We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Minneapolis. MN
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value.”
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We were lucky to get a reservation for a last-minute trip to the Grand Canyon. Although it's not right in the park, (about 10 minutes away), this is a convenient location - you can take a free shuttle into the Grand Canyon park from right outside the hotel. Our room was spacious, clean and the bed was pretty good (lots of pillow choices!) There is a nice whirlpool (indoors) which felt great after a long day of hiking. The breakfast buffet (included) was quite extensive with some hearty choices to fuel you up for a day at the Canyon. Our only complaint, the housekeeping staff forgot something every day - no shampoo the first day, no soap the second day, no coffee packet replacement for our in-room coffee pot when I used the only packet on our first morning. All-in-all though we felt it was a good value.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    1,151
    733
    240
    108
See reviews for
1,020
1,132
53
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Capitalism works well near the Grand Canyon National Park. Although there are a few hotels just outside the park boundary on the South Rim, there is apparently enough business to go around in a slumping economy. At $171 per night plus taxes, this is the most I've ever paid for a Holiday Inn Express. Other than the price, this was a typical H.I. Express. Quite good free (hot) breakfast. Watch out for parking (get there early)... when the hotel is full, so goes the parking lot.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddleTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

This hotel is very busy. We stayed for five days and parking lot was full every night. The room is pretty good size ( 2 queen beds). The breakfast was good and it's literally 2 miles from the Grand Canyon Entrance. They have free internet connection but no business center so if you need to print anything better find an internet cafe (there is one not too far from the hotel). I recommend this hotel if you can't find any room inside the National Park. We had great time at Grand Canyon National Park.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We were guests at the Holiday Inn Express this past May 6-7th, 2009.
We were very disappointed, the room was ok, the bathroom so small the door almost hits the toilet!! Housekeeping was terrible, never bothered to refill tissues, even though the cover was removed to show the empty box. The fresh towels that were left were still damp, had to call down for dry ones. The maids had their kids there at work with them sitting in the halls.
Steer clear of the pool & hot tub!! We thought it would be relaxing to use the hot tub after a day of hiking at the canyon. Apparently, the hot tub was over brominated, it gave 3 of us rashes, and our suits were ruined. I called the desk to inform them, they were going to "look into it". I actually had to see a dermatologist when I returned home because I still had the rash. He said it was a typical hot tub burn, where all the oils are stripped from your skin.
I wrote the hotel and corporate hoping to at least be compensated with extra priority points, but they were not interested in pleasing us.
I will not stay in any Holiday Inn Express again, and as far as the Grand Canyon, there were many other hotels to choose from on the same street. The Red Feather was next door and looked lovely.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ConnecticutSwimchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tusayan hotels

NY
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Stayed here because the Grand Canyon Lodges were full. The whole town is overpriced, but that comes with the territory. The staff was helpful, but don't try to check in before 4pm... The pool was nice, but the breakfast was the best of our trip!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmTeeNesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, WI
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

This hotel is what you would expect of a Holiday Inn Express- clean, comfortable rooms of decent size, small sink and bathroom, but a very good continental breakfast selection. Pool and whirlpool were nice. Steeper price, but definitely worth it to be 5 minutes from the Grand Canyon. There's also an express bus in the summer to the Grand Canyon park for all of the hotels in this area, which can be very convenient for hikers. FY"I, the restaurant in the hotel across the highway is excellent, but a bit pricey. Great banjo player.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonerunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

The hotel is very close the grand canyon park. We ended up driving but you could easily walk a block to the IMAX theater and get a shuttle. All the restaurants in Tusayan are right there within walking distance. My only complaint is the breakfast is very crowded and limited selection. We were late the second day (9 AM or so) and most of the food was gone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael2098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,687 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,410 reviews
6.0 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing