We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay”
Review of Hostel Fe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Having stayed in the hotel for 5 nights I have to say that the reviews have been overly critical, lovely people and a lovely place! Having such nice friendly staff about, that speak proper English, is a result!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan272014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 447 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at Hostel Fe for two nights after reading lots of positive reviews, which seemed to outweigh the negative ones. After walking around San Pedro we realised there are PLENTY of really nice looking hostels/hotels to stay at, and we were really disappointed with our choice.
We had pre-paid US$20 for the first night, and upon arrival were charged US$40 for the second night having not seen the room (our choice) due to Semana Santa. It's standard in Guatemala for inflamed prices that week but we did feel ripped off after our experience. I'll upload some pictures of our room with en-suite (beds were one single and one 3/4 length)..it was dingy, old bright pink sheets, pillows were gross (used our own - blue ones in the pic) did not feel clean (I slept in my cocoon sheet!) broken glass in the window and the bathroom was just...grim, the shower looked quite unsafe. Basically, the place lacks any kind of attention and it completely drab and depressing. We spent as little time as in there as possible.

The positives: the privates are on the top floor, and yes the view of the lake is nice. The bar was a cool place to hang out, with darts and cheap rum and cokes (Q12 - around £1). There were towels in the room (although we used them to hang over the windows to keep out the light and they did not feel clean so used our own towels anyway).

One of the worse experiences here was on our second night we returned to the room around 8:30pm as we had to be up for the bus to Antigua at 4am...minutes later a little Guatemalan man let himself into our room!!! I ran to the door in my pyjamas to see what was going on and he was letting himself in with a key, he apologised and made a swift exit. The irony is that as I closed the door on our evening intruder I noticed the sign on the back of the door reading: "We have a no staff enter guest room policy here if you wish your room and shower to be cleaned please leave your key at the bar at breakfast time and we will clean the room. We will not enter otherwise." We actually laughed about this at the time because we couldn't believe how ridiculous the place was..and unsafe?! We were glad to move on to say the least!

I'm aware the guys that work at the hostel tend to reply to reviews, all I will say is that this is our honest experience of the place, it's a nice location but the place is not maintained and I would not recommend anyone to spend their money here. We are a 20-something couple - open to a fun travelling environment and not bothered by a bit of noise at night but if you are a light sleeper expect to be up ALL night at this hostel. We also had the misfortune of having to dodge vomit on the stairs at 7:25am on the way down to breakfast - which I'll add was not open (they claim to serve from 7:30am but the bar area showed no sign of life 5 minutes prior) so instead of hanging around for our free breakfast we went to IDEA cafe which I can highly recommend for breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lmdarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Was staying over the Easter break which made a lovely getaway from cold England! I really enjoyed my stay here. The bar staff were a great laugh and the customer service was even better than I expected it to be. The location is beautiful. Could not advise a better place to stay! I will definitely be coming back next year! Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJHarris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Just got back from my stay over Easter and can only recommend this hostel. Such good value for money in a great location. The staff are friendly and helpful and spoke good English which always helps! There is a cool bar which was a fun place to hang out in the evening. Would thoroughly recommend, and really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Loved this place, it has a wicked bar and great comfortable, clean rooms, the staff are all super friendly and helpful. Really relaxed and fun atmosphere, would really recommend to anyone thinking of a visit.
Hayley Simpson
London

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayleyJessicaSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Great staff, very polite and professional.
Great location which is what we were looking for. The rooms were also very good.
Spent a lot of time chilling by the pool which so refreshing. Cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariobobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

What an cool bar. Loved it from the moment I got there. The rooms are nice and the atmosphere of the whole place is amazing. The staff are so cool and make you feel really welcome.

Just wish I didn't have to leave...

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Ash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro La Laguna
2.1 mi away
Lush Atitlan
Lush Atitlan
#1 of 3 in San Marcos La Laguna
255 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
695 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#5 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mikaso Hotel Resto
Mikaso Hotel Resto
#5 of 13 in San Pedro La Laguna
304 reviews
1 mi away
Eco Hotel MayAchik
Eco Hotel MayAchik
#1 of 4 in San Juan la Laguna
83 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel El Sol
Hotel El Sol
#1 of 18 in Panajachel
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Fe

Address: Main Street, San Pedro La Laguna 07018, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro La Laguna
Price Range: $15 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a close-up view of Indian Nose and the lake, Hostel Fé is on “the cove” across from San Pablo and San Marcos.Hostel Fé is a short stroll from the Pana dock and the intersection where shuttles arrive and depart.In addition to the 10 private rooms, all with private bath, there are 16 dorm beds, all with hot shower and breakfast included, all have lake view and some you can dive straight of the balcony into the lake.Nicest Place in the Zona VivaOpened in early 2013 at the site of the former Hotel Villa Azul, the entire hostel was redecorated and refurbished with new beds,linen and furniture. Hotel Fe has private bathrooms and hot showers, a terrace with hammocks, and a great view of Lake Atitlan. All rooms open onto a long terrace facing the cove and Indian Nose, offering a cozy place to relax. The Restaurant and Bar at Hotel FéAcross the street from the hotel you'll find one of the most lively dining and party spots in san pedro.Our menu follows the ever-popular Restaurante Fé in San Marcos. Curries, fillet steaks and a pizza oven are featured. Big breakfasts here make an excellent way to start the day.Curry Night is every Thursday at 7 PM. It’s all-you-can eat buffet.Quiz night on Fridays at 7 PM is a big hit and a lot fun with the owner mike as your host be prepared to get drunk on free tequilla !!.Some nights there’s a band, more frequently as high season picks up steam.The restaurant and bar are directly on the waterfront, offering splendid in your face views of Indian Nose and other sites across the lake.Big screen TV and good music.There’s a diving and sun platform at the restaurant for the adventurous, this is a big attraction at hostel fe. See the San Pedro News section for more specials and activities at the bar.Where: San Pedro’s zona viva. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel Fe Guatemala/San Pedro La Laguna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing