We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect after a day of hiking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Reviewed August 1, 2014

The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express offers what you would expect from this company:
1) Nice pool with hot tub
2) Free continental breakfast
3) Free parking
4) Convenient Location
5) Affordable price

We would stay here again on a return trip to Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BelleofBelltown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,006 - 1,012 of 2,922 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

This HI Express is par for the course for this brand and is a very nice hotel. I got a room with two queen beds on the 3rd floor on right side of main building which was large and quiet, though I agree with others that the bath is a tad small, yet it is still fine.

Though the rooms are pricey they are priced fairly for the Grand Canyon market since the hotel often booked solid. But I would still rather spend the slightly over $200/night tabs here than give up a whopping 35000 points, since that number of points can work better for the dollar other locations.

AARP savings on this hotel alone more than pays the yearly membership for those over 50.

I noticed ATT gets a better signal than Sprint, since I have phones with both providers. I had no need for WiFi, so I did not experience the issues others did.

The town is very small with scant choices for food and drinks. The hotel directly across the street has a very nice casual bar with a large assortment of premium draft beers and liquors if you are hankering for a nightcap after a long day at the Canyon.

I favor IHG hotels for their quality and consistency and cause rank has privileges. IHG elite members often get early check in and late checkouts that are far better than the standard at other hotels.

Overall this is an excellent hotel I will stay at again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had a family of 5 (two adults and 3 small kids) stay on July 16 and 17th while visiting the Grand Canyon. We had wanted to actually stay inside the park but couldn’t get a room when we booked (5 months out) so we stayed just outside to be as close as possible. The proximity was actually very good. It only took us ~ 15 minutes from our hotel to reach the visitor center. The rooms were very small though. In particular the bathroom felt like a closet. Aside from that, it was a good experience. The breakfast was standard but the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RG_Tex_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear RG_Tex_2014,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We are happy to know that our location suited your needs. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

About six miles from the canyon ridge a nice hotel with free parking and complimentary breakfast, pretty much what you would expect from a Holiday Inn, clean nice size rooms with comfortable beds, breakfast was fine basic help yourself style but after being in the States for a while it made a welcome change to a large fry up. Outside of the hotel there were a few eating places and a couple of general stores. If you are going to Grand Canyon you will need to buy a park pass at a cost of $25 per car or you can take a shuttle bus with pick ups close by but you will still need a Canyon pass to show the driver. You can also buy a Pass that gets you into all the parks at a cost of $50 and this will last a year, we used ours at Yosemite, Brice, and Zion parks but it was not valid for Messa Verde.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy-brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear wendy-brian,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear you found the rooms clean and the beds comfortable. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Not a lot of choice in Tusayan but the Holiday Inn was ok for a short stop off. Rooms are large (mini suite) and bathrooms ok but fairly basic with a weak shower. Breakfast is included which is helpful but fairly limited range on offer when we were there. They have apparently extended the range since.

There's not a lot in Tusayan but most people there are just visiting the Grand Canyon which is only 15 mins away and is truly stunning.

Room Tip: This is a quiet spot so I would expect all rooms to be just as quiet as ours, although we were in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear AlanKit,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We're sorry you were not well satisfied with the room you had and our breakfast selections. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

after a long day at the Grand Canyon this hotel offered the perfect night's rest. The beds were very comfortable, check in was smooth. the next day's breakfast was better than expected and the staff are very attentive. I'd definitely stay here again. I agree with another reviewer that the hotel might be difficult to find on a GPS (mine didn't even have Tusayan as an option). However if you are on highway 64 you are going to drive right by it on your way to the Grand Canyon entrance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FineThingsinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed two nights at this Inn in order to be close to the Grand Canyon. We had no problem in getting rooms where we wanted them, thanks to the flexibility of the people at the front desk. The rooms were cozy and quiet. We were surprised to find that the breakfast area was absolutely packed with people when we went down alittle before 9. I had the impression that many of them were in some sort of a tour. It was a battle to eventually get a table, and then we had to fight to get at the food. The Inn has only an indoor pool with an adjoining jacuzzi that didn't work properly. Now that I think about it, I will reduce my overall rating from 4 to 3!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DonaldEgaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear DonaldEgaa,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are pleased you liked the room accommodations you had. Please allow us to apologize for the challenges you had in our breakfast area and our pool facility did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,685 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,755 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,580 reviews
6 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range: $89 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing