We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a room with an outside facing balcony”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Canyon Plaza Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Get a room with an outside facing balcony”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This place got some bad reviews, but we only had good experiences. The check in staff were very friendly and gave us a room with an outward facing balcony. I can only recommend this, as the inwards facing rooms are very stuffy as they overlook an atrium.
The rooms are big & clean with some nice facilities such as microwave & coffee machine. The pool is lovely & refreshing after a hot day in the canyon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PixieE69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    519
    600
    226
    173
See reviews for
525
704
49
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Accomodation provided good overall facilities with inclusion of microwave and separate room with armchair, settee and television useful. Breakfast and dinner prices affordable and good value for money compared with a number of other places where we stayed where prices were high. Staff were friendly and accomodating, very much in line with the norm in North America. Advice supplied by concierge on how, when and where to visit the Canyon together with what to do en route to Las Vegas was exceptional. This made a real contribution to our visit.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemendaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Unfriendly check in staff. Note that its not inside the grand canyon park but some restaurants and other venues around on walking distance.
Room large and clean but simple.
Pool a joke, very small and no towels available.
Breakfast was straight forward, poor.
Internet at our room was not working as the WIFI did not manage the distance. However, the Holiday inn across the street and thus further away manage to give me a very strong signal.
When I mentioned upon checking out they seemed not to care much as they knew about it.

3 star or whatever, for the price we had to pay, around 300 usd, if feel like it was a rip off. And they just get away with it since there is not much around and the plenty of people to come and stay as its grand canyon area.

Room Tip: avoid the hotel, do they have any?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tusayan hotels

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you do not go for accommodation inside the national park then Tusayan is the best choice to visit the south rim. This hotel is nothing special and getting a bit outdated in terms of furbishing. Buffet dinner in the evening is pretty good value for money and offers a wide choice. Unfortunately we stayed in the part of the hotel were the rooms overlook the inner patio were there is a bar and as one would expect it did get quite noisy with people shouting and laughing until late. On the positive side you are just a few miles from the Grand Canyon so ideal for an early trail start.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the inner patio with the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Transco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

we booked this last minute as our plans changed. I was really quite angry when we got there. Its just a large old motel..and we had paid over $250 per night for a small room and felt very cheated. For some reason the ironing board was hung on the back of the bathroom door and it clattered every time the door closed The room was clean but cramped and shabby The area of Tusayan is the nearest you can be to the Canyon National park without being in it so the location is great...but there are better options than this to spend the night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorras31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We arrived at the hotel during a busy check-in time and had no wait at all. We were then told that we had 3 rooms reserved for my wife and I by Booking.Com. We explained that we only needed one room and the staff went to work. In a few minutes with the help of the experienced Concierge named Rich the problem was cleared up. Rich also gave us directions to a not so crowded place to watch the sunset that evening. It was beautiful, replete with a double rainbow and a well lit canyon. We parked directly in front of our room and were pleased to find a second door in the room that led to a very pleasant atrium filled with plants, a spa and the restaurants. After sleeping in a quite comfortable bed we went to say thanks to Rich for his directions. Well he gave us some excellent suggestions on viewing the canyon and where to park. Thanks to him our visit to the canyon was comfortable and without hassle. We plan on returning to see more of the canyon and we will definitely by staying where the staff was attentive and most helpful and the accommodations were excellent.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms open directly to parking spaces that make it very convienient to load and unl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tusayan
2,370 reviews
5.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,263 reviews
5.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Plaza Resort

Property: Canyon Plaza Resort
Address: 406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 mile from the South Rim entrance to the Grand Canyon National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canyon Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Plaza Hotel Tusayan
Quality Inn Grand Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing