We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the $130/night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Write a Review

5,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,944
    2,160
    965
    326
    173
See reviews for
2,068
2,359
98
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel is a 1970's style hotel with various external room buildings. The layout of the main build is not handicap friendly. I don't think he understood everything I said. The beds are uncomfortable and the halls are unclean. The breakfast buffet was mass-produced food, which was very cold.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear jbrophy7:

Thank you so very much for posting this review of our property.

The Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn was built shortly before 1970 and the outer buildings do still have that feel to them. I am surprised you felt the hotel was not handicap friendly though as there are elevators in the main building and a very accessible ramp to the breakfast buffet. And for your information, as an added upgrade this spring, we are now putting elevators in all three of the outer buildings.
I’m also sorry you felt the beds were uncomfortable as most people enjoy a great night’s sleep. However, we are all different and some mattresses are harder or softer than others making some people uncomfortable which we are sorry you experienced. As for breakfast being cold I’m sorry no one pointed out the microwave right at the end of the buffet so you could make your breakfast hotter.

We hope you’ll stop in again and see all the improvements we’ve made this spring first hand.

Sincerely, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I booked this hotel based on reviews I had read on here. I am so glad I did. Not only was the staff friendly & eager to help, but the room was great. The breakfast buffet they serve is awesome!! Fresh fruit, pastries, potatoes, gravy, biscuits, eggs, pancakes, and sausage. Getting your fill at breakfast meant we could skip lunch-savign some money. If we ever go back to the Tusayan, we WILL stay here.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the bigger room & the extra room was greatly appreciated. Rooms are also ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank dieslgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear dieslgirl:

Thank you so much after your trip here to Arizona and to the Grand Canyon for writing and posting a review for us. And we are so glad that you trusted the reviews on TripAdvisor.com and booked your stay with us.

We take such pride in having a wonderful, helpful staff that are honestly eager to help in any way. From the rooms to the breakfast buffet to fun at the canyon, we have it all. And we’re happy to send everyone off with a full stomach from our great breakfast buffet.

We are so happy you’d stay with us again.

Sincerely, Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at noon, before check-in time, and the lady at the desk was very accommodating. We were with friends, and their room was in a different building than ours, so she upgraded their room at no charge so that they were right down the hall from us, in the main building. Our rooms were very large, looked brand new, and were very clean. There were two sinks and a very large tub. Also a fridge and microwave. The beds were very comfortable and the sheets very nice. When we left to go sightseeing the maid in the hall asked if everything was ok and if we needed anything. At 11:30 PM our toilet plugged. I called housekeeping and a lady appeared within 5 minutes with a smile on her face and a plunger in hand!
The free breakfast was the best we've ever had, with French toast, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, sausage, oatmeal, biscuits and gravy, as well as the usual cold cereal and sweets.
And all this was within 10 minutes of the Grand Canyon!
We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BillandPatinDuluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear BillandPatinDuluth:

We very much appreciate you taking the time to write and post this review.

We are so happy to learn you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable in and with your accommodations. Our Front Desk Associates try very hard to make sure each quest is happy when they check-in and we glad they were not only able to move your friends near you but to have upgraded them as well. We try to do that as often as we can. And so pleased we were able to resolve your bathroom “issue” quickly. The breakfast buffet is a very popular amenity that all guests seem to enjoy. Nice to get off the Grand Canyon with a full stomach and be there in less than ten minutes.

We are so glad you would stay with us again and please tell anyone heading our way where we are :)
Sincerely, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were here for only one night and it was our first time staying at a Best Western. We were more than pleasantly surprised! Very nice hotel for the money spent! Minor construction was going on at the entry but the rooms were spacious and clean. Great breakfast buffet. If we are ever back here this property will be our first choice. A great first impression of the Best Western chain.

Room Tip: The hotel is long and a room closer to the lobby would be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fas7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Fas7:

Thank you very much for composing and posting this nice review of our hotel.

We are so pleased we were able to pleasantly surprise you with our amazing hotel and that you thought that you got good value for the money you spent. We know how hard people work for their money and being on vacation is not as cheap as we would all like it to be. We try hard to have reasonable rates. We do do upgrades every Spring to help keep this 50+ year old hotel fresh, updated and clean. The construction you encountered were the elevators we are installing in the two of the outer buildings that are lacking them.

So happy to learn you would stay with us again and any recommendations to people traveling here to Arizona and the Grand Canyon is much appreciated.

Sincerely, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Everyone about this hotel is OK... Ok rooms, ok food, ok prices, ok internet, nothing really jumps out and wows you... We got stuck in a wheelchair accessable room, which meant the bathroom was one big wet-room... As other have said, I'm not sure the in-room thermostats actually work, the room always seemed hot, and it was 20 degrees and snowing outside!

The staff were nice enough, but you never really felt like they were trying to help you, they seemed happy enough to help you, but I didn't get the impression any of them would go the extra mile for you...

The internet service was fine, although we lost cell service long before we got to the hotel, and it's an extremely scary prospect getting to the hotel when it's snowing and the road is iced up... They plow the roads, but weren't salting them!

Overall, it's not the worst hotel, but it's no where near the best either!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't have a handicap accessible bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5tumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear 5tumpy:

Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of our property.

We are sorry you felt your stay was just okay. We try hard to make everyone feel welcomed and have an enjoyable visit while here. All our employees honestly are happy to help our guests and I am sorry you felt they did not. Under most circumstances if you were checked into a handicap assessible room and do not need one, there are only two reasons for that. One if you had mistakenly reserved one while booking your room on-line or if the hotel is sold out and it is one of the only rooms left at the time you checked in. I have asked the Maintenance Manager to look into the issue you had with the thermostat and we appreciate you bringing that to our attention.

Unfortunately, we do not control what telephone provider individuals use. Some providers have better service than others do in such remote locations as others. It can be frustrating for travelers to lose their cell service and contact with their families and businesses. State Route 64 from Williams to the entrance of the Grand Canyon Park runs through the Kaibab National Forest which the National Forest Service services. The NFS does in fact “salt” the roads, they use calcium chloride by choice. Nevertheless, we are in mountains of Arizona and when it’s blizzards up here at 6500-7000 feet above sea level, it comes down hard and fast. It is extremely hard to keep the roads clear and safe until the snow stops falling. What they tell us is to not drive which I realize wasn’t an option for you.

We hope if you are ever in America again and visiting us here at the Grand Canyon, you’ll try us again and hopefully feel differently.

Sincerely, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while we explored Grand Canyon National Park. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The beds and linens were good. The bathroom was large with a garden tub,shower and plenty of towels. It turned out to be very nice to have a fridge, microwave, safe and Keurig coffee maker. This buffet breakfast was very complete and the dining room was large. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Kim:

Thank you for taking the time to write and post this nice review for us.

We are happy to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and were comfortable in your accommodations. We strive to make everyone's journey to this amazing place on earth memorable and enjoyable.

The breakfast buffet is a popular amenity and it is nice to send people off to the canyon with smiles on their faces and full stomachs.

We are so glad to hear you would stay here again and please, if anyone is traveling our way please let them know about how pleasant your stay was.

Sincerely, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
5.9 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
5.9 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Property: Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Address: 100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, we're proud to be the finest property at The Grand Canyon in Tusayan, Arizona. Moments away from the South Rim entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, our property offers all the amenities you expect and deserve from a fine hotel. We are pleased to provide you with the ultimate Grand Canyon hotel experience. Allow us to anticipate your every need here at the South Rim, the heart of Grand Canyon's National Park. By day, let your senses come alive in the unique ecosystem of the Grand Canyon and the high desert of the Coconino Plateau. By night, come home to the genteel oasis of the Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn. Whether your trip to the canyon is a once-in-a-lifetime adventure or a much needed escape to nature, make us your first and only choice for lodging. Our warm, relaxed ambiance is the perfect end to a day in the magnificent American Southwest. With a variety of dining and entertainment choices on our expansive grounds, we're sure to please guests of all ages. Our array of guest services, magnificent art collection, fireside lounge and Family Fun Center will make us your favorite place to unwind. Our beautifully appointed rooms were designed with your complete comfort in mind. At our Grand Canyon hotel, you can experience an exquisite sunset, relax under the stars and wake up to a spectacular sunrise when lodging with us. The Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn offers an unexpected grandeur, uniquely suited to a Grand Canyon South Rim hotel. We promise you a remarkable, memorable experience at the Grand Canyon, one of the premier world heritage sites. Electric car chargers available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Hotel Tusayan
Best Western Tusayan
Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Tusayan Best Western
Best Western Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing