We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What were they thinking?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have stayed at HI Expresses all over the U.S. on business and pleasure. I booked online through their website for this stay and assumed that I would be getting the usual great king bed suite layout that I have stayed in before. Unfortunately when I arrived at the front desk, I was told that our room would be across the street, in a building that appeared to be some previous hotel that had gone out of business.

Very Dark: There was no natural light in the hallways and the lighting that was turned on was not very bright. In the room, the bathroom was in the center of the room, so the sofa and desk had no access to window light. This also made the back of the room hot as well as dark since the A/C unit was up by the window in the bedroom.

Service: There simply wasn't any as the only employees that I ever saw in this building was the breakfast attendant and cleaning person.

This building had its own breakfast area with 4 tables that were always full. It also had its own tiny pool. The water was too hot to be a pool, and they jets were too weak to be a spa. It was more like an oversized bathtub and the single dim light in the corner of the pool room made the place feel creepy.

Having said all that I can still give this place 3 stars, because it had the usual touches that you would expect from HIE: clean rooms, fresh duvet, great shower head, and the same breakfast quality you get at every HIE.

The main building had a nice pool and spa area, large breakfast area, and felt like a hotel should. If you stay here, make sure you know which building your room will be in.

Room Tip: Just make sure you know which building your room is in. Also note, that rooms with balcony have doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Yodman,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences and on this occasion we apologize we did not exceed your expectations with our facilities and the service you received. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

We value your comments and hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,248 - 1,254 of 2,924 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great location, 5 min drive to south entrance of the park. When we arrived our room wasn't ready so they upgraded us to a suite and checked us in straight away (im a holiday inn member what ever that means). Breakfast was fine, the coffee not but no big deal. They have a spa (I presume for suites only as it's in a different building) so after your long day of hiking you can go and have a therapeutic relax in the heated spa - amazing. There is NO WHERE good to eat in town so don't expect nice, small town diners or cafes, everything is overpriced and mediocre at best.

Room Tip: Book a suite or ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is close to the park....that could explain the price. Price was more more than you would expect to pay for this type hotel. But for the convenience I guess it wasn't that bad. Hotel is dated but well kept. Room size was better than expected. Mattress need to be changed out in the room we stayed in. Breakfast was good. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cad357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed there for two nights in winter and I think we payed about $70-80 per night. f Considering the location (just a few minutes from the entrance of the park), I think it was a good deal. The room was clean and relatively comfortable. The staff was nice and helpful.

There was no microwave and no fridge in the room.

The quality of the food served at breakfast was not great.

The pool was moldy smelling - we decided not to swim.

Room Tip: You may need to upgrade if you want a microwave or a fridge in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Marie B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We strive to ensure all of our guests needs are met and we are pleased to know that our location and the service provided by our staff were to your liking and contributed to making your stay that much more comfortable. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with the room amenities, food served and the cleanliness of our our facility. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were upgraded to a room with microwave, fridge and pillowtop mattresses because we are Reward Members. The room was great, with a couple of caveats: WiFi was nonexistent and an exercise in frustration to try to use. Replacement carafe on coffee maker did not fit properly, coffee did not drain into carafe, and when I removed carafe from the unit, trapped coffee spilled all over tray. Housekeeping did not clean the tray or provide more coffee. Not a deal breaker, as coffee is available in the breakfast room. Room really does not have convenient outlets for the coffee maker or cell phone chargers. Breakfast room was very busy, but staff kept up pretty well. Price and convenience to the Grand Canyon make this hotel a great deal. Other than the coffee situation, housekeeping did a great job in cleaning and stocking towels, shampoo, etc.

Room Tip: Don't expect to sleep late here. Families with kids make a lot of noise in the morning. (They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DallasGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Easy check in, clean and pleasant room in this large and very busy hotel.Staff made check in of two tired and weary ladies easy and comfortable. Food was good.lots of amenities nearby. Easy access to the National Park.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tigi_Higgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, as all the accommodation inside the park was fully booked.

This is probably the most expensive HIE we have ever stayed in! We had booked a junior suite (which was probably also the smallest suite we have ever stayed in, and not a very well laid out room). Our room was in what seemed like an annex building across the road from the main hotel, I am guessing this used to be another hotel which HIE bought. It was pretty quiet as there weren't many rooms on that side, which was good, but it also meant that as this annex had no reception there were never any staff around.

There is plenty of parking available. Breakfast seemed to have less choice than other HIEs we have stayed in. There was a tiny spa pool (that we never saw anyone use!).

The hotels location in Tusayan is close to restaurants etc. (Tusayan seems to be just one main road). It took about 5 minutes drive to get to the the park gate entrance, so very convenient for that.

This would not be my preferred choice if we were to return to the area, but it served its purpose.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gill_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear gill_n,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the layout of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,583 reviews
6 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range: $87 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing