We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely relaxing environment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tubac Golf Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Murieta, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Extremely relaxing environment”
Reviewed August 19, 2007

The resort is very beautiful. Our room was spacious and well-decorated. I loved the tile bathroom. The resort is currently expanding with several new rooms currently under construction.

We enjoyed dining at their Dos Silos Restaurant. The food was excellent and they serve a tasty pomegranate margarita.

We would definitely like to return to Tubac Golf Resort and Spa.

  • Liked — Very relaxing environment
  • Disliked — Only one ice machine available
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    102
    26
    13
    11
See reviews for
42
155
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chandler
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

We spent two nights here during our tour through Southern Arizona in one of their Hacienda rooms.

This resort is very nice and comfortable. The rooms are large and comfortable and offer plenty of amenities. It was very peaceful while we were there as it was low season.

Would definitely stay here again. We live in Phoenix and this is a great weekend getaway...would love to come down in the winter and settle in with a good book next to the fireplace in the room.

The only hiccup we experienced was our online booking not being at the hotel(Despite a confirmation number). they said they had a new reservation system and that was probably why...still working out the kinks. If you do book online you may want to call and confirm before arriving.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank ziggylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2007

This is a LOVELY place to stay. Everything was top notch. We stayed in a lovely casita. It was extremely roomy and very comfortable. Staff here is very accommodating and really tries hard to please. We tried the restaurant - it was overrated.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — The restaurant
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank va_traveler_Richmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

We stayed at Tubac Golf Resort for a week in August 2004 and again in February 2007. The room that we loved in 2004 was remodeled so we decided to stay in the Hacienda for a change. This is certainly not a hotel atmosphere; it is truly a resort. All rooms are "casitas;" no one is on top of you, just beside you. They are like little duplexes each with fireplace, tv and a skylight in your shower. It's like a small house.

Their new chapel is huge and the interior is well designed; it just looks a little out of place - like a mini-Texas Alamo.

The best part of the entire stay was not the room, but the excellent golf course. It has amazingly transformed into an emerald green grass golf course with not a blade of grass out of place.

We use to play the resort often when we lived over an hour away many years ago. We went there because of the unique atmosphere of tall trees (not many trees are tall in the desert).

Since our stay in 2004, the course has gone well beyond 5 stars. The Greenskeeper/Superintendent is an expert and knows how to not only maintain a golf course, but how to build one, too. They added eight new holes to the resort (27 total) and they opened in September 2006. Although new holes, they were mature beyond my expectations.

The only part that needed improvement was the head pro/manager in the golf shop. He was not able to give good directions to the new holes and was overly fake with kindness. His cell phone was growing out of his ear and was chatting quite frequently with friends rather than checking in the golfers. Very disappointing since he was in charge of the golf shop.

We will go back again because of our love of golf; the beauty and conditions of this golf course and the nice Hacienda to go back to relax to.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank liveforgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2006

Tubac is a beautiful place...old style resort with spacious grounds and a nice golf course. It would be wonderful for pets....if cost were no object. Their standard pet fee is $25 per pet per night. That can quickly add up!
When asked, they said it was due to cleaning costs, but I know of few if any other resorts that charge such excessive pet fees. We will wait to go back until they become more reasonable.

  • Liked — Location and golf course, plus excellent birding
  • Disliked — Excessive pet fees; shoddy room
  • Tips/Secrets — Check all charges ahead. No written confirmation given.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doggie_owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2006

The Tubac Golf Resort is THE place to stay while shopping and enjoying the Sedona-esque shops and galleries of Tubac. Just having green grass, a pool and hot tub was a real pleasure in the midst of dusty desert land. The view of the Santa Cruz mountains from Saddles restaurant is spectacular, and if you can be near there at sunset, you will see an unforgettable sight of the mountains against the foreground of the green golf course and billowy cottonwood trees. Do ask for a remodeled room, though. The queen rooms are a bit dark and a hint musty, spacious, though, w/ a nice size mini-refrig & lovely bath products which you can purchase in the gift shop. I would definitely return to this resort. The other lodging in town did not look too inviting. A restaurant to avoid: Artists' Palate. They are just "learning" their menu, and I wasted a lot of money on a mediocre meal. Try the Mexican-Greek place just outside the mission 3 miles south of Tubac. Delicious!

Helpful?
7 Thank SAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 26, 2006

Recently I had an event with familiy and close friends, they came from Florida to Guadalajara and they all could not belive the beauty of the place. The hacienda rooms were FANTASTIC, CLEAN, PEACEFUL. It has a beautiful bathroom, big jacussi, a cozy fireplace, a plasma t.v. all in a southwest style. No one wanted to leave, and every one of my 25 guests congratuleted me for my choice of Tubac.The staff is great. Emma at the front desk did everything in her power to give us royal treatment. The event was overlooking the beautiful lake and mountains,the dinner was good, and the service more than excelent. The small town is art eveywere, you cannot belive you are 30 min from Tucson. Me and the rest of my guests recommend the resort.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tubac
17.1 mi away
Best Western Green Valley Inn
Best Western Green Valley Inn
#2 of 5 in Green Valley
410 reviews
19.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive - Green Valley Sahuarita
12.2 mi away
Inn at San Ignacio
Inn at San Ignacio
#4 of 5 in Green Valley
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Best Western Sonora Inn & Suites
21.2 mi away
Fray Marcos De Niza
Fray Marcos De Niza
#4 of 7 in Nogales
41 reviews
11.2 mi away
Wyndham Green Valley Canoa Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tubac Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tubac Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Tubac Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Otero Road, PO Box 1297, Tubac, AZ 85646
Location: United States > Arizona > Tubac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tubac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tubac Golf Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful luxury destination resort is set on 500 acres at the base of the Santa Rita Mountains in Southern Arizona, south of Tucson. The resort features 98 luxury Hacienda style accommodations, two restaurants and cantina at the golf course, a full-service spa and salon and a 27-hole championship golf course. The resort is just five minutes from the charming Village of Tubac, a world-renowned artists community. This romantic, almost secret place is still a haven for Hollywood notables, politicians, accomplished business executives, and generations of families who returned year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Tubac Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tubac Golf Hotel Tubac
Tubac Golf Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing