We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Choice for Grand Canyon Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
northeast u.s.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Choice for Grand Canyon Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed here 1 night before seeing south rim of Grand Canyon. Location was excellent and rooms were clean with good access to restaurants.

Room Tip: We were on main level not far from swimming pool and had good parking in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvstravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    1,105
    706
    225
    102
See reviews for
960
1,092
49
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

My room was a little dumpy. I always consider Holiday Inn Express hotels to be clean and up to date. This was not.
My room needed an update, it was very dark. The room only had two lights. The common areas were okay but needed updating too. The wing on the second floor I was in, was tough. Honestly, I was so tired from my Grand Canyon visit I didn’t care. Train tracks could have gone through my room and I wouldn’t have cared.
I will give them the benefit of the doubt. They are sold out every night during peak tourist time so imagine things get tired. The room was not worth 200 bucks I paid, but again, I imagine all the hotels around are about the same.
I did notice a security guard of some sort in the morning which was a relief since I was a little nervous about parking my car in the dark lot.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We were only a very short drive from the park entrance. We booked a suite, which meant that we had a small separate area with couch and TV. Had a problem with the toilet when we arrived, which took three attempts to fix, but other than that, no issues. The was a complimentary breakfast which was OK, unless everyone arrived at the same time, which meant that there were not enough seats. There were few restaurants close by which were OK. Grand Canyon is a must see, and this is a really good location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed here the night before our hike into the Grand Canyon. We would rather have stayed on the rim, but those lodges/hotels were completely booked. But this is just a few miles from the entrance to the park, and we were able to get to our trailhead for the hike in about 20 minutes. We didn't like to pay the higher price for the proximity to the park...since many of the rooms in the lodges/hotels inside the park are cheaper!
We were upgraded to a suite when we checked in, which was nice...but was in the other building, so a bit removed from the hotel itself...not a real problem.
Breakfast was ok...they should have plain omelettes as well as the ones with cheese (the cheese seemed like Velveeta?), but otherwise fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irishforevermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Very conveniently located to the park. We had a great time staying there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VLqvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Best hotel hot breakfast! Nice pool and hot tub. Great service.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised how nice our room was here! We stayed in one of the suites that was actually in separate building than the lobby and basic rooms. From the outside the building looks like an apartment building. The room had a living room with a tv in it, a small kitchenette with microwave and fridge, a bathroom with a tub and large kind bed with tv in the room. It also had a small balcony in the bedroom. This hotel was very close to the south rim of the Grand Canyon and we could have gotten on the free shuttle to/from the Grand Canyon from our hotel but we chose to drive. it really was only a 2 or 3 minute drive to the entrance to the canyon from the hotel. The staff was very nice, as we called to request an early check in because we had arrived much sooner than we expected. their normal check in was 4 pm and we called around 12:30 and they said a room would be available at 2pm. There are a few restaurants nearby, within walking distance from the hotel. Our stay also included a free breakfast buffet which was pretty good. they had fruit juices, milk, coffee to drink and eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, fruit, yogurt, warm cinnamon rolls, english muffins and bagels to eat. They also had a machince that would make pancakes by pressing a button. Originally we had wanted to stay at El Tovar at the south rim of the canyon but I was actually glad we ended up at the Holiday Inn instead. The south rim was very busy and noisy with all the visitors and tour groups constantly going in and out. Also many of the staff at the El Tovar would barely acknowledge you, and gave you the impression they could care less if you were there. so I am surprised that I really would recommend the Holiday Inn instead of the other places to stay inside the Grand canyon

Room Tip: I would definately get one of the suites that are in the separate building from the lobby. It is far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jnburnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
6.0 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
5.8 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing