We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax, lounge, eat.”
Review of Zoola

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zoola
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I haven't stayed here, but came for dinner and drinks. Having just spent 6 months in Asia before heading to Guate, I was missing the floor cushions. This place has an excellent floor cushion dining area. We ate incredibly rich pasta followed by the most amazing quadruple chocolate dessert. Then adjourned to the patio to sit on more floor cushions by a crystal clear pool (cleanest one I've seen in the whole region) while drinking bogo drinks and gazing over the lake. A perfect spot for a chill vibe.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SulieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 141 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

The photos show pretty cool that Zoola is a pretty funky venue. The views from the pool were beautiful and he common areas were really unique. The food at the restaurant was consistently good, albeit slow and with average service. I would highly recommend popping into Zoola, hanging out by the pool and enjoying a meal here.

But there is no way I could recommend staying there. The first day we felt like our sheets weren't clean, and the staff response was 'oh well the cleaners had a day off yesterday so we didn't change them'. The staff in General were either rude and unhelpful or high on drugs, which were 'conviniently' sold right at the bar. As one girl professed to us 'it's awesome working here, the owner gave us acid this morning and MDMA this afternoon, while we are on shift'. Just two examples of the unprofessional poor management of what could otherwise be a great hostel. There are plenty of clean, friendly, cheaper hostels in San Pedro. Stay there, and if ur into the vibe party at Zoola.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank tinamay026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights and was just ok. Had a private room and the shower had no pressure at all, could barely wash your soap off. The rooms felt dirty as did the bedding. The lady who runs the hostel wasn't friendly and was hard to approach as well as unprofessional. The Guatemalan staff however were lovely and had all the time in the world for us. Pool and bar was cool and chill out area was good too! Rooms could do with some work. Food was good!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Planned to stay in Zoola for two days, ended up being there for a week. The common area is great and the pool is nice. We had a private room with bathroom which was overall clean. We had a room far away from the bar which is recomended cause they play loud music day and night. Good location in San Pedro. Sure, its more pricey than many of the other hostels in San pedro but its worth it. On the minus side is the lack of a guest kitchen. But we had a great week in Zoolas!

Room Tip: Room far away from the bar area is recomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronjaandguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Good hostel in San Pedro with a great communal area (with lots of cushions and hammocks to lie on and plenty of tables). The back of Zoola is right on the edge of the lake and there is a swimming pool as close to the lake as you can get - stunning views. There is a bar next to it and good food all day from the kitchen. Our private room was absolutely tiny but it had an ensuite bathroom and was between the communal area and the pool which suited us.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cha_28_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Cool hostel with loads of chill out space. They let you bring your own drink into one area which makes it a whooe lot better. Nice pool, views, strawberry daquiris and food. Quite grumpy staff. Lockers would go down well in my dorm with no key. Great vibe

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pott942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We didn't stay sleep in this hotel, but we came here for a beer and something to eat, and we love this place. It was pouring down raining all day, and we were chilling out there for few hours, the atmosphere was great, so calming and inspirative. Nice The food and drinks were a little bit pricy though. Nice swings for kids and grown-ups.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank kadoka55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro La Laguna
4.6 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
678 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#1 of 1 in Tzununa
305 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mikaso Hotel Resto
Mikaso Hotel Resto
#5 of 12 in San Pedro La Laguna
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Blanca San Pedro hotel
Casa Blanca San Pedro hotel
#17 of 18 in San Pedro La Laguna
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoola

Address: Xetawal, Zona 2, San Pedro La Laguna 07018, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro La Laguna
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Zoola Guatemala/San Pedro La Laguna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing