We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an excellent place”
Review of Hostel Fe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Such an excellent place”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Summary: Stayed here for 3 nights, loved the atmosphere which was made possible by Michael who runs the place. Would be very happy to come back.
Good:
- Extremely good value; the rooms are not huge but big enough and kept clean. I think most if not all of them have an amazing view of the lake.
- Excellent staff, they are really helpful and friendly. Just what you want.
- Excellent evening scene
- Good included breakfast and reasonable drinks

Bad
- No bedroom storage but who cares.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_zy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, Owner at Hostel Fe, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thanks, it was great to have you here and you will be missed :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    83
    31
    16
    24
See reviews for
6
58
102
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

It depends what you want, a double room for myself and my fiancée was $15USD in total. We waited 30 mins to check in as people hadn't checked out. Got to the room and it's probably 2nd worst hotel I've been to in my life with the exception to one I stayed in morroco. It smelt like dogs and the people who checked out before us had two puppies, so you do the math.

Really unsure if sheets etc were clean as couldn't get over the canine smell.

We walked out and went up the road, more than happy to pay another $5 USD in total per night for a nicer clean place. The town is so small that anywhere is good so location isn't too much of an issue.

We had recommendations from others to stay at cafe de atitlan (for dorms) and hotel Tepepul Kaan (private), the latter hotel was great.

If you want to stay at hotel fe, then expect bogan chav travellers, you know the ones that party to 6am, stay in San Pedro for 2 years and still can't speak Spanish and openly speak about smoking pot as if it were still cool!

Sorry for the rant, but id rather save others form the pain :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiwitraveller00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I had a great time. Stayed for a few days. The staff are all awesome. Free breakfast tastes good. Very close to the boat launcha. It's a good place to meet like minded travelers. Very good location as well. There is a deck to jump off of into the lake with a great view of indians nose.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Me and the missus stayed at this hotel for a week...only left because we had other accommodation booked for the next week.... Moved straight back into Hotel Fe as soon as possible....... Amazing views, amazing food at the restaurant, amazing hospitality from amazing staff.....definetly the best accommodation in San pedro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessmckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a great place to stay while you experience the fun that is San Pedro. It’s on the water, down the street from the dock and downtown, and employs a great bunch of guys that will help you have an outstanding visit. You can’t beat the price. The rooms have everything you need and the food is fantastic. Most nights have planned events, with beer pong always an option. While it didn't seem like much of a concern, Big Mike will ensure your safety and that you’ll laugh and have a really really really good time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManWithoutPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Fe is a great option for a backpacker looking for value and fun. Located near the main dock in San Pedro, Hotel Fe offers some of the most stunning views of Lake Atitlan, and in particular, Indians Nose.
The rooms are basic, but super cheap for a private space, and even cheaper for a dorm. There is wifi throughout and common areas to kick back and relax.
The staff are what makes this place a gem though. We had four great days and nights hanging out with Mike, Gabe, Steve and Stu at the restaurant, and they certainly know how to take care of their guests. Next time we will beat you in beer pong - I'll make sure of that!
Thanks for a great time in San Pedro, and I will be spreading the word about this place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anny912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Fantastic location with stunning views of the lake. Good value rooms and a good restaurant with a curry night and full english breakfast for Brits missing home! The best part about this hotel are the staff who made us feel extremely welcome organising trips, transport and fancying themselves as pretty good beer pong players!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro La Laguna
4.9 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
650 reviews
6.1 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mikaso Hotel Resto
Mikaso Hotel Resto
#3 of 11 in San Pedro La Laguna
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Eco Hotel MayAchik
Eco Hotel MayAchik
#1 of 3 in San Juan la Laguna
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Blanca San Pedro hotel
Casa Blanca San Pedro hotel
#17 of 17 in San Pedro La Laguna
16 reviews
5.5 mi away
Free Cerveza
Free Cerveza
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Fe

Property: Hostel Fe
Address: Main Street, San Pedro La Laguna 07018, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a close-up view of Indian Nose and the lake, Hostel Fé is on “the cove” across from San Pablo and San Marcos.Hostel Fé is a short stroll from the Pana dock and the intersection where shuttles arrive and depart.In addition to the 10 private rooms, all with private bath, there are 16 dorm beds, all with hot shower and breakfast included, all have lake view and some you can dive straight of the balcony into the lake.Nicest Place in the Zona VivaOpened in early 2013 at the site of the former Hotel Villa Azul, the entire hostel was redecorated and refurbished with new beds,linen and furniture. Hotel Fe has private bathrooms and hot showers, a terrace with hammocks, and a great view of Lake Atitlan. All rooms open onto a long terrace facing the cove and Indian Nose, offering a cozy place to relax. The Restaurant and Bar at Hotel FéAcross the street from the hotel you'll find one of the most lively dining and party spots in san pedro.Our menu follows the ever-popular Restaurante Fé in San Marcos. Curries, fillet steaks and a pizza oven are featured. Big breakfasts here make an excellent way to start the day.Curry Night is every Thursday at 7 PM. It’s all-you-can eat buffet.Quiz night on Fridays at 7 PM is a big hit and a lot fun with the owner mike as your host be prepared to get drunk on free tequilla !!.Some nights there’s a band, more frequently as high season picks up steam.The restaurant and bar are directly on the waterfront, offering splendid in your face views of Indian Nose and other sites across the lake.Big screen TV and good music.There’s a diving and sun platform at the restaurant for the adventurous, this is a big attraction at hostel fe. See the San Pedro News section for more specials and activities at the bar.Where: San Pedro’s zona viva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Fe Guatemala/San Pedro La Laguna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing