We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big dissapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Quebec City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big dissapointment”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here for only one night after visiting Grand Canyon NP. We reserved a Standard King room. At arrival, for no reason, they told us we've been upgraded to a suite. OK.

Big dissapointment!!!!

Instead of getting one regular size room that you would expect from this hotel categorie, we got a room with two very small rooms in It. One with a a couch/TV/desk, the other with the king bed that hardly fitted in It.

Decor is old and cold. Carpet was dirty. Linens were old. This hotel needs remodeling.

We went to have dinner at the restaurent at the Best Western next door. We should have stayed there. I don't know if the room would have been better but at least there is a good restaurant on the property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zath-Trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    1,151
    733
    240
    108
See reviews for
1,020
1,132
53
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hotel has a great location. Check in was done well considering everone came aat once (after sunset at the park). Our room opened onto the parking lot, noisy & a view of the front end of a truck wasn't the best. The pool was nice but, the hot tub was hot water only, no bubbles.There was a timer on the wall, it didn't work. When an attendent or worker came in he said the never had bubbles (then why a timer?). Breakfast was a laugh. When it got close to closing time they turned off lights & machines as people were using them Then they put up ropes that completely closed off the area (& exit). Hard to get out if you are holding coffee etc. and have to move a post. 1 ice machine (with a big sign- don't fill your cooler here). If we come back we will stay at another place at this location Skined my ankle on the metal frame of the bed. .

Room Tip: must be a better room in another hotel at this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rufusrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Good place to stop for a night to see the Grand Canyon!
What more can I say about this Motel?
The rooms were pretty big room for a good price. It was clean and okay...
The breakfast was at best average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loooooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bet Haemek - Israel
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Good place and very close to the main entrance iof the Grand Canyon.
Very busy but he[ful reception; automatic check out.
Nice breakfast.
Some nice restaurants walking distance from the hotel.
Most important: within 10 minutes you are inside the G.C.National Park!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here October 2012 for 2 nights in midst of 5 night trip through Arizona. Nice Holiday Inn Express property. Easy/friendly check in. We were in the "second" building behind the Red Feather Lodge and our room was a suite with living area/television/work desk. Bedroom had a small balcony and was quite comfortable and the quarters were clean. Nice breakfast area in the morning with breakfast typical for Holiday Inn Express. Would stay here again if in the south rim area. Everything was as it should be, clean, houskeeping daily, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosita1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is hotel is centrally located to restaurants, shopping, the National Geographic Visitors Center and the Grand Canyon National Park. The hotel itself is very tired looking but the staff is very helpful. We used points to book our room and received a free upgrade to a kids suite, which my sons enjoyed. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was very small and looked gross/dirty, not enough towels either. The hotel was very busy with a bus tour even though it was off season but we were out hiking for most of the time so it didn't matter. The breakfast was okay, stick to the cold items as the hot things were really gross.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the4taals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is not the best HI Express I have stayed in. Just a run of the mill, average place. Room was on the small side along with being dated. Bathroom was also very dated and a little strange. Wall between sink area and bedroom area did not go all the way to the ceiling making light in the bedroom area if someone used the bathroom and turned on the light. At least I was "upgraded" to a Priority Member room which had a microwave and fridge. Funny chairs at the tight fitting table in the room since arms on chairs were too low to actually rest your arms on them. Wifi was not good, very slooooow making connections sometimes drop. I also think the 2 queen beds were on the small side, not sure if they were in fact queen beds. In the open closet area there was not even a luggage rack so you had to put your suitcase on the floor and this in a room for their best, loyal members? Gave an average rating because at least the breakfast was pretty good with very good cinnamin rolls. Also efficient breakfast staffing made for free tables when needed even with a pretty big, probably full hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PopTopBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,410 reviews
6.0 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing