We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Customer Service”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Booked in advance and fully prepaid for a room for 3 nights through a third party website.

Checked in, and CC was taken for "incidentals". What I was not told at time of check in was that over $500 was authorized on my CC for "incidentals." This "incidentals" pre billed and authorized total was 117% of what my three night stay was- including tax.

Spoke with front desk clerk shortly after check in thinking this was an oversight. "Cant do anything until manager comes in tomorrow" Spoke with asst manager that same evening about the problem. She agreed there was a problem, and that this was non standard and agreed to help correct the issue and would speak to (other) manager about it next day.

Nearly 24 hours elapse and I speak directly to (other) manager about the matter. She knows nothing of the issue and indicates that she cannot or will not do anything and then tries to pass the buck onto accounting. No sale.

Senior? Manager then tells me that "I'M JUST INTERESTED IN DEBATING THE ISSUE WITH HER". I explain that I'm not, but that I'm interested in getting the problem that they caused fixed.

So here's the summary-

1) Hotel on more than one occasion agreed that this was their problem, and said they would look into it. They didn't.

2) When I pressed them to fix their problem and make things right for me, they were surly, rude, and behaved as though they could care less.

Good Job, Best Western Tusayan. I won't be back and will encourage everyone I know who travels to Grand Canyon not to stay on your property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,127
    2,301
    1,012
    344
    182
See reviews for
2,283
2,486
105
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We arrived late evening to find a welcome surprise - a lovely and clean Premiere Best Western - the staff was more than helpful and welcoming. The location was perfect - a short drive to the Grand Canyon, The atmosphere and decor of the hotel reflected its beautiful surroundings. The hotel offered a breakfast package - a very crowded and busy time - but it was interesting to be seated with many European tourists. I would definitely return.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SL15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I actually quite liked the hotel as I thought the positives outweighed the negatives.

Positives
Location location location
10 mins drive to the Grand Canyon national park.
You can buy passes to the park from the office in the hotel reception (useful to avoid waiting in longer lines at the park entrance.)

Good quality food in the Coronado room restaurant. Recommend booking as we had to wait about 30 mins for a table when we went at 7.30pm. There's a small bar with a good wine list and cocktails so unless you are hungry then not a big deal having to wait.

Spacious, clean rooms (apart from the stains on the carpet) . Not the most modern room facilities.

Excellent games room with bowling alley, air hockey, pinball etc great fun.

Helpful, friendly staff

Negatives

Light brown-coloured walls and beige carpets with a fair number of stains. Maybe from walking boots? I would brighten up the walls and have darker coloured carpets if they can't deep clean them more often.

Breakfast consisted of pretty poor quality food. I would rather pay for a good breakfast than having the only option of terrible waffles, egg, strange meat, stale bagels, watery fruit etc. The fruit juices were ok.

The pizza from the bar in the basement was the worst I've ever eaten.

Overall - I would either stay here again if I came back to the Grand Canyon or have a splurge at El Tovar.


  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Decent sized room with 2 comfortable queen beds. Breakfast was tasty and there was plenty of variety. The staff were friendly and courteous. The room wasn't as spotless as I would have liked dust in corners, slightly stained carpet.The hotel is very close to the Grand Canyon and I think this is reflected in the price, it isn't the best value for money but they have a captive market!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mac7899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Good hotel just a few miles outside park. Good quality rooms, well kept and clean. Room had safe which seems to be rare in US. Plenty of parking close to rooms. Good amenities in the hotel, with restaurant, sports bar (bar food), bowling alley and games room. The usual shop and booking point for tours etc. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Restaurant was good, but for the 3 nights we were there, they were hopelessly under staffed, so be prepared for a wait. Asking for gluten free in the restaurant caused problems, however they eventaully rose to the occasion and delivered some good GF meals for my wife.
This was the most exepnsive hotel we stayed in during our trip through California, Nevada and Arizona. Not sure it warranted the cost, but guess this was down to location and proximity to Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I loved this hotel because it was a perfect match for the area. Nice, clean, modern and in keeping with a visit to the Grand Canyon. Not too fancy but with just the right amenities. We had a very comfortble bed and the bathroom with seperate dressing table was perfect for a husband and wife to get their day started. They provided an excellent complimentary breakfast and would even prepare box lunches for your hike. Listening to the elks at night was an unexpected bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burke76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This place was very convenient to the Grand Canyon. The rooms were large, the beds were comfortable and the decor was interesting. Although the room was clean the carpet had many dark stains. It really detracted from the room and made the room seem unclean. The beautiful patio around the pool was dirty as well. The white patio would have been beautiful if it had been cleaned daily. okay, those were the negatives, on the up side, the spacious rooms, the comfy beds, good housekeepers,bowling alley,pool tables,lounge and restaurant. The cost for the room was on the high side, but included a large,delicious breakfast buffet. We ate in the lounge and the food was good as were the mixed drinks.

Room Tip: We liked the second floor for it's convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracylee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.3 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,410 reviews
5.9 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,344 reviews
6.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Property: Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Address: 100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, we're proud to be the finest property at The Grand Canyon in Tusayan, Arizona. Moments away from the South Rim entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, our property offers all the amenities you expect and deserve from a fine hotel. We are pleased to provide you with the ultimate Grand Canyon hotel experience. Allow us to anticipate your every need here at the South Rim, the heart of Grand Canyon's National Park. By day, let your senses come alive in the unique ecosystem of the Grand Canyon and the high desert of the Coconino Plateau. By night, come home to the genteel oasis of the Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn. Whether your trip to the canyon is a once-in-a-lifetime adventure or a much needed escape to nature, make us your first and only choice for lodging. Our warm, relaxed ambiance is the perfect end to a day in the magnificent American Southwest. With a variety of dining and entertainment choices on our expansive grounds, we're sure to please guests of all ages. Our array of guest services, magnificent art collection, fireside lounge and Family Fun Center will make us your favorite place to unwind. Our beautifully appointed rooms were designed with your complete comfort in mind. At our Grand Canyon hotel, you can experience an exquisite sunset, relax under the stars and wake up to a spectacular sunrise when lodging with us. The Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn offers an unexpected grandeur, uniquely suited to a Grand Canyon South Rim hotel. We promise you a remarkable, memorable experience at the Grand Canyon, one of the premier world heritage sites. Electric car chargers available. We have a limited number of pet-friendly rooms available. A pet-friendly room reservation is required. The pet friendly rate is $20.00 per day. A refundable cleaning and damage deposit of $50.00 is required upon check-in. If damage occurs or excessive cleaning is needed, the deposit can become non-refundable and the hotel may charge additionally to cover the costs of repair or cleaning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Hotel Tusayan
Best Western Tusayan
Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Tusayan Best Western
Best Western Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing