We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

A very comfortable stay, great location to Canyon allowing you to go and watch sunrise and then back for breakfast. Breakfast is what we discovered to be standard HI Express breakfast which is adiquate with variety for most. No drapes on windows meaning the rooms are light and pricacy except for net curtains. Don't go to the Imax until checked in a s you get a discount voucher.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    1,143
    725
    238
    108
See reviews for
1,006
1,127
52
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
298 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

It was much more expensive than you would expect to have in the winter at the Grand Canyon. I went down to Flagstaff and stayed at an equally nice La Quinta for $32 less per night.

The hotel was located in the small town of Tusayan, which is a very short drive from the Grand Canyon South Rim entrance station. It has an indoor pool and hot tub, and that is a plus. The hallways, rooms, and lobby were all in good shape. No complaints there. There was a huge pile of dirty hotel laundry outside of my room when I arrived, made the hotel appear untidy. The breakfast area, while very crowded in the morning, was large and had a good selection of food. If the management is reading this, they should be aware that people were taking a good amount of food out of the breakfast room for what I suppose would be snacks later on. You could ask people not to remove food from the breakfast room and save a lot of money, and maybe not charge customers so much money to stay there.

Overall, I was satisfied with the hotel, but please, management, could you clean the parking lot of snow and ice! At $130 a night, I would have expected to have been able to feel safe walking to my car. Why do you not clean away the snow and ice?

In consideration of the hotel in relation to other hotels of its class, I give it a four stars rating.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karoleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

best deal in town for hotel and breakfast. nice clean rooms, comfortable beds, internet. Friendly staff. breakfast was a busy place, staff kept up with demand, Bacon (for daddy) pancakes for daughter, wide variety for hotel breakfast. Hotel was decorated for Christmas, lights outside were beautiful and stood out along the road. great mexican restaurant a couple doors down.

Room Tip: Great mexican restaurant a couple doors down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Traveling with 4 adults we had 2 King suites. Upon check in they had our rooms next to each other. Rooms were very clean, beds very comfy and staff courteous and friendly. Wonderful free breakfast buffet. Decorated outside with lots of Christmas lights, very pretty. We had 20+ inches of snow and sidewalks and roads were cleared quickly. Free wifi, not as fast as home but pretty quick. We would definetly stay here again. Area restaurants, McDonalds, Wendy's higher than normal. We had a great meal in the Best Western Sports Pub next door (within walking distance) with average prices and highly recommended by the front desk of the Holiday Inn Express. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwaldron98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel is very comfortable and the personnel is friendly. I stayed in one of the mini suites in the side building and had the best experience in a Holiday Inn so far. The price was very good as well. The furniture is made from local wood and quite unique. The style of the decoration is quite tasteful and I felt very comfortable. The pool in the main building and the big jacuzzi in the suite building were both pretty good. Breakfast was hot and well prepared. I had a great time overall and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the mini suites to get some extra perks like a balcony and separate living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joerg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

They have fridge and microwave in the room. WiFi was alright, not the best/worst. They serve breakfast but I'm not argue how good it's. Staffs were professionaland friendly. Check-in was fast. Looked lovely with holiday decoration. The lobby was cozy.

The 2 problem I encountered were the computer at the lobby not working too well and there weren't too many options for food in the neighborhood. They are on the pricey side, so was the grocery store.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rising Sun, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and stayed here for a week and we were satisfied enough. We stayed here last November 30 - December 6th. The hotel staff are very accommodating. The food was alright. No complains when it comes to our room, it's big, clean and the bed is so comfy. We would love to go back here someday soon. The hotel is also surrounded with restaurants and gift shops. It's very close to Grand Canyon National Park and other tourist attractions.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,670 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tusayan
2,370 reviews
6.0 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, IHG, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing