We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haggle for Q35 a person”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Via del Lago
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Haggle for Q35 a person”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

You can make this place super affordable. The roof has the best view in San Pedro. Great location. The ladies who run it are really kind, I agree that Gladys is like a mother. She invited us to her grand daughter's birthday party in the courtyard- really sweet! There's free water, a kitchen on the top floor for those bedrooms (try to stay up there! Room 17 has a very uncomfortable bed, but a private bathroom) and you've got to ask for towels and more blankets.

Room Tip: Top floor, if you can! Room 17 has a very uncomfortable bed, but a private bathroom and kitchen next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
6
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I absolutely loved my stay here. I got a lake side room for 45 quetsals sharing with a friend. It was quiet and comfy. If you want a party place try Zoola but if you want a nice sleep and a Host who is like a mother stay here!

Room Tip: Get the lake side rooms they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexMurray_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Nicaragua
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed here for a month while we learned Spanish. We stayed in several rooms, including the ones that are lake-side. They are the perfect location to relax in a hammock overlooking Lago Atitlan and the Indian's Nose. Gladys, the owner, was like a mum to us. Always greeting us with a smile. This place is off the Gringo Trail of Lake Atitlan so you can still go and party but actually relax and get some sleep in a quieter area of San Pedro.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms that are lakeside, worth paying a bit extra for the privacy and the view! Stunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

very nice staff, just nice and relaxing, awesome to just lay around in the hammocks.

I was staying in the lower section just 5 meters from the lake, there is only 3 rooms downs stairs and cost a little bit more but it is worth it.
I can defiantly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badanka09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this place from some people we met in Antigua. When we arrived a shady gringo old timer 'showed' us where the place was and then waited around for his commission. We set the record straight after we realized what he was doing and he'd walked away with 10Q. Try to avoid this as it's really easy to find and then the hotel doesn't lose out. Whether you arrive by bus or boat there's on street heading up the hill, one heading left, one heading right. Take the one heading left (if your back is to the lake) and walk until the road ends. There are rooms on both sides of the street. Room 18 on the top floor of the tall building on the right is great, some of the other rooms are darker and the beds not very comfy. If you stay longer it's worth asking for a better deal. They charge 50Q for one person and 70Q or 80Q for 2 depending on the room. It might be 100Q for the lakeside rooms.

It's easy to stay up chatting / drinking late on the roof without anyone telling you to keep it down which is huge for us :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isitmonsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

What an outstanding little place... my wife and I are staying here for two weeks as we learn a little Spanish ...enough to be able to move in with a Spanish family for a few more weeks... anyways, WOW! what a view...waking up to this is outstanding! The price is more than fair, and the family who runs it is very helpful. Wifi works great... the place is VERY central to everything, and I promise you that if you are on the lake view side of things u have the best view in San Pedro. Cleanliness-wise we thought things were fine...not sparkling clean, but nothing to really complain about. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Stay lakeside, you wont regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GetUpAndGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Tis place is in a great location, and we ended up on the non-lakeside of the street for this hotel. The staff was re ally nice and helpful, but our bathrooms really needed some bleach or something, definitilet wore flip flops in the shower and avoided touching the toilet seat. The beds were sagging the middle, so my boyfriend and I both fell right to the center when we climbed in. We stayed one night and decided to upgrade to the Nahual Maya down the street on the left (the white hotel withe flowers cascaading from the second floor). We paid about 12 bucks a night and had very comfortable beds,clean bathrooms and they changed the sheets and cleaned the rooms everyday. Sadly it's not ontripadvisor for me to review, because they were wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puravidamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Pedro La Laguna hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro La Laguna
4.6 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
656 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
300 reviews
5.9 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mikaso Hotel Resto
Mikaso Hotel Resto
#3 of 11 in San Pedro La Laguna
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Fe
Hostel Fe
#1 of 11 in San Pedro La Laguna
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Blanca San Pedro hotel
Casa Blanca San Pedro hotel
#17 of 17 in San Pedro La Laguna
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Via del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Via del Lago

Property: Hostal Via del Lago
Address: Head up from the dock and take the first left for 250m, San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in San Pedro La Laguna
Also Known As:
Hostal Via Del Lago Guatemala/San Pedro La Laguna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing