We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful villa in off-the-path preserved piece of Mexico”
Review of Villa del Faro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa del Faro
Ranked #1 of 1 Los Frailes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa in off-the-path preserved piece of Mexico”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at Villa del Faro end of July 2013. We rented two rooms, including Casa Alberca and a near-by casita. Casa Alberca is a must if you can, as the exclusive use of the delightful pool is a fantastic treat - especially in summer ! Lovely patio area, great view on the Sea of Cortez and the beach. Very comfortable beds, very clean. Take note there is no AC, so make full use of all fans in full summer.
Our hosts were very welcoming and took great care of us.
The drive to the hotel is a dirt road but it is really no problem - just avoid driving at night.
Dinners were always good, but not so great value for money ($45 per person). Of course the place is off-the-grid and the nearest alternative is a good 15 minutes drive.
A great place to relax and enjoy life.

Room Tip: If you can, go for Casa Alberca ! Great room, living room, kitchen and great pool !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    16
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
149
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My 13 year old son and I took a one week father son surf trip around the southern end of Baja in July 2013 and had the fortune of staying at this amazing spot.
First off the drive to this hotel makes the feeling of adventure that much better when you get to this incredible spot. We had read that it is best to get a four wheel drive so we got a jeep at the airport in Cabo and were very happy we did. While you're driving to this place you can't imagine the amazing hotel that awaits you in the middle of no where.
What I liked best about this hotel was the way they have grown so much mature landscaping in what is essentially the desert on the East Cape of the Sea of Cortez. The grounds are lush and the buildings feel like something you'd find in the hills of Italy.
We had an amazing room just a little above the pool and we would fall asleep to the moon light coming through the doors and windows (that we left open all the time) and woke to the sunrise each morning. We both commented on getting the most peaceful nights sleep ever.
The family that owns and runs Villa Del Faro do a great job of making sure you have what you need while also staying out of your way so you can relax and enjoy yourself.
The breakfast was delicious and I would highly recommend getting the dinner they offer at least once during your trip. While we were here we enjoyed a delicious Greek dinner and my son commented on the fact that he normally wouldn't have ordered something like this but he was glad he did and he really enjoyed it.
Bottom line is that if you enjoy a little adventure and like peaceful quiet out of the way gems you will love this place!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place is a hidden treasure! From the moment you arrive you are taken care of with wonderful service, food that's out of this world and surroundings that are beautiful. You can tell they have put lots of love and hard work into making their little piece of paradise into a magical mystery tour to share with the lucky people who will travel to stay there.
They think of every detail to make sure all your needs are met from the flower petals and chocolate on your bed upon arrival to the gourmet breakfast the next morning. I highly recommend staying here...you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Make sure and have dinner there; so romantic, fabulous food and the presentation was out of this wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PVC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP7D
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Been to cabo many times over past 20 yrs. this is the perfect escape. I can feel my pulse slowing and blood pressure dropping the moment we arrive. Stunning grounds with quaint suites and warm, friendly hospitality. Great surf and diving around. We will make an effort to come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MP7D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Villa del Faro is a beautifully landscaped labyrinth in Baja Sur's remote East Cape. It's an elegant property with a respectful nod to local craftsmanship and the surrounding desert. In the gardens you'll find private nooks perfect for reading and relaxing. The undeveloped beach is ideal for long, peaceful walks. The staff is kind and caring. My wife and I had a lovely stay and will be returning.

It's important to know that the Villa isn't in town. There aren't grocery stores or taco stands nearby, and the only amenity within twenty miles is a single restaurant. Be prepared to drive for anything you forgot. Also, the East Cape isn't Cabo so there definitely aren't any clubs, bars, or nightlife remotely nearby. These are good things. The Villa is perfect for getting away.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank millzila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We are a gay couple who stayed at the Stone Beach Cottage for three nights in March. Upon pulling up to the main villa and looking out at the deep-blue Sea of Cortez, we were welcomed by the lovely Villa del Faro hosts, as well as by a group of humpback whales frolicking in the distance. It immediately became clear that negotiating the long bumpy dirt road in a compact Hyundai was fully worth it (you don't need a 4x4 to get there, but it would make for a much quicker and comfortable trip).

Marylin and her team gave us a cooler to keep our groceries and escorted us down the hill to the rugged little hut on the beach that would be our home for the next few days. The Stone Beach Cottage is a perfect spot for those with a little sense of adventure and looking to fully unplug from the daily grind. During our visit, we saw only a handful of people besides the two other couples staying on the property and the staff, and we were woken up every morning by the sound of the waves crashing on the beach just meters away from our bed. The Cottage is completely off-the-grid, but equipped with solar panels, an outdoor shower, a fire pit, and the basic cooking necessities. You’ll only need to bring food for lunch and dinner, since breakfast is provided by the family every morning in the small dining area with stunning views of the coast. You can choose between a hot Mexican-influenced egg concoction or a yogurt, granola, and fresh fruit bowl. Both were absolutely fantastic, as was the coffee, and breakfast became one of the highlights of our day.

Staying at Villa del Faro, especially at the Stone Beach Cottage, is the ideal getaway for anyone looking to completely unwind for a few days. The host family strikes the perfect balance between providing friendly interaction and a helpful hand when needed, and leaving guests to enjoy the breathtaking scenery in peace. We look forward to returning to this little oasis soon.

Room Tip: The Stone Beach Cottage is a one of a kind experience! Highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Unbelievable, all the reviews are right. Little touch of southern France, coast of Italy in Baja. Privacy, peace, food and service superb. What a great place for a honeymoon or family reunion. There are so many special little places in the gardens or on the beach to eithe meditate or read a good book. My kindle did download my papers by the way in the main house.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillOnaghAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Frailes
21.3 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#15 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
18.6 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,606 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vidasoul Hotel
Vidasoul Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boca de la Vinorama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
16.2 mi away
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
#1 of 3 in Cabo Pulmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Faro

Property: Villa del Faro
Address: KM65 Camino Costero | Los Cabos East Cape, Los Frailes 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Frailes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Los Frailes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Faro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Exquisitely off the grid" An elegant eco-hotel, Villa del Faro is a unique oasis nestled on a deserted beach. The Villa was created with the integrity of the surrounding desert in mind. We offer solitude instead of shops, safe swimming beaches, great books, gourmet food, snorkeling, surfing, and just pure beauty! One hour north of the Los Cabos Airport, but a world away in seclusion and serenity. Eight separate Casitas. Breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Villa del Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Faro Hotel Los Frailes
Villa Del Faro Mexico/Los Frailes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing