We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Reviewed October 11, 2012

If you're visiting Grand Canyon then the Holiday Inn express is in the perfect location. Close to the park entrance and only 10 minutes drive from Tusayan airport for helicopter trips etc. The welcome was warm and friendly and the rooms are simple, clean and comfortable. Buffet breakfast is included with a decent choice of hot and cold food. My only slight negative was the paper plates and plastic cutlery (really? in 2012??) Plenty of free parking and there are restaurants within easy walking distance for dinner. What more do you need?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-Actuallys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,356 - 1,362 of 2,880 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

Room was big enough to hand out it and quiet. It was clean and in a good location. The breakfast had what you would expect for continental plus hot food-eggs, bacon, pancakes, sausage, and some awesome cinnamon rolls. Staff was also very helpful. They even told us a secret about a second breakfast area in the Suites behind the main hotel that serves the same food but is quieter. Located across the street from the Purple Free Shuttle Pick up for Grand Canyon and only a couple of miles away if you want to drive. Local food is terrible and expensive. MacDonald's was at least what you would expect. Only friendly people we met were at the hotel and the General Store- be aware they close early (8pm) but have everything you might need.

Room Tip: We stayed on 2nd floor near elevator and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadTripChickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This stay was part of a road trip through Utah and Arizona's national parks and this hotel was the most disappointing we experienced.
The location is good, just a couple of miles from the national park entrance and the rooms were clean. That's where the positive comments stop though.
We were not located in the main building, but a secondary one across the street. If your staying there you really will feel like a second class citizen as the facilities and amenities are poor. You have to walk across the street to the main hotel to use the pool (which meant I didnt bother). There is a "spa" pool in the second building but this really was an oversized hot tub.
The rooms were clean and it was nice to have a separate sitting area, but they were quite dated.
Breakfast in building 2 wasnt great either, as there is only space for three tables in the breakfast area and a row of stools against a breakfast bar. Disappointing.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Artdecolou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Pocahontas1999,

Thank you for your feedback and choosing our hotel. We are delighted that our convenient location worked so well and that you found our rooms clean. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your feedback is very important to us. We are deeply sorry the room allocation, facilities, amenities and breakfast fell below your expectations. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences for us to improve for our next guest or your next visit. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We weren't able to get lodging in the park for our trip to the Grand Canyon, but Tusayan is just a few miles from the park entrance. Definitely overpriced, but so is everything else in the area. We had a King Suite, and it was in sort of an annex building behind the main hotel. The room was fine; clean and comfortable. The bedroom area pretty much only fit the bed, nightstands, and the television, but we used the sitting area to store our luggage. The bathroom area was also on the small side, but it was sufficient. Breakfast had enough of a selection to get us going in the morning, and they had breakfast set up in our building as well as the main hotel. You're definitely paying more for the convenience of the location and not anything special for the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScreamingDingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a very disappointing stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites in Tusyan. We booked a King Suite which is normally a quite nice room. When we checked in we were assigned to a room in a secondary building which they must have bought from its previous owner to expand their capacity. The room they called a King Suite was certainly what we have experienced in the past the sitting room was like a cave and the bathroom was small. The hallways were very noisy and even though we were at the end of the hall we coule hear noise from the breakfast area. Doors slammed continuously.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank johnkautzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear johnkautzman,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Please allow me to apologize for the issues you had with your room accommodations and any inconvenience the noise may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Reminded me more of a Howard Johnson's. The place is a pit, the rooms are small and the prices are high. But I don't know that any other spot is better. If you don't make reservations a year ahead, then this is probably as good as it gets at the Grand Canyon. Breakfast was acceptable and the location was great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitchenqueen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear JRR_Omaha,

thank you for staying with us and posting a review of your stay. It's good you liked our location. However I apologize for not being able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations with your room accommodation. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Comfortable accommodations, comfortable bed. Don't expect much more than this. It was quiet, clean and not very far from the park entrance. Sheets and towels were soft and pillows were adequate. The room had a coffee pot, hair dryer, and various other amenities. Don't wait to buy your groceries until you arrive. Buy them in Flagstaff or some other bigger town where the prices are better and store them in a cheap cooler. It will be worth the savings.

Room Tip: Request top floor for the quieter rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SummerTraveler34678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,606 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,742 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,540 reviews
6.0 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range: $114 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing