean11:

Thank you very much for taking the time to compose and post this review of our property here at the Grand Canyon.

We appreciate you trying our hotel since all properties in Grand Canyon Village were booked. A common issue but no worries since we are only two miles from the park’s entrance and only seven miles to the edge of the rim. We were happy to learn your accommodations were comfortable and clean. Very important to us. The black and white photographic that adorns our hotel are extremely popular and tell the history of the canyon in a very different way. I do agree that our staff is knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly. I had to chuckle at your comment about not being ripped off buying gas. It is expensive to live in this remote location so we like to pass on our little secrets to our guests (LOL).

Please come back and enjoy a good breakfast and the canyon again soon.

Sincerely, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is one of several in Tusayan, 7 miles from the Canyon. It's the best location if you're not planning to stay in Grand Canyon Village. Hot breakfast with good assortment of choices, though the eggs were way undercooked & liquid at the bottom of the tray. Hopefully this will be fixed! The room itself was clean, though dark and with an unattractive brown color scheme, though we really appreciated the green hotel features, including the use of reclaimed water in toilets, and the enviro-friendly toiletries. Generally comfortable and clean with good bedding. Kid-friendly arcade and bowling alley in the bottom level of main building (get on the list early if you want to bowl!). Didn't see the pool (closed in March).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 910Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear 910AmyH:

We truly appreciate you writing and posting this review of our Best Western here at the Grand Canyon.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The breakfast buffet is a popular amenity and our location cannot be beat! We were sorry to learn you thought the scrambled eggs were undercooked and have passed your comment onto our Chef to address with the morning kitchen staff.

Many people forget that although we are at 7000 ft. and in the middle of a forest and the mountains, we are still located in the desert, the high desert. Being green and saving water are paramount here in Arizona.

Thank you so much again and we hope you will return and send your friends and family as well.

Sincerely, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Room was very clean and comfortable. TV was high quality Breakfast was excellent, even better than some higher rated hotels we have previously stayed in. Had dinner in the bar and grill. The first night waiter was efficient but didn't appear interested in giving customers a friendly service. Food was good. The 2nd night we had a different waiter who certainly made sure we got good service. The fish and chips from were excellent. Best cod we have ever tasted and he recommended the local beer, which was also very good. Would recommend hotel for anyone visiting the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zackboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Zackboy:

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write and post this review of our hotel.

We were happy to learn your accommodations were comfortable and fresh and that you were able to enjoy all our amenities including the hearty breakfast buffet. However, we were not happy that you felt the waiter who served you your dinner the first night of your stay made you or appeared disinterested in giving our guests friendly service. That is not a typical attitude or an acceptable one for any of our employees. We certianly apologize the service wasn't up to par. However, was happy to learn the second night you had much better service and with a smile. That’s what we want to hear.

Thank you so much for the recommendation and we hope you will visit again.

Sincerely, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Tusayan was a good base location for the Grand Canyon being only a few minutes drive to the park entrance and the Best Western seemed to be one of the better options in the area. In general though, the hotels and restaurants around the Grand Canyon are below par (certainly they do not live up to the beauty of the Grand Canyon itself, which was amazing!!). We stayed in a motel-type room which was okay although a bit old, the bed was big and comfy, and it had an enormous flat screen TV. The staff at the front desk and the concierge desk were very good and helpful. It was convenient to have the breakfast buffet before a long day in the national park. We also ate dinner at the Coronado Room, which was the best meal that we had in the area.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank frankviz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear frankviz81:

We all appreciate your feedback and posting of this review about our property here on tripadvisor.com.

Tusayan is a wonderful place to stay if your are visiting the Grand Canyon. Only two miles to the park’s entrance and then five to South Rim. I agree that the hotels and/or restaurants in the area could never compete with the majestic beauty and the grandeur of the Grand Canyon. Tusayan is very small and in a very remote area as you know. The town itself and State Route 64 literally run right through the National Kaibab Forest, which leads you to the parks entrance. The only views we enjoy are the tops of the pine trees.

We appreciate you complimenting our staff and the concierge. We try to make sure everyone is knowledge about the area, especially about the hiking trails and what is best to see and do.

Thanks so much again and we hope you’ll be back.

Sincerely, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here just recently and after staying in 2 other BW's along the way, we were shocked by the attitudes of the staff at the front desk in comparison to the helpful and efficient attitudes of the other BW's we had stayed at. Our front desk attendant was new, which was not a problem... except for when the attendant was looking for an answer to a question they had not dealt with yet, and we watched the response of the other staff to the one in training. In turn, it meant that our check in was the longest I have ever experienced, and rude towards the staff in training... (and us) and, gruff towards us when we asked a a question about the area.

The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The service was a disappointing start to our time in the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank fixingk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear fixingk:

Thank you very much for writing and posting this review of our hotel.

We were sorry to hear you were shocked by the attitudes of our staff at the front desk. Our front desk associates are to be courteous, helpful and considerate not only to guests but to fellow employees. We do have some new employees who are being trained and I apologize you thought our "seasoned" employees attitudes were anything but caring and supportive of each other. I appreciate you pointing this out and have spoken to the Front Desk Manager who is going to address this issue with her all her staff.

We hope this did not interfere with your experience at the Grand Canyon and the rest of your stay. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention and we do hope we will stay will us again and see an improvement.

Sincerely, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
0.3 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,443 reviews
6.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,960 reviews
21.9 mi away
Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
#22 of 30 in Williams
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Property: Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Address: 100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, we're proud to be the finest property at The Grand Canyon in Tusayan, Arizona. Moments away from the South Rim entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, our property offers all the amenities you expect and deserve from a fine hotel. We are pleased to provide you with the ultimate Grand Canyon hotel experience. Allow us to anticipate your every need here at the South Rim, the heart of Grand Canyon's National Park. By day, let your senses come alive in the unique ecosystem of the Grand Canyon and the high desert of the Coconino Plateau. By night, come home to the genteel oasis of the Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn. Whether your trip to the canyon is a once-in-a-lifetime adventure or a much needed escape to nature, make us your first and only choice for lodging. Our warm, relaxed ambiance is the perfect end to a day in the magnificent American Southwest. With a variety of dining and entertainment choices on our expansive grounds, we're sure to please guests of all ages. Our array of guest services, magnificent art collection, fireside lounge and Family Fun Center will make us your favorite place to unwind. Our beautifully appointed rooms were designed with your complete comfort in mind. At our Grand Canyon hotel, you can experience an exquisite sunset, relax under the stars and wake up to a spectacular sunrise when lodging with us. The Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn offers an unexpected grandeur, uniquely suited to a Grand Canyon South Rim hotel. We promise you a remarkable, memorable experience at the Grand Canyon, one of the premier world heritage sites. Electric car chargers available. We have a limited number of pet-friendly rooms available. A pet-friendly room reservation is required. The pet friendly rate is $20.00 per day. A refundable cleaning and damage deposit of $50.00 is required upon check-in. If damage occurs or excessive cleaning is needed, the deposit can become non-refundable and the hotel may charge additionally to cover the costs of repair or cleaning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Hotel Tusayan
Best Western Tusayan
Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Tusayan Best Western
Best Western Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing