We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a holiday inn express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Looked at best western & was deterred that it was a little more expensive & it was having serious Internet connections. We found the HI express to be a standard hotel...with no frills but basic standard, clean accommodation. The one negative was the paper thin walls where we could hear the muffled conversation & tv of our neighbors.

My parting tip is to have dinner at Coronado restaurant at the Best Western...the menu was surprisingly tasty & fresh!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camnicsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Camnicsydney,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your recent stay with us. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. I hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,852)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,262 - 1,268 of 2,852 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

In my opinion, with the nearby lodges in the park, this Holiday Inn must have felt it did not need to try too hard. The rooms were pretty basic, not a lot of room, no fridge or micro, and poor internet. TV had just a handful of channels, and the bathroom was small. Overall our stay was comfortable enough, and the staff were friendly, helpful, and ambitious. The breakfast in the morning was excellent, and the attendant on duty was working hard to keep it that way with the large number of guests there at that point in time. Overall a good place to stay, but I will try somewhere else If I pass through again.

Room Tip: There is a newer outbuilding likely open in the Summer. Might be worth inquiring about.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Widmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear WidmarshSK,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is typical and very good HIExpress where we have stayed durin our GC exploration. Perfect location, great mini-suite. Very loud, anyway, you are in Express. Alnmost no internet connection because of the issues in the town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alexzhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

we stayed here as apart of our road trip from Salt lake city UT to Phoenix AZ. The day we stayed it was snowing heavily and we reached to hotel late. Why? because previously we were going from Grand Canyon East entrance while driving from Page AZ. While driving on highway 89, way to Grand Canyon National PArk came on highway 64 west and we took right and message was road closed after 25 miles. I thought it might open till Holiday Inn. Because sign did not mentione that we can not access any services using this route. I assumed that Tusayan would be accessible because no sign like "No Access to Tusayan". Anyway we started our journey and it started snow after 20 minutes or so we reached to park entrance and still no sign I asked park ranger and she said very bluntly No, YOU Can not go from here, I asked and reply was roead was not plowed. We have to come back and make loop via Flagstaff and Williams because of snow and weather it took us 5 good hours. I will reccommend that business associate of Tusayan shuold be very proactive in winters and put the sign on highway 89/64W junction about the accessibility.
Big relief was we reached hotel safly and got upgrade. But I found this hotel walls like paper thin all talking, phone ring travel room to room.
Breakfast amazing...Hot cinnamon rolls I liked it.
It is very closed to Grand Canyon National Park.

Room Tip: This is a big hotel, I think they have 3-4 separate building. Do not take out your luggage till you...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Amit j,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast.

However. We’re sorry about the paper thin walls. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The holiday inn is a good option if you have to stay near the Grand Canyon. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable, with a big LCD tv, coffee machine.... There is an indoor swimming pool and Idro-massage. For breakfast you have a wide choice (pancakes, sandwiches, fruit, cereals, sweets). Recommended even if for the same price I would choose the best western( I have been also there), because the breakfast is better and the hotel has more facilities( especially for dining).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AleBoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We visited the South Rim of the Grand Canyon the end of February, 2013 and enjoyed staying in a spacious, comfortable suite. It was warm and comfortable. The only negative is the breakfast area was not opened until 6:30 am. This impacted our plans to reach the canyon before sunrise at 7 am so we skipped the breakfast. An earlier breakfast (at least for a bagel and coffee) is a needed addition.

Room Tip: The corner suites are very comfortable and quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TucsonHikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We drove over to the Canyon from St George for an overnight stay and used HIE for our Hotel. The hotel is a bit dated but they are working to upgrade it. They put us in an upper floor room which was clean and quiet with good easy access. Value for the area was great as it is just a short drive to the Canyon park gates. The breakfast was better than other free breakfasts we have had on this holiday. The 3 and 1/2 rating would be correct all thing considered.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garth Stanley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,724 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,489 reviews
6.0 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range: $117 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing