We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet and clean, with best views”
Review of Mikaso Hotel Resto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mikaso Hotel Resto
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet and clean, with best views”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We (me and my wife) where looking for a nice place to stay at San Pedro, we found Mikaso to be exactly what we where looking for, great restaurant with amazing views, the room was very clean and the service was great

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eladraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilou A, Public Relations Manager at Mikaso Hotel Resto, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    97
    43
    23
    24
See reviews for
24
116
49
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed here in November 2013, this being my second visit. The first time was 3 years ago. It was then a charming little hotel, run by a Spanish couple who were very attentive to their guests. Today the hotel is sitting in one foot of water as lake Atitlan's water level has risen considerably and could very well swallow the hotel by the next rainy season. The nice Spanish couple has been replaced by the Quebécois owner's son who sleeps until noon and pays no attention to you. Being Quebécois myself, I was expecting a different welcome. Fortunately Sandra who works in the restaurant is still there and she is a very kind and attentive person. Because the hotel has a good chance of being submerged by next May-June-July, I had the feeling of being on a sinking ship. Rates were cut and there was no life in this hotel anymore, no soul. The lobby looks abandonned. It is sad, very sad as they have built a nice extension with a superb terrace and comfortable rooms with a view on the lake, within the last two years. The food is still quite good.

Room Tip: The rooms with the lake view are well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank François B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilou A, Guest Relations Manager at Mikaso Hotel Resto, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We are very disappointed that your stay with us this year was not as expected. Since your visit we now have someone at the reception from 7:00 am to 9:00 pm. The staff at the reception gives all the good vibes to make the atmosphere much better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I loved staying at Mikaso for 5 days early December. I lucked out and was the only person in the dorm with 6 beds and private bathroom for only 60Q a night. The Hot tub on the roof, the quiet ( always depending on who else is there obviously) the excellent food for a good value, the friendly and helpful staff, the views right on the lake will make me come back again and again. I hope the lake does not rise any more so this jewel of a Hotel won't go under like so many other buildings nearby.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good, The ones facing the lake are more quiet but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ullisirjesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilou A, Public Relations Manager at Mikaso Hotel Resto, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hotel Mikaso and Restarant is a nice option when looking for a place in San Pedro. There are cheaper options that are almost as good but this is definitely a good place. The views, especially for sunrise, are amazing. It is literally right on the water and a bit of a walk from the main part of San Pedro but it is close to a few other restaurants and bars. The place seems to be getting a little run down and could use a little TLC but it is still nice.

The rooms at the bottom by the water have the best view but they are very basic rooms. It is just a bed, small table, two chairs and a very small bathroom that is a little too cramped. Having said that, I didn't go to San Pedro for a luxury suite so this did the job.

The restaurant had good food with cheap drinks as well. The power went out in the entire village while we were there but Mikaso was still able to prepare us dinner anyway.

When I think about it, I would come back to this place again because it provides the comforts needed for a good weekend and it is not overly expensive to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LRank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilou A, Public Relations Manager at Mikaso Hotel Resto, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful garden and building. Very nice rooms with or without a view. Great restaurant on top floor with the most amazing views in town!!! Bathroom not completely clean but it was ok. The power went out and they didn't have any candles and didn't go buy any either which we had to do ourselves in the pouring rain. That was bad service but besides that the service was average.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilou A, Public Relations Manager at Mikaso Hotel Resto, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We are sorry that you had to go in the rain to buy candles by yourself. We now have a generator and plenty of candles for the rooms and stairs. We also have more staff so we are sure that there is always someone to help. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Yes, Mikaso is indeed beautifully located and may very well be one of the better options in San Pedro, but is in my opinion overpriced and is not the place you want to stay if the purpose is to rest. We arrived late in the evening, after a long overland journey from San Cristobal de Las Casas, and were desperate for a good night of sleep. However, the rooms are poorly insulated, and with windows facing the main corridor of the floor, so every time other hotel guests passed by on their way back to their rooms, or Patcho -- the resident dog -- ran past barking (which he did three times that night), you would wake up. The rooms were nice enough with clean sheets and towels. The bathrooms need serious renovation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thor_Ommund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilou A, Public Relations Manager at Mikaso Hotel Resto, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We are sorry that your stay was not as you expected. Patcho now sleeps in the owner´s room so he does not bother customers anymore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Quite simply the most perfect place I stayed in Guatemala. Amazingly beautiful, exceptionally clean, great service, delicious food. I had no issues whatsoever. If I could have spent my entire holiday there, I would have. If you are at Lake Atitlan, you must stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdmontonDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilou A, Public Relations Manager at Mikaso Hotel Resto, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro La Laguna
4.5 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
666 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
249 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel IslaVerde
Hotel IslaVerde
#5 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eco Hotel MayAchik
Eco Hotel MayAchik
#1 of 3 in San Juan la Laguna
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Blanca San Pedro hotel
Casa Blanca San Pedro hotel
#17 of 17 in San Pedro La Laguna
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mikaso Hotel Resto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikaso Hotel Resto

Property: Mikaso Hotel Resto
Address: Callejon a I-82 Zona 2 Canton Chuacante 4, San Pedro La Laguna 07018, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mikaso Hotel Resto 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by the edge of the lake Atitlan in the middle of a beautiful garden, Mikaso Hotel offers you 15 private rooms plus 2 dormitories. Hotel amenities include free wi-fi, jacuzzis, common kitchen, pool table, concierge desk, spa services, meeting room and a restaurant with the nicest roof top terrace in town, giving you an incredible view of lake Atitlan and the Volcanoes. Our staff will be please to help you plan your excursions around San pedro & Lake Atitlan, whether it's hiking the volcanoes, kayaking on the Lake, learning about the mayan culture or just discovering the surroundings. Welcome to Mikaso Hotel y restaurante en San Pedro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mikaso Hotel Resto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mikaso Hotel Resto Guatemala/San Pedro La Laguna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing