We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Efficent Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Lobo Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Our second year in a row to visit San Pedro, 6 weeks each time in Dec/Jan, great weather. Both times we have stayed a “Casa Lobo” and will stay there when we return. Hopefully next year. “Caso Lobo” is a series of individual villas (4/6?). The villa we stayed in this year was directly on the lakes but all villas have a nice lake view. Our villa had a full kitchen with a small gas stove, pure water, coffee maker, flat screen tv and internet (slow but reasonable). This is all included.
The villa to town is a 1-1/2 mile walk or .65 cent (5Q) tut tut ride per person. Some reviewers found the distance to town to be a negative. However, San Pedro mainly caters to the young (20/30) however my wife and I (67) absolutely enjoyed the city and it's life style but the getting home to the quietness, except for the waves hitting the shoreline, outside our open window is well worth it short hike/ride.
The major “Casa Lobo” negative is the access from the paved road to “Caso Loba’s” main gate. It is a dirt path that requires one being careful. Remember we’re 67 but it will not stop us from staying there again. The reason for the poor access path to “Caso Lobo” is because Lake Atitlan water level had risen excessively over the past few years and the original entrance is underwater.
Fritz and Wolfgang are the owners/managers of the property and they take very good care of the property and tenants. If you contact them in advance they will help with your luggage from the paved road.


From Guatemala City we took a shuttle to Antigua, about 2 hrs. Where we stayed two nights in the Hotel Catedral (review to follow). Antigua is a nice city with lot to see and great food. From Antigua we took a shuttle bus to Panajachel, then a boat to San Pedro (30 Min). The boat cost around US$3.50/person.
San Pedro has boat access to all the cities on Lake Atitlan, the largest being Panajachel (or known locally as Pana). Other cities of interest on the lake is Santiago. Hotel Posadado is a wonderful place to stay (Review to follow). We also made two days trips to the El Dragon Hotel in San Marco and La Casa del Mundo hotel in Jaibalito (reviews to follow).
In San Pedro we stayed at a very nice villa called Coso Lobo. (Review to follow).
San Pedro and Pan have the largest numbers of good restaurants with great verity.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnrobertpowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 149 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Casa Lobo. Great appartment with all is needed and an astonishing view on the lake. Very clean and comfy. Well taken care of. Litz is a gold mine of informations and good recommandations. A bit outside the center of action of San Pedro wich we really appreciated. A calm environment. Don't be influenced by the bad look of the land lot you have to go through when arriving. Stupid laws doesn't permit to Casa Lobo to make a nice garden or so. Once you're on the Casa Lobo premisses, everything is very nice and clean. Just loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraDalhie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The place is in a remote location just 5 Quetzales to the center it has is own slow vibe, very tidy place and Fritz is very friendly and if you are feeling like to spoil yourself this is the place!

Have fun

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We utterly loved our experience at Casa Lobo. The apartment was fantastic, with a nice kitchen and a fantastic view from your bed! The balcony is a fantastic place to have your breakfast overlooking Lake Atitlan. The hosts are very accommodating and also have a lot of useful information about the local area. It is a 15 minute walk to town, or tuk tuks are in abundance and will cost you about 10 Q to get anywhere in town

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and enjoyed the experience immensely. The apartment is immaculate with a nice kitchenette and a fantastic balcony. The view of Lake Atitlan and the surrounding mountains from the apartment is amazing. The hosts were fantastic and very informative of attractions and activities in the area

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Casa Lobo is situated on Lake Aititlan with a beautiful view of the lake, the mountains and the sunrise. As a woman travelling alone I felt very safe and comfortable staying at Casa Lobo while studying spanish in San Pedro. It was a very pleasant 15 minute walk into the centre to school. Lobo and Frederico could not have been more helpful or accommodating. Thanks for a most pleasant stay and I highly recommend the Lakeview Apartment at Casa Lobo as one of the nicest places to stay in San Pedro La Laguna. My husband jointed me there after a month and he would also be happy to stay there again on another trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingerbread46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Feel amazing to wake up every morning, or noon, to the beautiful sounds of the lake and his view..! Highly recommended to wake up for the sunrise and go to the roof!!
The green environment attracts colorful birds to complete the experience for you.

The apartment is really nice, clean and roomy with a good kitchen and a balcony perfect for the morning coffee.

What made it even better is nice and smiling Lobo and Frits. Just make you feel home and quietly take care for everything you need.. You can feel that they love the place and its another reason I loved it as well!



Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Danigross5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro La Laguna
4.6 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
674 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
255 reviews
7.7 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
800 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mikaso Hotel Resto
Mikaso Hotel Resto
#4 of 12 in San Pedro La Laguna
294 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Blanca San Pedro hotel
Casa Blanca San Pedro hotel
#17 of 18 in San Pedro La Laguna
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lobo Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lobo Bungalows

Address: Avenida 6 | Callejon B, Zona 3, San Pedro La Laguna 07018, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro La Laguna
Price Range: $45 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Lobo is managed by its German owners and was opened 2007. It is located in the tranquility of Lake Atitlins shore 15 minutes walk to San Pedro la Laguna. Relax in our three luxurious and elegant Bungalows placed with a panoramic sight directly at the shore of the lake. They all have King-Size beds and are comfortably furnished. The Bungalows are equipped with Cable-TV, private bathroom with hot water, stove and refrigerator. Their porch invites you to relax. Relax in this earthly paradise We will be glad to receive you as our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Lobo Bungalows Guatemala/San Pedro La Laguna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing