We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not the nicest HI Express, but the location is great and it is clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Monticello, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not the nicest HI Express, but the location is great and it is clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Make no mistake--you are staying here because of the close proximity to the south rim of the Grand Canyon. The rooms were very basic and definitely did not have luxurious appointments. However, they were clean and we felt safe. The night before we had stayed at a five star hotel casino in Vegas for the same price, so I think that stark contrast contributed to our ho-hum opinion of the Holiday Inn Express.

Don't count on arriving late and having a lot of dining choices. The nearby Wendy's closed at 8 pm. The McDonalds near the hotel was one of our only choices. It was totally overpriced--items that are $1 at most other McDonalds were $2.99 at this location. Basically, everything cost more than it should just because of the location. You are a captive audience, though. There are no other services for about 50 miles.

Breakfast at the Holiday Inn Express was okay. Nothing fancy, but we didn't leave hungry.

We didn't use any other amenities at the hotel. For a basic stay near the Grand Canyon, this will get the job done, but it's overpriced for what it is.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D2Plus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear D2Plus3,

Thank you for the detailed review of our hotel. It is good to know that you liked our location and our rooms worked fine for your needs. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments for review.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    1,058
    691
    222
    98
See reviews for
919
1,053
47
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked a king mini suite which was spacious and very clean.The breakfast was as expected, quite o.k. but a bit frugal. My rating would be better if not for:
The matress was so soft I felt as if I was on a sailing ship.
The price was too high for this category hotel (partially my fault, I booked the week before).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophievdS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear SophievdS,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. It's nice to hear that the room accommodations lived up to your expectations. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had because of the room conditions. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. The issues you have raised will be addressed and appropriate actions will be taken. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The staff was really nice.
The food was very yummy and varied; but breakfast was always crowded. There's lots of tables, though, so check toward the back. There's a room back there most don't notice.
The rooms were comfortable and the heater/AC worked well. It was always clean, even though it wasn't made up yet when we got back to the room about 4pm.
There's free Wi-Fi, but it is spotty (slow), so I didn't even try after a couple attempts. I just checked my email at the front. If you have to have free Wi-Fi and you don't have 4G, stay somewhere else or ask for a room close to the front.
This is a convenient location and we would go back next time we go to the canyon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Great location just outside south entrance to park. Recently upgraded rooms (at least in rear building). Excellent staff that repeatedly worked to meet all expectations. All at a very budget-friendly cost. It will be my hotel of choice on next visit!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our room was average - nothing remarkable, a little rundown, but more or less comfortable. The front office staff were very helpful with giving us information on visiting the Grand Canyon. The breakfast in the hotel is very good. The hotel is very conveniently located - it is about a 5 minute drive to the national park entrance, and about another 10 minutes to get to the visitor centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maheshwari29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Maheshwari29,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We booked this property when we could not get one in the village at a decent price. This is close to entrance and park-- as well restaurants .the rooms were very clean updated. Would stay again. Great breakfast!!

Room Tip: Pleased with king rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel seems to be existing on location alone. The rooms are small, sparsely equipped, and lacking Internet connectivity (though they advertise free wi-fi). They overcharged us from the agreed upon rate, though they did refund the difference when we noticed it. Can't recommend this one. Breakfast room was extremely over crowded.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILPat_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear ILPat_12,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are relieved that the hotel refunded the overcharge in your bill. Nevertheless, we appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tusayan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
6.0 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 5 in Tusayan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing