We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Grand Canyon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Grand Canyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great hotel close to the south rim,a little overpriced because of the location,staff very friendly and helpful,good breakfast and facilities,and most importantly a nice warm room for when you return from the canyon! It was snowy and -10 when we where there so it was much needed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarketravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    1,058
    691
    222
    98
See reviews for
920
1,053
47
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nothing special - just a Holiday Inn Express (and an older one at that!), does everything well and nothing exceptionally. It's within short walking distance to all the places in Tusayan, so a very convenient base to explore the Grand Canyon.

It is a bit of a shock to pay more than US$200 for a Holiday Inn Express though. I understand it's remote Grand Canyon prices and for two nights in a special place we were happy with that. We were in a "suite" and whilst nice, it's nothing more than what you'd find in a good motel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitkat271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Kitkat271,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the rates. We will look into this point We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennant Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Not sure if it was the actual standard of the express accommodation model, but the cafe style breakfast format wasn't what I was looking for. Normally, I like to grab a coffee and go, so this would have been ideal. But with a teenager in tow, a sit-down breakfast was required.

Room was comfortable and warm. It is winter here, and 7000 feet high.

Room Tip: For location, ideal. Maybe next time I'd stay in flagstaff for the accomodation standard, and dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg132009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

With my experience at several IHG properties, I was keeping the lowest expectations from this Grand canyon property. But i was pleasantly surprised to find that the property was quite good. Check-in was smooth and room was very cozy. Breakfast was good and no shortages. Property well located. The day we landed, it was minus 12. we missed going to Imax. But after visit to Visitors Center, we feel we saved the money as they too showed a movie- gratis.Mather Point is a must.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darewalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express was the perfect spot to spend a couple of nights while exploring the canyon. From the other reviews it is was made out to be very busy and run down, but that wans't my experience! The summer time is the prime travel season for the Canyon, so no matter where you go, it will be full of tourists. This hotel offers everything you need, a comfortable night stay, free breakfast and friendly staff. The TV's and other electronics maybe a little "outdated" but come on do you go to the Grand Canyon to watch an LCD TV???

Visit during the winter, there are small crowds and yes it is colder so bring a warm jacket (low temps well below freezing and snow) and the views are even better with a dusting of snow. If you are going to come in the summer, be prepared for crowds. Also food is expensive but I found out they have to truck in water and everything else so that adds to the price of everything, keep that in mind! Over all it was a great stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We arrived 12/30/12 to stay for two nights.
The rooms were fine, basic & clean.
The breakfast room was big but not big enough for the amount of people in the hotel, we made breakfast & ate it in our room.
No microwave or mini fridge in room, which is not ideal when traveling with a toddler & baby.
Room didn't get serviced despite being asked three times ( staff knocked on door twice early in the morning before we left to GC, once late afternoon, when toddler was sleeping so said not to worry )
Hotel is in a good location as a short drive to the Grand Canyon.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nlb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Nlb74,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am pleased that you liked our hotel location and your room accommodation. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. It is our regret that our breakfast area did not live up to your expectations and that your room was not serviced. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intervale, NH
Level Contributor
240 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Yes it was off-season but the room with 2 Queens was only $63 on a Friday night. The place is clean close to the canyon and practically next door to the IMAX Theater.
My only complaint was the breakfast room although quite large was not big enough to hold all the guests staying there. We got our food and ate in the lobby. We noticed several tables where people were done eating but just sat there and yakked. One table of 3 stayed there for over an hour after they were done, closed the place down when they could have given up their seats for others waiting, really rude.
Woman working the breakfast room was very cheerful and accommodating, don't know how she can stay so upbeat with such a crowd.
There is an indoor pool and jacuzzi but we were too tired after our drive from LV to take advantage of it.
Noisy guests who let doors slam are a peeve, must be real fun in high season.
We had no problems with the WiFi but they did post a letter from the town's mayor saying the entire town is experiencing these difficulties so don't blame the hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor away from parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeaganLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
6.0 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 5 in Tusayan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing