We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to stay not to enjoy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canyon Plaza Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

As a quick stop over this hotel is absolutely fine. The room was large with a seperate room attached with sofa, tv, fridge etc which was ideal for take away pizza.

The sad thing is that the hotel didnt really offer anything else. The restaurant just didnt look inviting and the bar even less so. We had to go out to find some food and beer (still struggled to find a good bar though - this town is rather dead).

The breakfast buffet was ok, but we went elsewhere the second morning and had better.

The main draw for this hotel is its location - an easy drive up to the south rim visitor centre and lets be honest thats why we are there.

Quite a contrast to the vegas hotel the night before, but it served its purpose.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twocups2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 1,760 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel was in a number of blocks . The main block had a central courtyard which contained the bar . There was piped music til 10.15 and continuing noise till after 11pm. Our rooms were overlooking the central courtyard so we suffered from the noise. We were on a walking holiday so needed our sleep. The bar seemed little used and the hotel was offering a 20% discount if drinks purchased from the bar . However the prices seemed high even with 20%discount. two bottles of the local beer cost over $10. The noise was generated by a small number of people and the piped music.
The dining was ok thought I think the food was average. We used the buffet and could eat as much as we wanted. The staff were friendly and efficient.The rooms were good and clean . It was just the noise that out us off.

Room Tip: Avoid a room overlooking the central courtyard unless you want to party late!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had reasonable hopes due to the location this would be a really great place to stay, but were not sure when I read the reviews. We had to stay here because everything else was booked out and everything at the Canyon Rim was also fully booked. The receptionist was polite. The room was very basic, no fridge, old TV, the door lock was not that satisfactory, it worked, but only after using the access card a few times but the latch was not that secure. The hotel over all appeared rundown and it was obvious they were making no efforts to bring the standard up. The hotel is a reasonable size but only has one guest laundry and there is only one washing machine and one dryer. When asking for change to use the laundry, the politeness at reception disappeared. The swimming pool area was OK and quite enjoyable. We did not eat or have breakfast here. When I was out shopping a local shop keeper asked me where I was staying and his comment was that the hotel I was staying at was not that great and I got the feeling from him that it was sort of letting the rest of the town down and the locals would be pleased also if it lifted its game. The price we had to pay was not equal to the value, they are just getting the high prices due to lack of other accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gplim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Large room with separate sitting area, each with it's own TV. Decor was modern and clean and the aircom quiter and more controllable than most.

Breakfast was good if you could get near it - wait until all the tour groups have gone, it was inundated. Staff were verging on rude.

Well located for Tusayan, but there's not a lot here. Tried the Grand Hotel down the road for dinner but the singer was terrible and service was poor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoneBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The two worst nights on our trip. The hotel is extremely overpriced for what it is. For the price we paid it didn't even include a basic breakfast. The only plus is location. Room was clean but very old. Stay at the Best Western or Holiday Inn instead.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leos_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Overnight accommodation as part of Riviera Holidays package. As such it was OK. Reasonably comfortable room, but quite a lot of noise from patrons vehicles aircraft etc. Decent breakfast. Not much else to say.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomad535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in may called in on the way to ask when we could check in was told four oclock staff very short with us.the hotel was very close to the south entrance only good point.rooms were ok clean and tidy but basic our view out off window was a wall but whos here to look at the room.if u going to eat dont eat here go across the town plenty off places to eat we did make the mistake of eating here but thats in another review.the only thing this place has to save it is the canyon.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pputz1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
5.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Grand Canyon Plaza
Grand Canyon Plaza
#6 of 6 in Tusayan
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,603 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Plaza Resort

Address: 406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range: $85 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 mile from the South Rim entrance to the Grand Canyon National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelPower, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canyon Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Plaza Hotel Tusayan
Quality Inn Grand Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing