We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected surprise with an upgraded room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise with an upgraded room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is an older hotel, however, it's clean and the bedding is updated. (the only reason, I'm giving an average and not very good on cleanliness is because I found black hairs on the toliet area) Our king size bed was very comfortable. Upon arrival, there was a large group unloading from a tour bus and we had difficulty getting into the lobby and through the halls. When we reached our room, we were surprised by how large it was. The master bedroom was separated from the smaller bedroom. In the small bedroom, there was a loft bed. Bottom bunk slept two people and top bunk slept one. I'm posting pictures so that you can get an idea of this room. This would be a great room to have if you are staying multiple days in the area. There was a small kitchen with a refrigerator and microwave. Lots of kitchen cabinets, but there were no dishes or kitchen items available. The breakfast they offer is the standard breakfast offered. The location was fantastic and the entrance to Grand Canyon was just about 10 minutes away. If we ever come back to the area, we would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ainchsmom3x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    1,105
    706
    225
    102
See reviews for
960
1,092
49
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

A little bit run down for Holiday Inn standards. The hotel could use some updating and attention.More housekeeping staff would be helpful since they were still cleaning at 6PM and leaving dirty towels in the hallway. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good. The location is excellent-just a short ways from the Canyons entrance.

Room Tip: Ask for any room except for the one next to the Kids Suite!! A kids group were doing exercises in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in July 2012. The wife and I had driven from Las Vegas that afternoon, with the intention of staying overnight, then touring the Grand Canyon in the morning, and this hotel fit those needs quite well. The price was steep ($200 for 1 night), but I think that's just how prices are in this area during the summer months.

Check-In
Smooth sailing - we arrived late (around 9PM) but had no issues with a late check-in. 5 minutes, tops.

Lodging
The rooms are nothing special in my opinion, but there were no issues either. The entire hotel has a "western" touch to it, as do most of the restaurants and shops in the Tusayan area.

Amenities
The complimentary breakfast was a plus, as we were looking to get to the canyon as soon as possible. They had a pool, but we arrived too late and left too early to take advantage of it.

Location
The hotel is easy to find at your enter Tusayan from the south (on the left), and is near many local restaurants for your dining pleasure. It is about 10 minutes south of the park, and 20 minutes south of the visitors center.

Summary
We didn't stay long, but this hotel met our needs perfectly. While there are more specialty lodging options in the area, this fit our needs because of our tight timetable. If you're looking to do a quick overnight/stop-through of the Grand Canyon, consider this hotel for your overnight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gentryst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saginaw
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We wanted a place that was easy to get to, less expensive than staying in The Canyon and included breakfast in the morning. The Holiday Inn Express met all of our expectations. Besides getting everything we wanted, the staff greeted us and gave us many helpful suggestions about The Canyon. They treated us like family and offered us takeouts to carry with us into the canyon to snack on. I would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Let them know what you need and they will try to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msuchocki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We weren't expecting much and it probably met those expectations. Room was small-ish but adequate for one night. Service was on the whole pretty good. Breakfast was average but enough variety to find something. For it's location we thought it was OK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

If you're visiting Grand Canyon then the Holiday Inn express is in the perfect location. Close to the park entrance and only 10 minutes drive from Tusayan airport for helicopter trips etc. The welcome was warm and friendly and the rooms are simple, clean and comfortable. Buffet breakfast is included with a decent choice of hot and cold food. My only slight negative was the paper plates and plastic cutlery (really? in 2012??) Plenty of free parking and there are restaurants within easy walking distance for dinner. What more do you need?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Actuallys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Room was big enough to hand out it and quiet. It was clean and in a good location. The breakfast had what you would expect for continental plus hot food-eggs, bacon, pancakes, sausage, and some awesome cinnamon rolls. Staff was also very helpful. They even told us a secret about a second breakfast area in the Suites behind the main hotel that serves the same food but is quieter. Located across the street from the Purple Free Shuttle Pick up for Grand Canyon and only a couple of miles away if you want to drive. Local food is terrible and expensive. MacDonald's was at least what you would expect. Only friendly people we met were at the hotel and the General Store- be aware they close early (8pm) but have everything you might need.

Room Tip: We stayed on 2nd floor near elevator and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripChickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
6.0 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
5.8 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing