We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh, healthy and very tasty!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Home Cafe San Pedro

Home Cafe San Pedro
Price range: $4 - $6
Cuisines: Indian, Cafe, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: San Pedro's only dedicated Vegetarian & Vegan restaurant. Come and enjoy tasty & Healthy food in relaxing atmosphere with friendly staff, stunning lake views, big comfy couches and super-fast Wifi. If you are tired of being served the same old food in other places on your travels we have many pleasantly tasty surprises including things like: Vegan Pizza Tandoori Tempeh in Home-made Pitta. Mango Chutney on Goat Cheese on Home-made Brown Bread Tofu/Bean Sprout & Veggie Stir-fries. Gluten Free & Vegan Desserts like Pie, Choco-Peanut Butter Bars, Brownies Probiotic superfoods: Kefir, Kombucha, Sauerkraut, Yogurt Many other Home-made items like, Fruit Pie, Peanut Butter, Jam, Hearty Bread… Located a few steps away from Hostel Fe, just down the hill from the Pana dock intersection.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fresh, healthy and very tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Ate twice at Home Cafe, loved the veggie menu, the food tasted fresh and extremely tasty! I'm not a veggie so it says something that I came back to eat here again. Coffee and smoothies were also amazing. Staff were friendly and very attentive. Food was prepared freshly so took a while but it was well worth the wait!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My friend and I came for breakfast and ended up staying for a small respite. We both had the porridge - a welcome change to the desayuno tipico we had been eating for a couple weeks. Soy milk was available and vegan/gluten free treats (a big plus for those who are lactose intolerant) and the kafir smoothie was just what the doctor ordered. After breakfast I picked up a book from the reading room and my friend napped in the hammock. I would highly recommend stopping by - we would have had a second meal there if they weren't closed on Mondays and Tuesdays.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exactly what I was looking for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

After finding rice and beans in almost all places I was thrilled with their offerings, all natural good feeling food is much appreciated.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriamloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved the food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic vego lunches, breakfasts, drinks (get the mint lemonade!) and sweets. Was so happy to see some goats cheese :D run by a really friendly Irish dude, with a really lovely garden atmosphere. We went back several times running and you should too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank addymay14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Vegetarian/Vegan food at decent prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were so happy to find this place we ended up eating here almost every day for lunch or breakfast during our time in San Pedro and enjoyed the experience each time.
The setting is really chilled and they have a beautiful garden with outdoor seating (we saw loads of humming birds buzzing around) and comfy hammocks. We would come and do our spanish homework here as it was so peaceful.

Their wholewheat pancakes are awesome and they are one of the only places in town where I was able to find decent porridge. My partner had their spinach omelet & goat cheese wrap which was very tasty.
We had their set lunch a few times - really liked the Lentil and mixed veg curry; Carrot & Corriander soup but our favourite was the veggie chill and mashed potatoes.
We also enjoyed the veggie stir fries which come with a choice of bean sprouts or tofu and on BROWN rice!
My partner is vegan so she was super excited that they had vegan mango pie. I pigged out on their brownies and chocolate peanut butter bars - muy rico!

The staff were really friendly and helped us with directions and advice on good places to stay.

Only downside - they aren't open in the evening for dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Cafe San Pedro also viewed

San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
 
San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
 
San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to Home Cafe San Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing