We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat... and the charm grows on you...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Lobo Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, and the owner was very helpful with recommending restaurants in San Pedro. There is proper path from the main road to where the houses are, so it is a bit of a challenge getting in and out if you are not in walking condition. We had two big, heavy luggage which the owner helped us with. I was initially perturbed by having to walk through someone else's property (there are some locals living before where Casa Lobo is), but after a while, it grows on you... where else do you get to interact with the locals, even if it is just saying "Good morning?" or peeking at them having dinner?

For the first night, it was so quiet I couldn't fall asleep! (We're city dwellers). But it's great to wake to the sounds of nature and be able to peak into the lake (we got the smaller room with partial lake view). The room is nice and clean. Internet is patchy, but as we learnt, internet is not that fabulous in whole of San Pedro.

It is not in town, but tuc-tuc are aplenty, you just need to wait a little once in a while. We walked a couple of times, and I absolutely enjoyed the walk because you get a gorgeous view of the lake at some parts, and can observe the local people farming. Yes, it is 20 mins, but it's great exercise, especially after all the yummy food in San Pedro! It's quite warm in the day time, and a little dark after sunset, so anything between 5-7pm would be a good walk back to Casa Lobo.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank travel-bitten-shark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 149 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and stayed here five nights in March. The rising water level has put two of the three bungalows out of commision. However, the owner is adding two new bungalows. It is out of town, but you can get a three wheeler into town for less than a dollar. The plus is you are not going to be kept up by drunk twenty somethings because you are in a quiet residential neighborhood. The one negative is that the rising lake level made the use of a nice path impossible. Now you have to go through several houses on a dirt path which is muddy when it rains and littered with trash.


The breakfast was wonderful and served on the patio with a wonderful view of the lake. Overall I would happily reccomend Casa Lobo.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dharmithran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalobo, Manager at Casa Lobo Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you as guests. Its very helpful
to us, to know how we can make our guests more satisfies. We can inform you,
thats the path through the neighbors was temporary and now we rebuild-ed
our nice path through our one property. We hope, you and your wife will be back at
CASA LOBO in the near future.

Thanks again
Lobo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Casa Lobo and enjoyed it very much. We liked the location - even it is 20 minutes by walk outside of San Pedro - because it is quiet and right on the lake. The room was nice and very clean with a small balcony. The breakfast is outstanding, the best after 4 month of travelling. Wolfgang and Fritz are amazing hosts. We would definitely come back..!
Lieber Wolfgang, lieber Fritz, noch einmal herzlichen Dank für die schönen Tage. Gruss B & J

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Parachilna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

My wife and I just stayed with the fantastic hosts at Casa Lobo a few days ago. The bungalow was perfect and the breakfasts were wonderful. Huge variety of house-made treats and a solid egg dish. Wine glass full of fresh fruit, citrus infused water, fresh juice and a great french press full of Guatemalan coffee. The hosts are the best part - so nice and they do an amazing job. The location is nice and quiet but out of the town center. Tuk-tuk taxis were easy to find and only 5Q per person. You can also walk a few minutes to town and it is very safe. You should know there is a narrow path between some friendly locals' homes to access the property while the lake level is high. We LOVED this aspect but perhaps an extremely elderly or all-inclusive-type of tourist would find it less than ideal. A torch or headlamp will help late at night. People come back here every year and we can see why - would highly recommend Casa Lobo to friends and family and I hope we can make it back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nolatraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This was one of our favorite lodging that we found in all of Guatemala during our four month stay, especially in San Pedro which seems to be overran with cheap, uncomfortable hostels/hotels. We found the location to be a great retreat from the bustle of San Pedro, away from the hawkers and bars and into relaxation. We prepared some basic meals in the kitchen, but really enjoyed the breakfasts that was provided, along with the conversation with the owner. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed for seven nights at Casa Lobo for our belated honeymoon. We saw the beautiful pictures on their Facebook page and decided to book our stay there. We very much enjoyed our experience. Our hosts were very gracious and accommodating. The views from the bungalow were amazing, as were the afternoon swims and sundeck. The breakfast each morning was presented beautifully, tasted delicious and provided us with some time to gaze out at the beautiful Lake Atitlan. If you are looking for a great getaway outside of the party scene of San Pedro la Laguna and don't mind too much the buggy nature of being close to the lake, this is the place to be. A great experience!

Room Tip: The queen sized bungalow gives you some space between you and the lake, with a nice balcony with cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I mean "hidden" quite literally. There are no signs to this hotel on the road or anywhere in town. You walk through a tamed jungle path from the main road to get to the bungalows. When you first get here, it is a bit daunting as it seems really far from the town and when you start thinking about finding your way back to your room after dark. But if you do it twice, one way out and one way in, you get used to it and later really appreciate that it is remote (therefore quiet, secure and private).

If you are elderly with physical ailments or have young children (teenagers would be fine), you may want to consider a place within town. BUT, if you want a place that is quiet (you only hear the frogs at night) with super duper nice hosts and one of the best deals in Guatemala, and you are not scared of a bit of rustic ambiance, you should definitely consider this place over the other places in town for lodging.

I have NO IDEA what the other reviewer is saying about people walking about the hotel, there ain't NOBODY around for a good 1/4 mile! The only people we saw were the hosts and a couple of the local men who came to work on building a footpath at the hotel.

We are a couple who wanted to chill for a few days. We booked it for 2 nights and extended it to 6.

The dogs are hilarious and the owners are some of the nicest, most obliging people we have met. They serve an elegant breakfast and it can be served when you want it. They can answer any of your questions about the lake area & transport ( they have lived in the area for 5 or 6 years) and can help with anything else you need.

Yes, the bed is giant as others have mentioned. We had a lot of rain & unfortunately the water is coming up so high that these 2 front bungalows (there are only 2 for now) might be underwater in a few years. But they have just finished building additional lodging on slightly higher ground. They look very Italian-summer-home.

You will see a lot bugs because you are in the middle of a forest and if you come in the rainy season things will be damp, but its like that everywhere in Guatemala. There is a mini kitchen with a COFFEE MAKER!!!! And a FRIDGE!!! And I mean a real coffee maker not an electric kettle for instant coffee. There is also a stove top with basic cooking utensils.

For $37/ night for 2, I don't think any place (in Guatemala) has these kinds of extras. And you have to give it a few minutes, but the solar heated shower is hot. And there is a private garden with your own lime tree. And there is cable tv.

The room is very comfortable and although there is a sign that says that rooms are cleaned weekly, we had fresh towels every other day. Oh and there's plenty of drinking water in the room as well.

Tuk tuks are 5 Q per person (all drivers charged us "local" prices) and don't be shocked when you ask them to stop near the hotel and they look perplexed (really, if you don't know the hotel is there, you would not be able to find it and it is not visible from the road). We took it when it rained badly and late at night, but it is a nice leisurely walk (15 mins) to the docks and restaurants.

Did I mention how nice and sweet the hosts are? And it is very secure here since there is no one around and 2 reliable dogs. And you will sleep soooo well here, we over slept everyday.

Room Tip: There are only 2, but the new ones have rooms on the second floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wandering_Creampuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro La Laguna
2.5 mi away
Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax
Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax
#1 of 3 in San Marcos La Laguna
251 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
678 reviews
7.7 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#5 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mikaso Hotel Resto
Mikaso Hotel Resto
#5 of 12 in San Pedro La Laguna
298 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Cabana Del Arco
Hotel Cabana Del Arco
#11 of 18 in San Pedro La Laguna
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lobo Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lobo Bungalows

Address: Avenida 6 | Callejon B, Zona 3, San Pedro La Laguna 07018, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro La Laguna
Price Range: $41 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Lobo is managed by its German owners and was opened 2007. It is located in the tranquility of Lake Atitlins shore 15 minutes walk to San Pedro la Laguna. Relax in our three luxurious and elegant Bungalows placed with a panoramic sight directly at the shore of the lake. They all have King-Size beds and are comfortably furnished. The Bungalows are equipped with Cable-TV, private bathroom with hot water, stove and refrigerator. Their porch invites you to relax. Relax in this earthly paradise We will be glad to receive you as our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Lobo Bungalows Guatemala/San Pedro La Laguna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing