We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The quiet and blissful part of San Pedro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Lobo Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The quiet and blissful part of San Pedro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We booked Casa Lobo for a few nights after receiving glowing recommendations from friends.
Prior to arriving in 'San Pedro De La Laguna', we had communique with the owner, where we arranged the payment through Paypal (extremely convenient) and he gave us the details of getting to the place.
I admit, when we took that Tuk Tuk (and I argued with him about the price - Like Lobo told us), the dude dropped us off on the edge of town, and I thought it was payback for the price negotiation.
We took our bags and made our way through a field and several people's backyards - eventually getting to Lobo's place.
We were greeted by the most pleasant person we've met on this trip - Wolfgang.
He showed us to our room, which was actually the whole second story of a villa, with a balcony overlooking the lake.
Amazing view, very big space, a mini kitchen with a fridge, Tv, storage closet and couches - all justify the price which is higher than the hostels in the middle of town.
Oh, and the icing on the cake is the amazing quietness all around you - like you have the whole of nature just for yourself.
We were also shown a faster trail directly to the house.
In the following days we just walked to and from the center of town - 20 mins of walking more or less... we were not bothered by the walk. Well, maybe late at night it was a bit of a problem because of the darkness - but a flashlight was made available with the room.
We also ate breakfast at Wolfgang's 2 times, and I must say it was Amazing.
The breakfast was made by the owner - either from bought ingredients or home grown (he has the most amazing garden full of fruits and more). It was a 5 course meal and my wife had a lemongrass tea - that was made from leaves growing in the garden. Simply divine.
Lobo - We would love to stay again at your place should we come back to San Pedro. It was a great experience.

Room Tip: A tuk tuk from the town centre (just when you get off the shuttle) to Lobo's should cost 10Q. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    19
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
83
21
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We decided to slow down our travels and booked 4 nights here on the lakeside. The studio apartment has a lake view outside terrace, is spotlessly clean and spacious with a kitchen area with fridge, two gas hobs and all the utensils you need. The apartment is cleaned as often as you wish and there is a large water dispenser provided and topped up as you use it. You are right on the lakeside and the lapping water sends you to sleep at night on a comfortable bed.
One of the owners was there and he was very welcoming and gave the impression that if you needed anything he would do his best to provide it. An interesting guy with a good sense of humour and a lovely dog. We passed a lot of time chatting about the property and Guatemala in general. He gave us a good tip on a walk from Santa Cruz to Jaibalito opposite and advice about other things to do. We were there on a Friday so went to the market at Solola which almost tourist less and full of more lovely Guatemalans and bargain price hand woven clothes and textiles.
The entry to the property is a challenge but Fritz was there waiting when we arrived to guide us through the four key puzzle - it's easy when you know how! Make sure you have a torch. Ask for one if you need it for after dark returns.
The property is outside the village but you can walk it in 15 mins or take a passing tuk tuk for 5 quetzals each. Try to avoid being ripped off by the tuk tuk drivers at the port when you arrive. They will try to convince you that Casa de Lobo is at the top of the volcano so merits a double price ride! Normally 5 quetzals each maybe stretch it to 10 each if you have luggage but no more. Just walk off up the (steep) hill for a bit and hail another one.

Room Tip: As far as I know there is only one at present due to the flooding but there will be two more new apa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexCrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The place is so peaceful and yet a walking distance from the center. Great for couples who are looking for a quiet place to stay.
The owner was so nice and helpful and the breakfast was rich and served in the garden, it was the best breakfast we had in Guatemala.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sigih1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalobo, Manager at Casa Lobo Bungalows, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you here and it is nice to hear from you that you enjoyed the stay at Casa Lobo and that you liked our breakfast .
The breakfast gives us also the opportunity to talk longer with our guests. You are always welcome and we hope to see you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and have had a very pleasant stay. Unfortunately, the rising water of the lake has flooded two of the bungalows, also taking away part of what must have been a wonderful garden. Nevertheless, new bungalows are under construction and what's left of the garden is still very nice. The site is located a little away from the village center, either a 20 minute walk or a 5 minute ride with a local TucTuc, but that also implies that you can enjoy the quiet evenings on the terrace of your bungalow, with a view of the lake and without noisy tourists.

The welcome that we had from Fritz was very warm and he has given us a few hints on what to do around San Pedro, as well as valuable advice for the next parts of our trip. Finally, they probably serve the best breakfast in Guatemala.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michiel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
202 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, and the owner was very helpful with recommending restaurants in San Pedro. There is proper path from the main road to where the houses are, so it is a bit of a challenge getting in and out if you are not in walking condition. We had two big, heavy luggage which the owner helped us with. I was initially perturbed by having to walk through someone else's property (there are some locals living before where Casa Lobo is), but after a while, it grows on you... where else do you get to interact with the locals, even if it is just saying "Good morning?" or peeking at them having dinner?

For the first night, it was so quiet I couldn't fall asleep! (We're city dwellers). But it's great to wake to the sounds of nature and be able to peak into the lake (we got the smaller room with partial lake view). The room is nice and clean. Internet is patchy, but as we learnt, internet is not that fabulous in whole of San Pedro.

It is not in town, but tuc-tuc are aplenty, you just need to wait a little once in a while. We walked a couple of times, and I absolutely enjoyed the walk because you get a gorgeous view of the lake at some parts, and can observe the local people farming. Yes, it is 20 mins, but it's great exercise, especially after all the yummy food in San Pedro! It's quite warm in the day time, and a little dark after sunset, so anything between 5-7pm would be a good walk back to Casa Lobo.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank travel-bitten-shark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and stayed here five nights in March. The rising water level has put two of the three bungalows out of commision. However, the owner is adding two new bungalows. It is out of town, but you can get a three wheeler into town for less than a dollar. The plus is you are not going to be kept up by drunk twenty somethings because you are in a quiet residential neighborhood. The one negative is that the rising lake level made the use of a nice path impossible. Now you have to go through several houses on a dirt path which is muddy when it rains and littered with trash.


The breakfast was wonderful and served on the patio with a wonderful view of the lake. Overall I would happily reccomend Casa Lobo.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dharmithran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalobo, Manager at Casa Lobo Bungalows, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you as guests. Its very helpful
to us, to know how we can make our guests more satisfies. We can inform you,
thats the path through the neighbors was temporary and now we rebuild-ed
our nice path through our one property. We hope, you and your wife will be back at
CASA LOBO in the near future.

Thanks again
Lobo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osnabruck, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Casa Lobo and enjoyed it very much. We liked the location - even it is 20 minutes by walk outside of San Pedro - because it is quiet and right on the lake. The room was nice and very clean with a small balcony. The breakfast is outstanding, the best after 4 month of travelling. Wolfgang and Fritz are amazing hosts. We would definitely come back..!
Lieber Wolfgang, lieber Fritz, noch einmal herzlichen Dank für die schönen Tage. Gruss B & J

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parachilna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro La Laguna
4.6 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
#2 of 4 in Santiago Atitlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
7.7 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lobo Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lobo Bungalows

Property: Casa Lobo Bungalows
Address: Avenida 6 | Callejon B, Zona 3, San Pedro La Laguna 07018, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Lobo is managed by its German owners and was opened 2007. It is located in the tranquility of Lake Atitlins shore 15 minutes walk to San Pedro la Laguna. Relax in our three luxurious and elegant Bungalows placed with a panoramic sight directly at the shore of the lake. They all have King-Size beds and are comfortably furnished. The Bungalows are equipped with Cable-TV, private bathroom with hot water, stove and refrigerator. Their porch invites you to relax. Relax in this earthly paradise We will be glad to receive you as our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Lobo Bungalows Guatemala/San Pedro La Laguna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing