We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't stay here..”
Review of Zoola

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zoola
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Let me start at the beginning.
Upon arrival to check out the hostel we were showed 3 different rooms, the guy had no idea on price or what he was actually showing us, and neglected to tell us the room where we could all be together was right next to the bar where thy played the worst of music till 4 am then people talking till 6 upon talking to the 'manager' about our stay we were yelled at and told we were wrong for not knowing the room was next to the bar.

Not to mention the lack of compassion in all the staff no one really cared about anything and everyone seemed new which shoul have rung some sort of bell about the management. Anyways don't stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paula_ansell25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 138 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is by far the best dorm I have stayed in with proper thick mattresses that are away from the bar so you can get rest when you want it and partake in the party when you feel it! The food is great, a bit pricey on a backpacker's budget if you're eating all your meals here. The overall environment from the colorful lounge area to the pool that overlooks Lago de Atitlan is incredible! If you're in Pana take the boat across for at least a night to San Pedro, it's worth it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Only been to Zoola twice for a drink in the evening. Place was full of pretentious, pot smoking, try hards adoringly listening to some chick with a ukelele screeching out the most God awful sounds.
Hip hop and reggae is all they have in their music library. The place in VERY cliquish and a popular haunt for young Israeli's. Don't know how anybody could sleep there with the music belting out till all hours.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is by far the most unique hostel I've stayed at and the layout is perfect! Beginning with the pool down towards the shoreline of Lake Atitlan with the bar and oversized body pillows to the colorful tent area with more pillows followed by the restaurant and reception with an attached computer room/television lounge with more DVDs than I could count with the back portion reserved for most of the private rooms and dorm room, it's great for those that want to party and for those that want a great night's sleep as well with thick mattresses! Still continue to encourage people to come stay here on there way through Guatemala! Only issue I had was the pool became more dirty and cloudy because apparently there was an argument with the current pool cleaner and therefore the pool wasn't cleaned properly, but I bet this was resolved just shortly after I left.

Room Tip: Order some food and hang out day or night in the colorful tent area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDirtyCrawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here for a week. Was one of the best weeks of my trip. The hotel staff were exceellent.
SOmehow this place manages to be so chilled throughout the day yet host great parties almost every night. Whilst i was there , parties were on the whole weekend trance / reggae/ hip hop , was very fun and drinks are really cheap.

They are the only place in san pedro with a swimming pool - it is not the greatest though - overlooking the most amaaing view of lake atitlan. Usually a place to relax and tan.

Music during the day as well.

THe highlight of this hostel is the amazing food that they serve. The food is Israeli mainly so they offer shnitzel, hummus salads falafel, all massive portions and really tasty.

Do not miss out on this hostel!!!

Room Tip: Stay in the rooms at the back near the kitchen side. If you stay closer to the swimming pool side it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yafit_na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Adam, Layah and Cullen (and Eric, but he doesnt socialize as much lol) will definitely make you want to stay.
my story? I had planned to stay there only 3, 4 days tops. i canceled tikal and belize to stay at the lake. San Pedro's cute...but it is definitely Zoola that tied me down. For starters, privates are not as cheap as in other hotel around because you have only one bed. to give you an idea, for one private with bathroom, outside you get two double beds, in zoola, only one. and it is a little tiny bit more expensive.
BUT, you get a beautiful garden, animals, hammocks, lounging areas at the restaurant and the pool, a nice cheap bar, the ONLY pool available at the lake, and incredibly good mediterranean food. To finish it is always served by the nicest staff.
you can wait a little long sometimes to get your order, but it is definitely worth it. im a picky eater about pastas and med-food, i assure you i love every single dish i tried. Its simple: i barely ate anywhere else.
Go there, you wont regret!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melykee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We went to Zoola for lunch and enjoyed the most spectacular, fresh, delicious pita bread ever had. The atmosphere is an international travelers dream and thus 'known' and hip. The service was extremely friendly and our lunches were nourishing, delicious, fresh and wonderful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank integraltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro La Laguna
4.6 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
674 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#1 of 1 in Tzununa
302 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mikaso Hotel Resto
Mikaso Hotel Resto
#4 of 12 in San Pedro La Laguna
294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Blanca San Pedro hotel
Casa Blanca San Pedro hotel
#17 of 18 in San Pedro La Laguna
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pinocchio
Hotel Pinocchio
#15 of 18 in San Pedro La Laguna
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoola

Address: Xetawal, Zona 2, San Pedro La Laguna 07018, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro La Laguna
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Zoola Guatemala/San Pedro La Laguna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing