We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, very crowded for breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Branchburg, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice room, very crowded for breakfast.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We waited too long to book a room for the Grand Canyon, so by the time we did, the only thing available was a two bedroom suite at $250.00 a night. My daughter thought it was the best hotel, Ever!, because her room had bunk beds and a free X-box.

The room was clean, comfortable and much more space than we needed for a two night stay. Elizabeth at the front desk was very friendly and helpful.

The only drawback was the large crowd for breakfast. Whether it was at 7:00 for a cup of coffee or between 8:00 and 9:00 for breakfast, the room was always packed. If this Holiday Inn is going to continue to offer a free breakfast with a stay, they are going to need to expand the space, at least during peak season.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnspnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments they will be shared with our staff. Unfortunatley we are unable to expand our Breakfast Bar per County rule however, trays are avaiable for our guests to take their breakfast back to their room in the case of overcrowding. Elena Villanueva, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    1,165
    740
    244
    109
See reviews for
1,039
1,141
53
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed there two nights in April. Were out most of the day, came in just to sleep. Breakfast was good, beds were terrible. Old beds, even though the check-in clerk said the rooms had been recently renovated etc. Anyway, we came back each night so tired, we just crashed. Otherwise, all in all a decent place to stay at a decent price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear N G,

Thank you for your candid review. We strive to provide the best possible experience and it is great to read from our guests on how we are doing. We are glad you liked our location, but regret that the bed was not to your liking. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel was a bit pricey but it was a great location after an exhausting hot day. Breakfast was decent and had enough choices for our family. The front desk staff was friendly and gave us suggestions for restaurants in the area for lunch and dinner. The air conditioner really cooled us off after a hot day in the sun. In the morning, we saw a moose by the parking lot. Very exciting for our family!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank would be j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Agree with the others that location is great, near to Grand Canyon and I stayed 2 nights in this hotel.

Breakfast was basic.
They have laundry machine , and worked well ,

Wifi is available, but since my room was located in the back corner, I had to go to the lobby to get wifi signal
Bedroom is maintained, as Holiday Inn Express standard.

Shops / restaurants surrounding hotels close early and as it is a small places, there is not so many activities you can do in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horndean, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is quite an expensive hotel but you are paying a premium for the fantastic location. All facilities you would expect from a HI. Breakfast is advertised as 'full English' - being from England this is not what I would expect for a full English - they offered bacon and omelettes as a hot option and plenty of pastries, cereals and breaded products. More than enough to fill you up but not a full English. The rooms are large but have very thin walls - we could hear the toilet flush and people talking next door. Internet is VERY slow and the reception on the TV is intermittent but this pales into insignificance next to the fabulous location.

Room Tip: Don't try to check in before 4pm as the rooms will not be ready
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This is pretty much your standard Holiday Inn express. You're paying a bit of a premium because of the closeness to the Grand Canyon, and after a tiring day of walking around the rim, you are pretty glad that you don't have to drive too far to get back to your hotel.

My family of four (two kids aged 13 and 9) only stayed for one night on June 22 as a stop from the Phoenix to Las Vegas drive. We were not asking for much more than a place to fall asleep that was close to the Canyon, and this certainly fit the profile.

The room was pretty basic. Beds were comfortable and we didn't see any problems with cleanliness. Electrical outlets were scarce though. In this day and age of digital toys, we couldn't find enough extra outlets to charge all of our phones and iProducts overnight. It was a bit loud, as there was some sort of cosplay road rally type thing going on. Nothing too obnoxious, but you can certainly be woken up by the commotion in the hallways and the doors of the other rooms opening and closing.

Breakfast was good. It was the standard eggs, sausage, continental breakfast food, and certainly enjoyable enough.

I will definitely try to stay here the next time we travel to the Grand Canyon.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear 555_95472,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast and for finding our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the electrical outlet. We will address this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

At $180 this hotel was expensive for what it is, but worth it to be so close to the Grand Canyon. The room was spacious but there was no fridge or microwave. Breakfast was good with bacon and pancakes, yogurt, muffins etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolina46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,707 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,429 reviews
6.0 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,954 reviews
5.8 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing