We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Transport yourself to a Mexican cantina in Tubac”
Review of DE ANZA RESTAURANT & CANTINA - CLOSED

Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Zip 85646
Restaurant details
Description: Zip 85646
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Transport yourself to a Mexican cantina in Tubac”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The atmosphere reeks of Mexico!!Leather and cane chairs for dining,Mexican saltillo tiled floors , Great Margaritas, tasty Taco salads, chimis, and good chips ---not greasy,with a salsa that has just the right bite.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank eadieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    4
    3
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oh my! New owners?”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Two years ago we had a great time, super Margaretas, good guacamole . We were so disappointed this visit...lousy margaritas, tasteless guacamole, fish tacos that were questionable??
Only positive was for the enthusiasm and friendliness of bartender gal. Must have changed owners

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“most of what we had was great”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My sister and I were there at a very quiet time, got seated and placed orders quickly and were served fast, too. Our soups (queso and abondiga) were delicious -- simple and homemade -- and our chilies rellenos were excellent, but she ordered a steak with hers and that was awful. They gave us free dessert to make up for it -- flan that was to die for.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeanneandkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We went for a lunch last year and found it tolerable at best, but gave it another go on a return visit to Tubac... mostly because many restaurants are closed on Sunday in Tubac and this place was open. Cadillac Margarita was something more along the lines of a VW. No detectable tequila and heavy on the sweet & sour. Food was obviously zapped in a microwave. Our table was pretty gross and the dishes seemed dirty. Worse part? Drinks and dinner for two: $49.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_RV_Goddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Canyon City, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tubac Festival of Arts”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Great Margaritas! My husband tried to order 2 different Mexican beers, which they did not have but after tasting my Margarita he liked it so well he ordered one & was very pleased. We had beef tacos and found them to be "good". A bit disappointed in tortilla chips, maybe not made in house?

Helpful?
Thank Beth2786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DE ANZA RESTAURANT & CANTINA also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing