We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very worthwhile stop before the Canyon”

National Geographic Grand Canyon Visitor Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.99*
and up
Grand Canyon IMAX Movie
More Info
$107.99*
and up
Grand Canyon South Rim Jeep Tour with Transport from Tusayan
More Info
$258.99*
and up
Grand Canyon Helicopter Flights with Optional Jeep Tour
Ranked #4 of 11 things to do in Tusayan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the South Rim entrance of the Grand Canyon, the Visitor Center provides news, travel information about Grand Canyon attractions, hotels, a variety of selected Grand Canyon tours and Park passes. Visitors can take part in interactive exhibits to learn about the Grand Canyon, watch our famous IMAX movie and talk to local area representatives. Inside the center guests can also enjoy a meal at our Explorer’s Cafe dining area which includes Pizza Hut, fresh deli sandwiches and other items or take their time to browse through our National Geographic branded merchandise store.
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Very worthwhile stop before the Canyon”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

It is worth the stop here just minutes before the Grand Canyon south rim entrance to view the National Geographic IMAX film. There is a senior or AAA discount. Call for the times. We got there just in time for the 10:30 showing. Would have had to wait about 45 minutes had we missed that time. You get a 10% discount on the gift shop stuff, too, if you see the film.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CyndeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMAXgrandcanyon, Manager at National Geographic Grand Canyon Visitor Center, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience here at the National Geographic Visitor Center. We are glad you enjoyed your visit here.

The Visitor Center also has a 5000 sq ft National Geographic gift shop and the Explorers Cafe featuring Pizza Hut. The Café also has fresh deli sandwiches, soups salads and rice bowls. Pink Jeep Tours depart hourly from the facility for hiking and jeep tours. Grand Canyon Airlines also has a kiosk for visitors interested in Air Tours. The National Park Service also has a desk staffed by Visitor Use Assistants selling park passes and giving information and maps on the Grand Canyon National Park.

Thank you for making the National Geographic Visitor Center and the IMAX a stop on your way to the Grand Canyon National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    233
    128
    48
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Disappointing IMAX movie”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

All prices are overrated! Don't bother going to the IMAX, the movie is not only short, but also disappointing.... Not worth taking time for it.... Better spend more time in the national park.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ina_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMAXgrandcanyon, Manager at National Geographic Grand Canyon Visitor Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for visiting the National Geographic Visitor Center IMAX Theatre at the Grand Canyon – we are disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your experience with us.

We feel the National Geographic Visitor Center is a great start to your visit to the Grand Canyon.
The Visitor Center also has the Explorers Cafe featuring Pizza Hut. Pink Jeep Tours depart hourly from the facility for hiking and jeep tours. Grand Canyon Airlines also has a kiosk for visitors interested in Air Tours and the National Park Service has a desk staffed by Visitor Use Assistants selling park passes and giving information and maps on the Grand Canyon National Park.

You can get your passes in advance to avoid long lines at the entrance and preplan your visit.
The Grand Canyon the Hidden Secrets IMAX movie shows 4000 years of human history. It is 34 minutes long, giving visitors a different perspective prior to viewing the Grand Canyon. The film gives viewers an opportunity to see scenes they otherwise would not. It also shows the human aspect of the canyon, how man has struggled to co-exist with the Canyon.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Please don't bother going. IMAX film is disappointing.”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We went to see the IMAX film called 'The Grand Canyon, Hidden Secrets' (mistakenly thinking that this was part of the official Grand Canyon Visitor Center, which it is not). We were hoping it would provide some interesting information about the canyon such as geological facts and history, but it instead shows a cheesy film about the people that used to inhabit the canyon and the first people to ride the rapids.

There certainly are some beautiful scenes of the rapids and aerial shots, but most of the film is disappointing, especially for the 35 minutes costing $15 for an adult.

The gift shop is OK and the cafeteria just has Pizza Hut and a few other dishes. Certainly nothing appealing. The staff working at the front desk are not very friendly or welcoming.

We regretted going to this center.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BCWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMAXgrandcanyon, Manager at National Geographic Grand Canyon Visitor Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are disappointed you didn’t find the Grand Canyon Hidden Secrets informative or educational. The film covers 4000 years of history of the Grand Canyon. A film of the formation of the canyon would be better left for a small screen, not the large screen. The large format gives the viewers an experience, making them feel as though they are in the scene. Not sure where you purchased your ticket, but our current rates for adults is $12.50 per person + tax.
The first people to ride the rapids that you referred to in your post were from the Powell Geographic Expedition of 1869. Their purpose was to explore and later map the area. Their expedition followed the Green and Colorado lasting 10 months. Of the 10 men that started the journey, only 6 remained at the end of the trip.

The film also covers the first inhabitants of the Grand Canyon, the Anasazi Indians…but we don’t want to give away too much of the movie. Glad to hear you enjoyed the scenery.
The National Geographic Visitor Center is located in the town of Tusayan, which is located about 2 miles from the entrance to the Grand Canyon National Park.

The Visitor Center also has a 5000 sq ft National Geographic gift shop and the Explorers Cafe featuring Pizza Hut. The Café also has fresh deli sandwiches, soups salads and rice bowls. Pink Jeep Tours depart hourly from the facility for hiking and jeep tours. Grand Canyon Airlines also has a kiosk for visitors interested in Air Tours. The National Park Service also has a desk staffed by Visitor Use Assistants selling park passes and giving information and maps on the Grand Canyon National Park.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit to the National Geographic Visitor Center.

Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Greyline Got There Late”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We did not get the full experience this attraction offers. Our tour bus driver was late, and the movie had already started. Management was kind enough to let us in mid-way through, so we did not get the full experience. If you are travelling by Grey Line, do not prebook your movie.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMAXgrandcanyon, Manager at National Geographic Grand Canyon Visitor Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your tour arrived late for the movie. It is our policy to hold the movie as long as we can to ensure tours who arrive late can experience the the full movie. Unfortunately your tour arrived later than we can hold the movie without it affecting other tours, guests and the next show time. We hope you enjoyed the rest of the National Geographic Visitor Center while you were here. We will look into our policy of allowing tours into the movie after it has started. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and letting us know about your experience.

We would like to send you a DVD of the movie so you can experience it at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just a blah Imax film”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Just a blah Imax film. Big souvenir shop, a few pix on the wall. Imax screen, and the film itself, was smaller than usual and film was fair. About $12 for 35 minute film.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TIM V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMAXgrandcanyon, Manager at National Geographic Grand Canyon Visitor Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for visiting the National Geographic Visitor Center– we are disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your experience with us.
The objective of the film is to enhance the experience of the Grand Canyon beyond simply viewing the Canyon. Our movie explores 4000 years of human history touching on the earliest inhabitants and explorers of the Grand Canyon. The large screen “puts” viewers in the scene and shows them things you cannot see from the rim.
The Visitor Center also has the Explorers Cafe featuring Pizza Hut. Pink Jeep Tours depart hourly from the facility for hiking and jeep tours. Grand Canyon Airlines also has a kiosk for visitors interested in Air Tours and the National Park Service has a desk staffed by Visitor Use Assistants selling park passes and giving information and maps on the Grand Canyon National Park.

Thanks for visiting and sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Geographic Grand Canyon Visitor Center also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to National Geographic Grand Canyon Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing