We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyed this hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tuba City
Certificate of Excellence
Nephi, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I enjoyed being here so much. The staff are helpful and friendly, the facility itself is just beautiful and I loved the pool. Breakfast was a little on the crowded side and the shower ran hot and cold which was annoying, but anytime I'm in Tuba City, this is definitely where I'd want to stay. No competition from the other hotel in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antel777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    231
    54
    17
    25
See reviews for
203
276
26
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a beautiful building but overall service lacked, and we have pretty minimal expectations. We had booked our room six months in advance, and were told that all that was available was a ground floor parking lot view with no balcony. Seemed surprising since we booked the first day rooms were available, but eventually realized the hotel caters to large tourist groups, it was all kind of wild with huge groups of tourists flooding the lobby, pool, meal area, etc. We had a few other issues with locks etc and in general we were told that we were on our own. Most hotels would have offered to assist or apologize. Again, we are budget travelers, this was a splurge, and a disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcinjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hotel is new. Rooms (king size) are spacious and airco is cooling all hotel areas very efficiently.
Staff is very nice. Breakfast is better than Comfort Inn type. Small souvenir shop in hotel.
Pool to cool off if you have time.
We arrived early in the afternoon from South Rim and went on for the sunset to Monument Valley.
Next day we left about 9AM and reached Anteloupe canyon and Horseshoe Bend on our way to Kanab and Zion Park.
Staff is friendly. Parking is plenty. Gas stations nearby.

Room Tip: Any king size, not on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm desert, ca
Level Contributor
171 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here only 1night. But it is a beutiful hotel in a georgous location. They give a aaa and a military discount. It added up to a nice discount? They have a pool and jacuzzi. Free breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgtwrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
155 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel made our trip! Tuba City is not exactly a mecca but we stayed here because of this hotel and were not disappointed. It is a beautifully designed building with wide spaces, light, and dozens of interesting framed photos depicting the Hopi way of life. The pool area is lovely and there are 2 gardens, 1 with a traditional Hopi dwelling and 1 with a symbolic kiva. Room was big, comfortable, and everything works which is an achievement in this remote a location. Internet was 100% reliable. Breakfast was fine. Highly recommend this place. The only couple of caveats to make you aware - it's right on the road (the photos make it look more secluded than it is), and the Hopi travel center across the street really "isn't" - it's a well equipped gas station. I thought from reading the info that you would be able to set up guides for the reservation, at the 'travel center', but no one knew about that, however, we had set up ours online before we got there so it wasn't a problem for us. The delightful older Hopi gentleman selling kachinas and other souvenirs did tell us that there was a dance the next day in 1 of the villages, which we attended as a result. Would return here any time and hope we do, it exceeded our expectations. Note - it is on Arizona time; the rest of TC is on Navajo time - 1 hour difference between the 2 sides of the street, in summer.

Room Tip: I would go for 1 on the 2nd or 3rd floor over the pool or the desert, not 1 facing the road. Also, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwriterBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Without question, this is the nicest hotel in Tuba City, and probably your only choice. Yes, the other reviews are correct in saying that alcohol is prohibited on the property. Yes, if you're looking for a quality meal in the area, you will be disappointed. But if you need a place to stay in the middle of the Arizona desert, this hotel certainly works.

As far as first impressions... Upon checking into our room, we noticed that the housekeeper either completely missed, or is absolutely terrible at cleaning toilets. Unfortunately, our request to have it cleaned went unanswered, and we were forced to make use of the disinfecting wipes we usually travel with. The cleanliness of the bedspread and pillowcases were also in question so we quickly removed them. The continental breakfast was also a disappointment so we followed the advice of other travelers and ate at Denny's next door.

Altogether we were happy with this hotel, but I would not set high expectations. This place would rate slightly below average in an average tourist town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTUGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

this wonderful hotel has been set up by the hopi elders and is a beautiful, welcoming introduction to the hopi village experience. the pool and hot tub were so relaxing in the early evening desert starry night. we enjoyed a unique navajo cultural night in the hotel ballroom as an added treat, and met a number of local friendly families. the service was friendly. fitness room was clean. breakfast was okay. the denny's next door was having a bad night. our waitress was thoughtful but the food took an hour - so be aware.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuba City hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Navajo Nation
Quality Inn Navajo Nation
#2 of 3 in Tuba City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites

Property: Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites
Address: PO Box 2260, Tuba City, AZ 86045
Location: United States > Arizona > Tuba City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tuba City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites, the first hotel to be built on Hopi tribal land in 50 years, was the inspiration of the Elders of the Upper Village of Moenkopi. It was their vision that their Village should be a place of welcome and gathering for visitors to the land of the Hopi. Situated in the Upper Village of Moenkopi across the street from Tuba City, the Legacy Inn is at the Western Gateway to Hopiland and the Hopi mesas. It is also the beginning of the Hopi Arts Trail that connects visitors with artists and galleries on all three Hopi mesas.Hotel amenities include an outdoor pool, Jacuzzi tub, fitness center, courtyard, business center, gift shop, and evening Hopi cultural programs. The Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites is the perfect venue to host your business meeting or event. Offering 3,096 square feet of meeting space and three break away conference rooms, we can ensure that your event is a successful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moenkopi Legacy Inn And Suites
Moenkopi Legacy Hotel Tuba City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing