We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Sophisticated”
Review of Villa del Faro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa del Faro
Ranked #1 of 1 Los Frailes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Todos Santos, BCS, Mexico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly and Sophisticated”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Being off the grid does not mean doing without, as demonstrated by Villa del Faro. The pictures here only hint at the special feeling this once-private family compound exudes. The friendly staff and attention to detail only add to the beautiful location and design of the individual casitas spread out over the property. The fireplaces with ample firewood were an amazing touch. We found the dirt road out to the villa in good shape compared to other Baja roads - having a 4x4 definitely helped. The meals were delicious (the best flan I've ever tasted). As I mentioned to the owners, we felt grateful to be able to experience this wonderful place. We would recommend this villa to anyone, but only the lucky ones will actually visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCSInsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    17
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
151
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

So close (San Jose del Cabo, Baja, Mexico area) - yet so far away from life's frenetic pace. If you enjoy miles of pristine, natural beaches, a variety of birds, sunshine, ocean swimming and whale watching from your porch - Villa del Faro is a delightful hotel for leaving it all behind. Artistically decorated with beautiful Mexican artwork, the spacious, very comfortable "casitas" - or little houses - are welcoming homes away from home. Mine had a terracotta fireplace - which I enjoyed in moderate December evenings while reading books from the well-stocked supply.

The hosts are amazing, kind, generous American couples who have lived several years in their beautiful Mexican home in this fairly remote about one hour from Los Cabos airport. Then, they creatively and carefully built the "casitas" with paths connecting through the bouganvilla, cactus, palms and other vegetation. Add the pool with ocean view, Delicious (with a capital "D") breakfasts and dinners and you have the makings of a great getaway. The margaritas and guacamole are exceptional!

I enjoyed 5 nights at Villa Del Faro recently and it was truly relaxing. Since I was a solo traveler arriving late afternoon, I requested transportation from/to the airport. But if you rent a car, you'll have much more flexibility for exploring the area and dining out. The only other restaurant was about a 40 minute walk down the beach - which I enjoyed one evening for a concert and dinner. Mostly, I don't eat lunch so didn't miss food during the day after the abundant breakfast.

While not as warm in December as destinations farther south in mainland Mexico or on the Yucatan coast, Los Cabos area is easily reachable from many US airports (especially the west coast via Alaska Airlines) and is great for a few days "off the grid."

Room Tip: Casita Azul was perfect for the solo traveler. Also, for the younger, more adventuresome, there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyAnnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villadelfaro, Manager at Villa del Faro, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thanks Peggy, for your kind and thoughtful review. We loved having you as our guest, and hope you come and see us again some day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Getting to this place is hell. If you're not worrying about the awful directions the owner provides while following dirt pothole cactus desert road through a series of shack towns (turn left at the sixth black chicken behind the burned down church), then you're racing against the sun and sweating the possibility of a half dozen banditos jumping into the road, leaving you never to be seen or heard from again. And the roads are terrible- bumpy, dirt, clay, mud, falling-cliff roads that literally make you feel like you're living the Amazing Race.

If you do make it, you're blown away. The property is a meticulously maintained series of small cabins and houses with one main house and a stone beach hut down by the water. There is an eco-feel to the place. Solar powered, organic, every detail a product of meticulous craftsmanship. You can almost taste the kelp and hemp in the gentle breeze. You walk into what is basically the owner's living room and are met by anyone of a number of (what you discover to be) the cooperative's owners, basically a bunch of rich Californians in their 60's, any one of which could have played with the Grateful Dead, or slept with the Grateful Dead, or might in fact be one of the members of the Grateful Dead. It seems like these folks got together a few years ago, without a lick of hotel experience to any of their names, and decided to turn the joint into a B&B. And they try. It's a noble effort.

You're shown to your room. Your room is amazing. You're shown the stars. More than you've ever counted. You hear the crashing of the surf. There isn't a phone line, or restaurant, or activity centre, or any real trace of civilization for miles. If you're neurotic you realize it would take two hours for an ambulance or police to get there. You meet the other couples at breakfast, or with the odd courteous nod as you pass them on one of the many paths-- honeymooners from Germany, a movie producer and his mistress, rich New Yorkers with their own yoga mats, an actual celebrity with his actual celebrity girlfriend. You don't really see staff. You're brought a drink. The drink is good. Breakfast is in the morning -- any dietary restrictions, they'll accomodate.

Now what. You sleep. Eat. Cook (You'll have your own kitchen or kitchenette in most of the rooms). Swim in the pool (not heated). Walk the beach (virtually abandoned). There is no room service. There is no wi-fi. Well, there is, it's one computer-- but if you're the fatty in soaking budgy smugglers checking your stocks as you drip from your shorts onto these hippies' bamboo flooring, this is not the place for you. Off the grid is an understatement. There is no grid. But it's amazing.

The food is good. Not great. You better like the person you're traveling with.

The Good: Beauty, eco-detail, craftsmanship, paradise.
The Bad: Not a hotel, no amenities, you're left on your own, it's in the middle of nowhere.

Room Tip: Pool house looked amazing and worth the stay had we known beforehand. Our little cottage was lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Skijeet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villadelfaro, Manager at Villa del Faro, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Skijeet B,

I really wish you had written your review sooner so that we could have addressed your concerns right away. Since last March we have revised our directions a couple of times, but would have done so sooner if you had let us know you had problems. We try to warn people about the rough road so that they know what they are in for ahead of time. Glad you took it all in the spirit of adventure.

As for the dangers of bandidos, Southern Baja is one of the safest places in all of Mexico, and we have never had a problem with bandidos or drug violence in our area.

Glad you appreciated the beauty of our place- there's a lot of all of us in every corner and finally I should thank you for your flattering comments about us. We are actually a lot older than you think and predate the hippies. In fact, we're so old the Grateful Dead used to open for us!!!

All the best,
Marilyn
Manager, Villa del Faro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We spent 4 days at the Villa as we wanted a cool place to stay while we went scuba diving at the marine park just north. I told my wife that we were going diving in a very remote place and there were hardly any nice places to stay. I could tell from the reviews and the Villas website that it was going to be a surprise for her but wow, the Villa even surpassed my expectations.Fantastic location, great food, wonderful service, a warm welcome and just serene. And the trip there is not really bad at all. Thank you so much for making our stay so memorable.

David and Cynthia Huber

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dshuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A very unique and truly off the grid.

We drove an hour and a half down a long, unpaved road. It was fun- but I was ready to be off of it by the time we arrived. The owners are very nice- they built the place themselves. it's filled with wonderful detail and art. We felt like we had rented a private estate to ourselves as we happened to be there when there were no other guests. Very cool!

We stayed in the stone hut. The hut is not too shabby! I had low expectations given the lack of running water or electricity- however there is an outdoor shower, the bano really isn't that bad, and there are plenty of lanterns and a few lights if you feel like you need them.

We built a bonfire on the beach one night. Snorkeled on the beach.

We stayed 2 nights- so had one full day at the Villa. I enjoyed being off of the grid for a day, but was ready to shake some action by the end.

I blame it on reading the Jaycee Dugard book before arriving, but my only qualm with the stone hut is that I didn't feel safe because we were so isolated. Of course, that is why people love it, and why we chose to go there. This was my first trip to Baja Sur, so everything was unfamiliar in general.

I loved staying in the stone hut at least once, however if i return, i would likely pay just a few dollars more to stay in one of the rooms with a small kitchenette and a bathroom.

This place would be amazing with a small group.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineP27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I planned a much needed get away with my husband last year but was not able to make it. Our hosts held our deposit for the entire year until I was finally able to travel to Villa Del Faro. This time with my best girl friend. We weren't sure about the small stone cottage for a non romantic stay, but it was perfect and I would choose it again. We were the only guests at the end of May and had the perfect amount of interaction with the owners and seclusion. The pool area is fabulous, the beach even better. All the rooms are charming and well worth the price, but the stone cottage was everything I had searched for with "off the grid luxury". We spent 5 nights and could easily have stayed longer. I can't wait to return with my husband!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjillPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Villa del Faro is a remote paradise- offering both the super luxurious in the main villa and more of the rough and ready if you stay in the Stone Cottage as we did. Cabo San Lucas and San Jose are both built up cities, but where Villa del Faro is situated is extremely peaceful and away from it all. There is just one bar/resto near by and plenty of ocean and great beaches! Great for surfing- even for me, as a beginner! Me and my boyfriend spent a highly romantic week there, sleeping next to crashing waves of our more or less private beach, cooking freshly caught fish on the open grill, surfing and doing yoga during the day...and if we wanted something more we went up to the Villa to use the pool or wifi or have a chat with our amazingly special hosts- a very interesting family from LA who've built their dream home in Baja. It's all off-grid, solar power, but you never lack energy! They also serve incredible food if you don't feel like cooking and the best Margaritas!

We felt very special and lucky to be there....kind of beyond words. It's great if you want some solitude, if you want more of a lively holiday, it's probably not the place for you!

Room Tip: Stone Cottage if you are young and want to feel that incredible sense of freedom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikigomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Frailes
21.3 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,688 reviews
18.6 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
548 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#15 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,736 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vidasoul Hotel
Vidasoul Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boca de la Vinorama
83 reviews
16.2 mi away
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
#1 of 3 in Cabo Pulmo
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Faro

Property: Villa del Faro
Address: KM65 Camino Costero | Los Cabos East Cape, Los Frailes 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Frailes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Los Frailes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Faro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Exquisitely off the grid" An elegant eco-hotel, Villa del Faro is a unique oasis nestled on a deserted beach. The Villa was created with the integrity of the surrounding desert in mind. We offer solitude instead of shops, safe swimming beaches, great books, gourmet food, snorkeling, surfing, and just pure beauty! One hour north of the Los Cabos Airport, but a world away in seclusion and serenity. Eight separate Casitas. Breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Villa del Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Faro Hotel Los Frailes
Villa Del Faro Mexico/Los Frailes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing