We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay-cation ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tubac Golf Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Stay-cation ever!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Two friends and I traveled a short drive south of Green Valley for a spa/golf overnight trip. From beginning to end, it was a fantastic way to get away, unwind, relax, and enjoy some rustic luxury so close to home.

The hotel staff was very efficient at check-in. Our rooms were great. My room had a fireplace, a nice bar area, wonderful bathroom and the most comfortable, big, beautiful king sized bed. Wall mounted flat-screen t.v., a nice quiet little patio for an afternoon glass of wine, and a nice seating area with leather couches and chairs for my friends to come share a before-dinner cocktail. It was spotless, beautifully appointed and comfortable.

The spa was just wonderful! We spent the afternoon with massages, facials, lunch on the secluded spa patio (with jacuzzi bubbling away in the background). The spa features a steam room and sauna, a very quiet, peaceful waiting area, and the above-mentioned private patio. We all commented on how fast the afternoon of pampering flew by! My massage was literally the best I've ever had, and the facial--ahhhh!

Dinner at the resort was the usual great fare we all expect at The Stables at Tubac. Great service, great wine, all in the beautiful dining room at the resort.

Great round of golf the next day on very well manicured fairways and greens. The golf course is a challenging track, with gorgeous Arizona scenery at every turn. Love the local Tubac cattle herd!

I really could go on and on, but it was a perfect getaway at a wonderful resort. We are so lucky to have this property practically in our backyard, and if you are looking for some historic, beautiful Arizona surroundings, Tubac Golf Resort and Spa is your place.

Room Tip: The Hacienda King Suite is beautiful. Nice for entertaining friends in the sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelliB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    101
    26
    13
    11
See reviews for
41
152
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We've stayed here from time to time over decades. If you want to unwind, enjoy an excellent golf experience and good dining, this is your spot. Lush grounds, nice and interesting room and peace and quiet. The beauty of the grounds, Cottonwoods and mountains is super. We had good service from resort staff as well as the golf staff and pro shop. They have three nines and two are always open. Great greens and challanges. Come and enjoy the experience!

Room Tip: There are many room options so talk to them and find out what suits your desires and pocket book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

It's been 4-5 years since we last stayed, but will not wait that long again to have relaxing and quiet weekend retreat. Kicked off our 3-day holiday weekend stay with outstanding massages in the beautiful spa. We stayed in one of the casitas, which was exactly the ambiance. space, and patio view we wanted for the 2 of us and our four-legged, pointy-earred kiddos. Staff was very friendly and accommodated our special requests quickly. Weather was lovely, cool in the morning and night with summer rains. We ate in the bar, but had choice of the restaurant or bar menus and our food was very good every meal. Rode our bikes to the Tubac Deli for breakfast, which was a pleasant ride in sleepy Tubac. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: The casita we stayed in was clean, comfy, very spacious, and vintage mid-century Arizona guest ranch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Once a working ranch along the San Pedro River near a historic mission and shopping district, the resort offers "casitas" with fireplace, covered patio, and large rooms. Unique early Spanish architecture. Beautiful old cottonwood trees and a small lake are home to wildlife (javelina, coyotes), cattle, and waterfowl. Spectacular views of the mountains and the observatory. Bar and steakhouse on-site but also good dining options in the nearby village.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanreinhold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed here August 22-23 and have stayed previously. The property is quiet, tranquil and serene. The room was spacious and clean. There are views from inside rooms however, grounds are in a nice, well kept setting. The old Mission era feel is present and good historical feel throughout. Good golf venue.

Service lacking. Had only two hangers in closet. Called twice for more. Never received any more. When I personally advised front desk on check out it was evident they could not care less.

With room rate and fees attached it came to about $200 a nite. You would think that a place 42 miles south of Tucson would try harder to please and draw repeat business but I guess not. Few towels in room too and bedroom fan too noisy to run at night and efforts to adjust speed of fan unsuccessful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildcat8387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoita, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We visited with another couple for a golf weekend. Booked the 2 bedroom suite which was very nice with big bathrooms with soaking tubs. All 4 of us had different technology devices and none of us could get the promised free wifi at any time over the weekend. We ate at Stables Restaurant one night and ordered appetizers for the room the next night. Really, really great!

The golf course has 3 nines. Good layouts, challenging, beautiful scenery. The course itself was in pretty bad shape, especially for the price they charge. We were turned off by a sign from the management that said "No rain checks". Even though it didn't apply to us, it spoke poorly of the service attitude.

We had some difficulty with the front desk management and with the accuracy of our bill. Such a beautiful, restive property that could easily be top drawer. Service could be its downfall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Level Contributor
214 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights in early August in a "Hacienda King Suite."

The resort offers considerably lower rates during the off season (essentially the summer), but that's also the time when many of the stores in Tubac itself are closed and, of course, the weather during the summer is less than ideal.

Our suite was, as advertised, large, but quirky. It was reasonably well appointed, but it's hard to figure out why the bed had a very heavy comforter on it in the middle of the summer. There was a CD about the area that theoretically could be played, but there was no CD player. There was a radio/cassette player, but, of course, no cassettes! They have cable TV, but a very limited number of stations available on it. There is a toilet off of the main bathroom area, but it was quite inelegant overall. It just sits there with a second roll of toilet paper on its tank and with what is probably a print taken from an Audubon folio of birds of North American on the wall behind it. Quite frankly, the print just doesn't seem to fit. Even though the suite is clearly intended for just two, there are two sinks in the bathroom and even one on a counter in the general bedroom area.

Unfortunately, sadly, the resort seems to be resting on its laurels rather than providing a premier experience (except at its restaurant).

Our room was not well maintained. There was a sizable crack in one of the panels of the front door and the room could have been cleaner. The grounds are not well maintained. For example, one morning we checked out the pool area. The pool itself needed cleaning and there was trash around the hot tub area. The grounds were mowed, but poorly. A number of areas badly need weeding.

We reported a problem with our telephone and it was repaired, but we also were trying to use the phone to report two other problems. One was a leaky faucet in the bathroom. It wasn't fixed. The other was something that others had reported as well--that the internet connection was down. What was disturbing was the lackadaisical attitude of the staff. They knew the connection was down but weren't really interested in doing anything about it. When I mentioned the connection problem to the maintenance man who came to check out the telephone, he said he'd try to reset the router. He may have done so, but there still wasn't a connection. That was during our first few hours at the resort. We never did end up being able to connect. That's utterly unacceptable today even for a fleabag operation, certainly not for a place that would consider itself a first class resort.

Parking is a real problem. There is a sizable parking lot near the registration building, but there are relatively few spaces of any kind "near" the units. And "near" is an issue. Because of the location of the parking spaces and of the units, this resort really isn't all that "handicapped accessible." It's a fairly long way from a parking space to many of the units and a substantial distance from most parking spaces, even handicapped ones, to the restaurant (although there are some designated handicapped spaces closer to the restaurant than the other spaces are). Be prepared to walk a fairly substantial distance to your room and be prepared to lug your luggage those fairly substantial distances as well.

One more thing about "handicapped accessible": the type of room we had had two steps down from the bedroom area to the living room area and there was no railing to assist a person with mobility problems to go down those stairs. Those stairs, obviously, would be an impossible obstacle for a person in a wheelchair. And those stairs would also be a problem if the person wanted to go out to the covered outdoor patio beyond the living room area.

Speaking of the outdoor patio area, there was a small table and two chairs initially on "our" patio. But then some guest came and appropriated one of the chairs and then someone (else?) came by and took the other one, leaving us with no chairs. She/he didn't ask, she/he simply decided to take them. One of them was returned by the time we left. We had never experienced anything like this in our decades of staying at resorts and it was, quite frankly, shocking. It's one thing to move unused "public" property around the deck area of a pool, for example, but it's entirely different for people to think that they can appropriate furniture from another room's private deck!

Finally, there are some really wonderful views in the vicinity of the resort and from some windows in the restaurant, but our room certainly didn't have a view and as best I can tell, few, if any, of the rooms do.

Room Tip: Unless you're really into hiking, try to get a room close to a parking space. Also, beware of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tubac
17.1 mi away
Best Western Green Valley Inn
Best Western Green Valley Inn
#2 of 5 in Green Valley
390 reviews
12.2 mi away
Inn at San Ignacio
Inn at San Ignacio
#4 of 5 in Green Valley
41 reviews
19.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive - Green Valley Sahuarita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Best Western Sonora Inn & Suites
17.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Green Valley
Comfort Inn Green Valley
#5 of 5 in Green Valley
106 reviews
11.2 mi away
Wyndham Green Valley Canoa Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tubac Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tubac Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Tubac Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Otero Road, PO Box 1297, Tubac, AZ 85646
Location: United States > Arizona > Tubac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tubac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tubac Golf Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful luxury destination resort is set on 500 acres at the base of the Santa Rita Mountains in Southern Arizona, south of Tucson. The resort features 98 luxury Hacienda style accommodations, two restaurants and cantina at the golf course, a full-service spa and salon and a 27-hole championship golf course. The resort is just five minutes from the charming Village of Tubac, a world-renowned artists community. This romantic, almost secret place is still a haven for Hollywood notables, politicians, accomplished business executives, and generations of families who returned year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Tubac Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tubac Golf Hotel Tubac
Tubac Golf Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing