We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stayed here after a day at th Grand Canyon. Checked in efficiently although having unloaded all our bags were told we were in the annex of the hotel! Room was large, clean and comfortable- would have liked to have stayed longer! Great location, good wifi and good breakfast although not enough tables. Did feel that the annex part that we stayed in lacked some of the atmosphere we found in the main hotel; that said it was quieter where we were and allowed us to get a good night sleep. Would recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annex if you wasn't a quieter stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travelbug603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,004 - 1,010 of 2,924 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed here the night before mule ride down to Phantom Ranch. Accommodations were good for family of 4. We had to leave before breakfast was served and we asked about getting something simple before leaving (I was thinking about a piece of fruit or a mini-box of cereal) and when the manager heard us ask about this, she immediately came out to offer a to-go-bag breakfast. What a great help!!! We got an apple, a banana, a yogurt, a cinnamon roll and a bagel with cream cheese. A great start to an exciting adventure in the Grand Canyon.
Can't say enough about their helpfulness. Easy access to GC south rim.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BobJag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We have never been to the Grand Canyon before and didnt know what to expect. The little town (street?) that is Tusayan is a mini tourist block. This hotel was the most affordable on the block and in normal circumstances would be the price of a luxury first class hotel. But, since this is the Grand Canyon, all prices (gas station, mcdonalds, etc.) are escalated. The hotel was very busy, the staff were very friendly, our room was clean, beds were very comfortable and soft pillows/blankets/towels. There were many channels on the TV, but the wifi was pretty much nonexistent (there is a note in the room stating why). Overall a very good place to stay if you plan to enjoy Grand Canyon National Park (literally 5-10 minutes down the road)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

If you want a good place to stay without paying higher prices of being inside Grand Canyon this is the place. The rooms are nothing special and a little small but they are ok. Internet is very slow but due to location, a note from the town mayor apologising for this was in the room. The hotel is a couple if miles from park entrance, it is near local restaurants, walking distance. The breakfast is free and gives a good start to the day if you want bagels, cereals etc. eggs looked processed but plenty other choices. Book well in advance as full on both nights and during holiday season.

Room Tip: There is a new block with suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank nickyw61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express offers what you would expect from this company:
1) Nice pool with hot tub
2) Free continental breakfast
3) Free parking
4) Convenient Location
5) Affordable price

We would stay here again on a return trip to Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BelleofBelltown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

This HI Express is par for the course for this brand and is a very nice hotel. I got a room with two queen beds on the 3rd floor on right side of main building which was large and quiet, though I agree with others that the bath is a tad small, yet it is still fine.

Though the rooms are pricey they are priced fairly for the Grand Canyon market since the hotel often booked solid. But I would still rather spend the slightly over $200/night tabs here than give up a whopping 35000 points, since that number of points can work better for the dollar other locations.

AARP savings on this hotel alone more than pays the yearly membership for those over 50.

I noticed ATT gets a better signal than Sprint, since I have phones with both providers. I had no need for WiFi, so I did not experience the issues others did.

The town is very small with scant choices for food and drinks. The hotel directly across the street has a very nice casual bar with a large assortment of premium draft beers and liquors if you are hankering for a nightcap after a long day at the Canyon.

I favor IHG hotels for their quality and consistency and cause rank has privileges. IHG elite members often get early check in and late checkouts that are far better than the standard at other hotels.

Overall this is an excellent hotel I will stay at again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had a family of 5 (two adults and 3 small kids) stay on July 16 and 17th while visiting the Grand Canyon. We had wanted to actually stay inside the park but couldn’t get a room when we booked (5 months out) so we stayed just outside to be as close as possible. The proximity was actually very good. It only took us ~ 15 minutes from our hotel to reach the visitor center. The rooms were very small though. In particular the bathroom felt like a closet. Aside from that, it was a good experience. The breakfast was standard but the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RG_Tex_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear RG_Tex_2014,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We are happy to know that our location suited your needs. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,583 reviews
6 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range: $87 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing