We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Rim Shot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Rim Shot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express at is one of a handful of hotels in Tusayan that offer great access to the South rim of the Grand Canyon. The setting is spectacular. We stayed 2 days in July, 2012. While the rates were a bit high, they were competitive with the other accomodations in Tusayan. A decent breakfast was included in the hotel fee. We stayed in one of the king suites which were located in a seperate building from the main desk and hotel. It was a great space with amenities that would allow for an extended stay. Our only issue was that the beds were very soft...not really to our liking...but we were comfortable none the less.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguru54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    1,022
    673
    215
    97
See reviews for
888
1,009
47
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was my first trip to the Grand Canyon! This hotel is Less then 10 min away. I was very happy during my stay, the customer service was great and they're breakfast was very good. The rooms were clean. The pool was not that big but it was heated. Definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julsunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorsville, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed in the King mini suite for 2 nights which was located in a different building away from the main busy building, which I was thankful for because it seemed more quiet than the hussle and bussle in the main building. However the pool is a ways away in the main building, but there was a hot tub (jets not powerful at all) in the suites building which felt great after a very chilly day in the Grand Canyon. This buiding also had it's own breakfast lobby as well with cheese omlets, bacon, biscuits & gravy, cereal, a simple and quick pancake maker that does all the work for you and makes as many pancakes as you want, yogurt, juices and more. The wetbar was perfect for what I needed it for (a sink with a counter) since we brought our slow cooker to cook dinner in. I found the bed to be very comfortable, camparable to our bed at home, and it was nice to unwind on the sofa watching tv after a long day of driving.
I'm happy with our choice and will stay here again if we ever return due to it's proximity to the South Rim. I debated on staying further away not in Tusayan to save a little cash but after road tripping in from the north and out to the south, I'm glad we didn't stay further away because everywhere else really is quite a drive in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here for only one night after visiting Grand Canyon NP. We reserved a Standard King room. At arrival, for no reason, they told us we've been upgraded to a suite. OK.

Big dissapointment!!!!

Instead of getting one regular size room that you would expect from this hotel categorie, we got a room with two very small rooms in It. One with a a couch/TV/desk, the other with the king bed that hardly fitted in It.

Decor is old and cold. Carpet was dirty. Linens were old. This hotel needs remodeling.

We went to have dinner at the restaurent at the Best Western next door. We should have stayed there. I don't know if the room would have been better but at least there is a good restaurant on the property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zath-Trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hotel has a great location. Check in was done well considering everone came aat once (after sunset at the park). Our room opened onto the parking lot, noisy & a view of the front end of a truck wasn't the best. The pool was nice but, the hot tub was hot water only, no bubbles.There was a timer on the wall, it didn't work. When an attendent or worker came in he said the never had bubbles (then why a timer?). Breakfast was a laugh. When it got close to closing time they turned off lights & machines as people were using them Then they put up ropes that completely closed off the area (& exit). Hard to get out if you are holding coffee etc. and have to move a post. 1 ice machine (with a big sign- don't fill your cooler here). If we come back we will stay at another place at this location Skined my ankle on the metal frame of the bed. .

Room Tip: must be a better room in another hotel at this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rufusrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Good place to stop for a night to see the Grand Canyon!
What more can I say about this Motel?
The rooms were pretty big room for a good price. It was clean and okay...
The breakfast was at best average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loooooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bet Haemek - Israel
Level Contributor
135 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Good place and very close to the main entrance iof the Grand Canyon.
Very busy but he[ful reception; automatic check out.
Nice breakfast.
Some nice restaurants walking distance from the hotel.
Most important: within 10 minutes you are inside the G.C.National Park!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rudie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 stars 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
6.0 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 5 in Tusayan
3.5 of 5 stars 2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing