We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hideaway lake” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apache Lake

More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular, man-made lake in the Superstition Mountains, which offers fishing, scenery and camping.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hideaway lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Due to the difficult drive to get to this lake along a long dirt road, it is very secluded. The camping and boating is sublime as you tend to have the entire place to yourself. We like to rent pontoon boats and find our own little pirates cove to stow away in. Many long days have been spent enjoying the majestic cliffsides of this beautiful lake. Prices are good too and the drive, if you are up for it, is breathtaking.

Helpful?
2 Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Apache Lake AZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was such a terrific experience. If you are afraid of heights though, getting there is scary. No guard rails, and at some points you wonder if the gravel is even strong enough to hold the car. Once you reach the lake it's absolutely beautiful. THe lake was so warm too.
The rooms are old, but I think that adds to the natural beauty of this place. The food was amazing!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Natures Beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

very peaceful lake the drive from mesa taking the back dirt road is very dangerous so going the long way is safer and more suggested. the back way is one way and no guard rails

Helpful?
2 Thank bobbin4appels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are a winter visitor to Arizona, don't miss Tortilla Flats. We are long time AZ residents and even though we have been there many times, we still enjoy going. It's a great bike ride also. It's the Old West in the Arizona desert near Apache Lake, which is a man made lake and is part of our reservoir system. Tortilla Flats plays into the Lost Dutchman's Gold Mine lore which makes it more fun. You'll have to drive through the mountains to get there and it's a scenic drive. If you wish you can continue past it, but I wouldn't recommend it in a car. You'll drive thru the creek and from there the road is paved for another couple of miles. Then it morphs into a rough old gravel road. No joy!

The building complex offers good food. You can choose to sit at the bar on a saddle or at a table. Leave a signed dollar bill and they'll find a bare nook or cranny somewhere to pin it to the wall or ceiling. Make a day of it. Visit the Goldfield Ghost Town on your way north out of Apache Junction, then head up to Tortilla Flats for lunch. Everyone enjoys it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Real Old West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We hadn't visited this place since it had burned down in 1987 and it looks pretty much like it did back then. The restaurant, gift shop and anything else is covered in dollar bills that have been signed and plastered over with more dollar bills. The food is good, and the price is right. At the bar you sit on real saddles. They also have bands that play on the patio and they're pretty darn good. This is kid friendly and it's just two miles east of Canyon Lake, eighteen miles NE of Apache Junction on Highway 88. It's one of the greatest Arizona attractions.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jkindyDesMoines_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apache Lake also viewed

 
Apache Junction, Central Arizona
 

Been to Apache Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing